Where do you find the time?

Like I mentioned in a previous post, I do a lot of my reading on trains while traveling from the flat to work and vice versa. I’ve been having a hard time finding time to squeeze in blogging though. Moving from one country to another and starting a new job is a huge thing for me, especially since this is the first time that I’ve done something like this. Most of my weekends are spent catching up with old friends currently based in Singapore or going around to explore the city a little more. Week nights are filled up by errands and chores. Doing laundry, ironing clothes (which I hate), doing dishes and vacuuming are things that I never had to worry about when I was living in Manila. Oh and I also spend a lot of time online, talking to friends and family through communication apps. All of those take up time that I could use to read or blog but they are tasks that I need to do.

So I guess I just wanted to ask the rest of you, where do you find the time to blog when life seems so busy? The obvious answer would be to get less sleep and I’ve tried to do that as well. I usually get only six hours or so of sleep on week nights but I feel like that’s not enough, I tend to get sleepy during the latter hours of the work day. I find it a bit surprising that blogging involves so much time because I never had to seriously think about it before, it came more naturally to me back home probably because I was so used to everything else. Blogging’s not just about organizing your thoughts to write a review, it’s also about formatting everything into a cohesive manner and it’s also about responding to comments. I’ve always replied to the comments people leave on my blog because I feel like that encourages everyone to come back to continue the discussion. I’m also a serial commenter when it comes to the blogs I follow and that’s something that I haven’t been able to do much lately because I’ve been focusing on putting up posts. I’m positive that it will get easier in time but for now, I want to hear your thoughts. When do you usually blog – when you wake up in the mornings before heading off to work or right before you sleep at night? Are you a pro at multi-tasking, writing blog posts while doing something else?

25 thoughts on “Where do you find the time?

  1. That is a very real problem for most of us. I’ve found that creating “scheduled” posts when I have a bit of extra time keeps my blog running smoothly and I don’t have to focus on it EVERY day, since I have posts ready to go. Also, don’t sacrifice your sleep. If you get the right amount that you need, you’l be more energized during the day and get more done. Seems counter-intuitive, though, doesn’t it?

    • Scheduled posts are a good idea but I don’t think I can manage more than one post at a time when I sit down to blog. That’s why a post usually goes up right after I’m done making it. Just out of curiosity, how many hours of sleep do you usually get? I’d love to get 8 hours of sleep but if I do that, it feels like I need to go straight to bed when I get home from work.

  2. oh it is hard. One thing I do that makes it easier is that I write my blog posts in my head in idle minutes, so that when I get a few percious minutes at the computer (just before bed time, first thing in the morning) the words come more easily. But commenting is a real challenge for me, becuase during the weekdays, I can’t read blogs, the evenings are packed with family stuff, and the mornings are when I am trying to write my own posts!

    • I do the same thing, Charlotte. I come up with blog posts in my head, usually before I fall asleep. But they don’t always materialize as posts, sometimes I get too busy or I forget about them. Aww I’m flattered that you’re a regular commenter over here if you say that commenting is a challenge for you – thanks for taking the time to go through my posts to comment. πŸ™‚ I can’t even remember when was the last time I opened Google Reader and I feel bad about that.

  3. Totally understand – I used to blog a lot more frequently, but can’t find the time nowadays. I tend to post only on weekends when I’ve more free time – and comment during the week when reading other people’s posts.

    Like Charlotte, I sometimes mentally compose posts – unfortunately, only about one in ten thoughts actually make it to the blog!

    Li

    • I used to blog a lot more too! I would write reviews for every book that I finish reading and now I’m lucky if I can put up a review every week. I feel like I only have free time on weekends if I don’t sleep in or if I don’t go out with friends, which I’m willing to do (mostly stayed in the previous weekend) but sometimes I like walking around instead of staying cooped up. Like I’d go to the mall to walk around and then hang out in Starbucks to read.

      Same here! Not all of my blog ideas come to fruition. Most of the time, they’re still stuck in my head.

  4. I used to blog more frequently when I first started but that’s because I was in my senior year of high school: there wasn’t much schoolwork to do at that point, very few exams to worry about and I didn’t have a job so…that opened up a lot of time for me. Now though it’s a struggle since college is an entirely different animal (I sometimes miss high school! The homework was so easy back then….). I usually come home after school is over and go online to write a review for an hour or two. I don’t do this everyday but I aim to try posting at least once a week now. It’s hard, but managable if you budget your time.

    • Ahhh school, I miss school! I wonder if I’d have more time to blog if I was studying instead of working? I have a feeling that won’t be the case if I pursue further studies. LOL. I remember I didn’t have that much time to read back in college, it was mostly school books for me then. I still try to post at least once every week but I haven’t been able to put up reviews recently. I should try to budget my time more effectively – like I could blog while doing laundry.

    • Ha! I used to blog in my work place too back in my old job. I don’t get to do it now though, too busy to focus on anything else other than the job itself.

      If I could just wake up a little earlier everyday, maybe I could dedicate more time to blogging. But I love sleep too much to give it up like that. πŸ˜› Maybe I should lessen my social engagements? Hmm…

  5. Well…like Charlotte I think my posts through a lot in my head until I have time to sit down at a computer. It does make it faster. I can do a lot of the social media stuff in stolen moments when my kids are busy throughout the day. This is often when I go through my reader too. Most of my reading happens once the kids are in bed.

    • Do you have a smartphone? That makes it a lot easier for me to check Twitter and Facebook and other communication apps. I also post a lot of pictures in instagram. I have the WordPress app on my phone but I just use it to upload pictures taken by my phone camera – I still find it a bit difficult to type a post on the phone. Sigh, I really should check my Google Reader soon.

    • I should do that! But I have such a hard time getting up in the mornings, I really do. I’m not a morning person. It’s easier for me to stay up at night that to wake up earlier.

  6. I generally tend to write my reviews during my spare time at work. It’s a great distraction from the more administrative and menial stuff I do, and the things I write tend to become my “first drafts”.

    Then, the rest of the time, I work on blog stuff in bulk. I tend to take some time on the weekends or, at worst, every two weeks, to format and finalize my reviews and posts. It always soothes me to work on the blog for a couple of hours since the blog is my happy place.

    • I used to do that in my old job as well but I don’t have time to do that in my current work place and it wouldn’t be a good idea anyway because people would see it as “slacking off”. Sigh, so I have to make time for it after work or during the weekends. I find it soothing to put up posts as well because I feel like I’m reaching out to blog friends whenever I publish a post.

  7. I haven’t been blogging much lately because I am both lazy and busy. Until I finally found some free time at work, so I wrote some reviews, but I still have about a month of backlog. Eep. Although I do try to blog during the weekends, schedule one or two posts just so there’s something new on the blog. πŸ™‚ There used to be a time when I blog faster than I read — now I read faster than I blog (but still terribly slow, because I’m 7 books behind my Goodreads challenge. So I’m just generally slow nowadays. :D).

    I guess I’ve come to a point where I don’t stress over it too much anymore. I even reply to comments very late, which kind of defeats the purpose of some conversations. ^^;

    • *nods head* I’m lazy and busy too. Or more like when I’m not busy, I just want to be lazy. I don’t even know how much of a backlog I have. I’ve given up trying to keep track of the books that I’ve read that haven’t been reviewed on the blog. I’m just happy that I’m still reading, you know? πŸ˜› I definitely read faster than I blog nowadays – but I’m still behind on my Goodreads challenge too. I don’t let it bother me.

  8. Well first of all: you need to buy a steamer. It seriously is better than ironing.

    I’m with the people who work on posts in spare minutes. I have things in draft form usually and work on it throughout the day. Sometimes I can sit down and just work on it till it’s done, but I have to be in the right mood – I am used to starting, going to something else, coming back to it, that it feels odd for it to be the only thing I’m doing.

    • I will try to find a steamer when I go back to Manila. I have a feeling it will be pretty expensive here in Singapore (everything is more expensive here).

      I don’t think I can concentrate enough to work on posts in between other things. I feel like I have to sit down to work on a post until it’s done, otherwise, I wouldn’t be able to put it up. Yes, I have to be in the right mood for it too. Sometimes I just don’t feel like writing anything. Or I feel slump-ish.

  9. I haven’t been great at it lately (if I ever was). If I could get it together, I’d read and comment on so many more blogs. I really hope that people know how much I like their blogs even if I don’t get there as often as I’d like. I think THAT disappointment is harder for me than the anxiousness I have about reviewing and getting more content. :-/

    • I think you’re pretty great at it, Flann! You put up so many posts in your blog, I’m sorry I haven been able to comment on them recently. Don’t worry, I’m grateful that you keep visiting my little bloggy, it’s good to know that you’re going through my posts and you take the time to comment too. πŸ˜€

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

