Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland

16 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

Remember when I mentioned last week that I mostly read on my Kindle? Well, I just started The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente for a readalong with blog friends Janice and Holly. It feels good to read an actual book again! I realized that I’ve missed the feel of a book in my hands and it’s such a gorgeous book too, I had to take pictures:

I’m having a hard time reading on the train though because it’s so packed. I don’t mind though, I’m really enjoying reading this. I keep wanting to highlight the passages that I like. Here’s a fairly spoiler-free excerpt early on:

“…all children are Heartless. They have not grown a heart yet, which is why they can climb high trees and say shocking things and leap so very high grown-up hearts flutter in terror. Hearts weigh quite a lot. That is why it takes so long to grow one. But, as in their reading and arithmetic and drawing, different children proceed at different speeds. (It is well known that reading quickens the growth of a heart like nothing else.)”

The trailer for this is delightful, you have to check it out if you haven’t seen it yet:

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll fall in love with this book! Have you read Fairyland (the whole title is quite a mouthful) yet? Let me know what you think if you have.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

16 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland

  1. AHHHH! That quote is precious! I definitely have this one on my TBR list. Can’t wait! Now, I just have to find some spare time…LOL.

    • I keep wanting to highlight quotes on my copy but I don’t write on my books. The best that I could do is keep updating my Goodreads status while reading this. Sigh, we need more free time to read books!

  2. I LOVE This book. I’m really psyched for the sequel too. It’s definitely one that I think is best read in it’s physical manifestation.

    • April, I’m really liking it so far. Let’s hope that will continue until the end. Based on the sequel’s cover, it will probably have the same type of illustrations, right?

  3. I have enjoyed my iPad and my e-reader apps on it, but nothing is as relaxing as a real book in my hands 🙂 I haven’t read this book, but I’m putting it on my TBR list! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. I’ve heard so much about this book but I’m still kind of not sure about it .
    I’m glad you enjoyed it 😀
    And yay for getting back to dead-tree books 😀

    • Alex, why are you hesitant to pick this up? I remember I became curious about it because I saw it pop up in several 2011 favorites lists.

      As much as I love my Kindle, it’s nice to read physical books from time to time. Nothing beats the feel of an actual book in your hands, and the lovely bookish smell of the pages. Good thing I have several lined up because of the ones I borrowed from the library!

  5. I’m so happy that you ladies are reading this one! Needing to see these illustrations up close is a FANTASTIC reason to read ‘real’ books.

    • Heidi, I’m delighted to be reading this with Holly and Janice too! It’s been a while since we’ve done a read along and I feel like we made a good choice with this one. The illustrations and the writing have been lovely so far.

  6. OMG!! I just heard about this book the other day and I’m dying to look it up! I will read it soon I hope! I work at Barnes & Noble and I’m adding this to my list of books to read after work! 🙂

  7. I really like the illustration style in this book, even though I haven’t read it. I know I have to but I just haven’t gotten around to it. Also, everything by this author:) Have you finished it yet?

    • Flann, still haven’t finished it! It’s taking me a while to finish it because I haven’t had much time to read recently but I’m staying in this weekend so I’ll finish it.

  8. This is an adorable book! I’m loving the illustrations… And it definitely makes me want to read it.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

