Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: Reading on the train

25 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

Maybe I should change the name of my feature to Shoot That Kindle? Because I mostly read on my Kindle nowadays. I haven’t even started on the library books that I borrowed last week (feels good to say that – I borrowed books from the library woohoo). I ride the train everyday to go to work and it takes me about 40 minutes to get there. Train rides are prime reading time and I find it easier to do that on my Kindle. I can hold the Kindle on one hand while I grab on to a train pole. Here’s a shot that I took today:

It’s not so obvious that I took the picture on the train though. I’m currently in the middle of My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick and I’m liking it so far. Do you read on the train or bus or whatever more of transport you take? I usually don’t read on cars because I get dizzy.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

25 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Reading on the train

  1. The background is completely black–is it dark on the train?! I would fall asleep for sure:) Also, I like your bag.

    • I have no idea why it came out that way, it’s not dark on the train! There should be people’s feet in the background. LOL nice of you to notice my bag, I bought that in the Philippines.

  2. I’m the same way, well, I don’t have a kindle, but I read some chapter books through my Ipad! 🙂

    • Don’t you get eye strain when you read on the iPad because it has an LCD screen instead of e-ink like the Kindle? That’s my biggest worry about reading on my phone.

      • Not really, I mean I think it’s different because on the iPad the screen is bigger and it’s easier to read than my phone. That’s how it is for me anyways.

      • Ah yes, but I still get eye strain when I try to read on my laptop because of the LCD screen. 😛 More reason to love my Kindle. But it’s good that you don’t have that kind of problem.

  3. I’m so happy for you having a LIBRARY, Chachic!! Luckily I don’t commute via the train regularly, but I also have about a 40 minutes train ride when I do take the train into NYC. I always either listen to my audiobook, or I’ll take my kindle. A kindle can fit into the pockets on most of my jackets (I dislike carrying bags if I can help it), and is just so much easier to hold than a book in that situation. I’m glad you can read on the train without getting motion sickness!

    • I haven’t tried audiobooks yet! Maybe that would be more convenient? But I feel like I’ll get distracted when I listen instead of read and I won’t be able to concentrate on the story. Oh wow, aren’t you scared that your Kindle might fall off if you just put it in your pocket? I used to be like that, didn’t like carrying a purse with me but now I’m used to it.

      I’m pretty happy about having access to a public library too. 🙂 I really should start reading those books so I can borrow more. And we’re planning to check out the library sale tomorrow, let’s see if I end up getting anything.

      • Nah, I’ve never been worried about losing my Kindle (but maybe I should be). At least they’re cheap enough now that it’s not quite the crisis if something happens (I had one of the originals when they cost near $400, so the $80 one I have now seems cheap).

        Some people never are able to listen to audiobooks, but I really encourage everyone to try! I grew up listening to them, so it’s normal for me. I like them on the train because it means my hands are free to knit or something if I want.

      • Back home, I don’t usually take out my Kindle on trains because I’ve heard of so many stories of people losing their gadgets in public transport. Here, I don’t have to worry about that because everyone has his or her own gadget. I know what you mean, Kindles are so cheap now! My Kindle Touch is only a few months old – otherwise, I’d be tempted to get the Kindle Paperwhite.

        Hmm I’ll try to give audiobooks a try soon. What would you recommend for a newbie?

  4. I’m a moody person and sometimes I prefer the kindle, others the compy and others an actual book, but I agree that reading on the bus or train is AWESOME
    Because I don’t feel like I should be doing anything else 😀

    • So funny that you think you shouldn’t be doing anything else while traveling. I do check my phone regularly while on the train too, I reply to my friends as well and then read on my Kindle after that. I’ve observed that most people on the train have either a book or gadget in their hands. 😛

  5. I remember going on a very long train ride last week (rode the LRT2 and LRT1 to Manila) and I read about a chapter of the book I was reading. I like trains, as long as they’re not crowded, so I can read. 😀

    I can read in cars, but it depends on who I’m with. The thing with cars is I tend to fall asleep fast when I’m reading, and I can’t get out of that habit just yet. When i’m on my way to work in the morning and it’s not a stressful morning, I read in the tricycle, too. 😀

    • You know I’ve never been on LRT1? I don’t know what it even looks like. 😛 Trains here can get pretty crowded during rush hour, just like the trains in Manila. But unlike Manila, you don’t have to worry about pickpockets so you can still hold on to your gadget while you get squished by other people on all sides.

      I think I like sleeping in cards more than reading! Haha I get dizzy when I try to read in a moving vehicle. So funny that you can even read on a tricycle, those rides tend to be pretty short.

  6. Having noticed your nail polish color choices going with your book covers in the past, I couldn’t help but see that in this picture the kindle offers no bright color that would inspire nail painting….

    But I whole heartedly agree about commuting being prime reading time. Sometimes I take the bust home just to have a nice spell of peace in which to read….

    • Charlotte, I miss having varying colors on my nails. Manicures are so expensive here and I wasn’t able to bring any nail polish with me. Hmm maybe I should try buying some. The thing with the Kindle is, it can also mean that the gray goes well with any color. 😛

      I feel like the time that gets used up while traveling isn’t wasted when I get to read.

  7. I definitely read a lot on the train. My ride back and forth into New York City is about 45 minutes every day, so that’s definitely prime reading time! I think I’ve mastered the art of reading an actual book using just one hand (which is no easy feat, as least not to me) just fairly recently. Happy train reading!

    • Looks like we have the same travel time! Are the trains over there packed with people during rush hour, too? I had a hard time getting used to reading while standing because the trains here move much faster than trains back in Manila (so much easier to balance myself over there). Hopefully, I can master the art of reading an actual book with just one hand!

  8. I love that the Kindle makes it so handy for me to carry my latest reading material onto all sorts of commutes. I totally sneak in as much reading time as possible on buses and metros. And, once a week when I take the high-speed train to another city for work, I get a glorious almost-3-hour round trip commute to read. It definitely helps put a dent in the TBR pile. 🙂

    • That high-speed train sounds pretty exciting! Where do you head off when you take it? I would love to have that kind of time slot for reading, so many hours to fill in and you’re traveling for work so you’re still clocking in work hours. 😛

  9. Pingback: Where do you find the time? | Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Pingback: Shoot That Book: Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland | Chachic's Book Nook

  11. oh, man, i SO envy you being able to read on the train. i can’t read in any moving vehicle ever, not even on planes

    also, i love your new kindle 🙂

    • Nomes, it looks pretty, doesn’t it? Although I love how the Kindle Paperwhite looks – and it has a built-in light for reading in the dark. So sorry to hear that you can’t read on moving vehicles. I mostly just sleep or read whenever I travel like that.

  12. Pingback: Filipino Fridays: Reader Species | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

