Chachic's Book Nook

Book Haul: A Package and Some Library Books

15 Comments

I got a lovely little package in the mail the other day. I’m so glad it finally arrived because I’ve been watching out for it for weeks:

That, my friends, is Elizabeth Fama’s Monstrous Beauty in its re-designed hardcover glory. I think it’s looks beautiful but I may be biased. It’s bound to make me happy because this is the first bookish package that I’ve received here in Singapore (went straight to our mailbox, didn’t have to pick it up from the post office like I used to do back in Manila). Plus, there’s a beautiful message inside:

I can’t wait to read it! I went out to have lunch with friends today and yesterday and since both malls that I visited had bookstores inside, I checked them out. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to buy anything because I found the books to be pricey. I should probably sign up so I could get a 10% discount. So I headed over to the library to see if anything catches my fancy (something always does):

I would have borrowed more if I haven’t maxed out the borrow limit of 8 books. Here’s what I grabbed:

Fury by Shirley Marr
Crazy Beautiful by Lauren Baratz-Logsted

Yay Aussie YA books available in Singapore libraries! Looking forward to finally reading Fury, I’ve had that in my wishlist for a while. Crazy Beautiful is a Beauty and the Beast retelling and I’m always curious about those. Pretty good weekend in terms of books. What about you, what books did you get this week?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

15 thoughts on “Book Haul: A Package and Some Library Books

  1. I’m getting Monstrous Beauty soon, but not signed. Can’t wait to read it!

  2. Oh I’m totally jealous of your access to Aussie reads in the Singapore library, that’s fantastic! That personalized message from Elizabeth Fama is wonderful, Chachic. I really hope you love the book, I thought the cover redesign was beautiful.

    • Heidi, I got pretty excited when I discovered that some Aussie books are available in the libraries here. Not a lot though. I looked for Friday Brown but it’s not available. Even the bookstores have some Aussie titles – saw Preloved and the Aussie edition of Saving June.

  3. I didn’t know Lauren Baratz-Logsted was aussie! LOL I’m so out of the loop. 😀 I hope you enjoy all yer books.

  4. I used to live in Mexico and it really depressed me how hard it was to receive books I wanted to order. So I totally feel you on that one. lol

    • Same in the Philippines! It really takes longer for packages to arrive. You’d think that I should be used to it by now but no, I still keep hoping they’d arrive earlier. 😛

  5. Your library only allows you to borrow 8 books? Mine allows 50! Is it a public library?

  6. You are easily going to recoup the value of your library membership. I just paused writing this comment to daydream about being locked in a library for a month…or maybe a year. Okay, back on topic. It’s so exciting to get books from authors:) Won’t it be so awesome in a few decades when you can look at your shelvES of signed books? *sigh*

    • Flann, I just need to find the time to read the library books that I keep borrowing. To date, I’ve only finished one book. The rest are still sitting in my bookshelf (I’ve renewed the others). LOL would love to have SHELVES of signed books but I think that will only happen if I get to assigned as many book events as you do. 😛

  7. Hooray for finding Fury at the library – I hope you really enjoy it, Chachic! Also, your post card arrived, I’ll feature it in my StS post this Sunday 🙂

    • I’m looking forward to reading it! I also heard that the library will be getting copies of Shirley’s Preloved so will definitely borrow that. Glad the postcard arrived safely. 🙂

  8. Pingback: You’re more than just a book to me, Elizabeth Fama. | Bunbury in the Stacks You’re more than just a book to me, Elizabeth Fama. | One has the right to Bunbury anywhere one chooses. Every serious Bunburyist knows that. ~ Oscar Wilde

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

