What Book Blogging Means To Me

The past few weeks have been really difficult for me in terms of keeping up with reading and blogging. I recently moved from Manila to Singapore for a new job and I believe this has been the toughest time that I’ve had, blog-wise. I’ve been in slumps before but I’ve never thought about quitting altogether, until now. But I didn’t and I don’t think I ever will because blogging means a lot to me. Even though I’m still struggling to find the time to squeeze in blog posts, I think it’s worth the trouble (who needs sleep, right?)

I’ve said this before and I will keep saying it – my blog is my happy place. It’s where I get to rant or gush about the books that I read and that’s something that I can’t do with my friends and family. They do understand that I’m passionate about reading but they don’t really get it like bloggers do. Through my blog, I’ve been able to connect with readers all over the world! I feel like I’ve made some real friends even though I’ve never met some of them in person. Also, it’s so good to find readers who share my tastes in books because that makes it a lot easier for me to decide what to add to the ever-increasing TBR pile. Most of the books that I read are recommendations from fellow bloggers. And can I just say how amazing it is that I’ve been able to reach out to authors through my blog? That’s something that still surprises me – I’m thrilled whenever an author replies to a tweet, leaves a comment on a blog post or says yes to doing a guest post.

β€œYou think your pain and your heartbreak are unprecedented in the history of the world, but then you read. It was books that taught me that the things that tormented me most were the very things that connected me with all the people who were alive, or who had ever been alive.” ― James Baldwin

I love this quote because it talks about reading opening up your eyes and making you realize that you’re not alone – the same can be said for blogging. It was blogging that taught me that the things that I loved the most were the very things that connected me with readers all over the world. I feel like my blog keeps me grounded because I get to focus on something that I love. It helps me unwind at the end of the day. I have a feeling that I’ll be a lot more homesick and more than a little lonely if I didn’t have my blog.

What does book blogging mean to you? Feel free to answer even if you’re not participating in BBAW this week.

21 thoughts on “What Book Blogging Means To Me

  1. Hi! Love this blog post. I grew up with most not understanding why I spent so much time with my nose in a book, and eventually they just got that I will ALWAYS have my nose in a book πŸ™‚ I fell in love with reading, couldn’t get enough of it, and soon enough I was writing my own stories. I wish everyone could experience what a passion for reading feels like. I feel so sorry for those who don’t read! I hope you never stop book blogging. It opens doors for readers to learn about new authors, and books, and your enthusiasm is infectious πŸ™‚ I hope you are enjoying Singapore! Right now, you must be overwhelmed with the new job, the move, the settling in… Good luck on this new adventure. And keep blogging πŸ™‚

    • My parents encouraged me to read even as a child. I remember that they always got us kiddie books that they think we’ll enjoy reading. And they fully supported me once it became obvious that I’ll be a reader for life. πŸ˜› Book blogging does open doors to readers. I don’t think I’ll stop blogging anytime soon, just need to find the balance between adjusting to everything here and finding time to blog. Thanks for dropping by and for all the kind words.

  2. Love this! I feel that same super thrill rush when an author responds to a tweet or (dare I imagine) comments on my blog. I love the interactions we get to have as bloggers and fan girls πŸ™‚ Hope you get to find a balance where you have time to blog!

    • I always mark their tweets as favorites when they reply. πŸ˜› I’ve gotten a few comments on my blog from authors, usually when I do a blog event like Queen’s Thief Week or Marchetta Madness. I’m still amazed that they said yes to doing guest posts! I just about fainted when I saw them reply to my emails.

    • Alexa, I’m glad we met through blogging as well! Too bad we weren’t able to see each other when we were both in Manila but maybe the next time you visit Singapore? πŸ™‚

  3. Wow, I loved your post. Book blogging is a happy place for me too, and it’s been great to find so many great bloggers on here that I’m building friendships with! I LOVED the quote you posted, that is so me. haha.

    • That quote is so me, too. I have a feeling most readers will be able to relate to it. I’m glad you’re enjoying book blogging! It’s a lot of fun and I love it even if there are times when it can get a bit tiring.

    • Aww thanks for the virtual hug, Estara! I really hope I find a nice balance soon. I’m glad I signed up for BBAW because it gave me the push that I needed to put up posts this week.

  4. My friends and family understands (and tolerates) my book raving moments but you’re right, they never truly “get it” like bloggers do. The former still looks at me like I’m crazy when all that comes out of my mouth are books, books, and more books. πŸ˜€

    And book blogging certainly means a lot to me. “When I started book blogging” has been my default answer to questions like: When did you start getting deep into reading? When did you discover your favorite books? I always say that book blogging opened me to a whole new wonderful world I never thought existed. And yes, blogging is a stress reliever for me too. I am always excited to put up posts and check out my comments section and commenting on other blogs. Ultimately its the people behind the blogs that I get to meet, that would be the best thing about blogging, hand down.

    Hope you’re doing great there in Singapore Chachic! πŸ˜€

    • Tolerating is different from understanding, isn’t it? I mean even if friends and family are willing to listen to you for a certain time, they don’t get the feeling that you do. I think what registers in their minds is just the fact that you love books and that’s it.

      I’m glad you’re enjoying book blogging, Tin. πŸ™‚ I feel the same way about putting up posts, getting comments and visiting other blogs to comment. I’m still having a hard time adjusting to everything because this move is a big change but I’m hoping things will settle down sooner rather than later.

  5. Yours will always be one of my favorite blogs, Chachic, because your attitude is amazing. I can feel your love of books through your writing and even when you have something negative to say, you do it in a friendly and respectful way. Even if you have been in a slump recently, you’ve still been doing a great job at regularly posting and staying positive, at least in my opinion. Your attitude is contagious:)

    • Aww Flann, thanks for this lovely comment! I needed to hear that. It makes me happy that you think I’m doing a good job of staying positive because I don’t want to come across as whiny in my blog posts. Like I said, I want to keep it as my happy place so I try not to surround it with negativity even if I’m feeling slumpy.

  6. Pingback: BBAW: Keeping It Fresh | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

