BBAW Interview Swap: Mindy of Magical Urban Fantasy Reads

For today’s Book Blogger Appreciation Week topic, we get to host interview swaps! Now, this is a fun aspect of BBAW because we get to meet new bloggers. This year, my interview swap partner is Mindy from Magical Urban Fantasy Reads.

Hi Mindy, always nice to meet a new-to-me blogger! Based on your blog’s name, looks like you focus on paranormal and urban fantasy reads. What are your favorite books from those genres?
Yes, I do primarily read paranormal and urban fantasy, but I also read a lot of dystopian, post-apocalyptic and, recently, I’ve been reading a lot of sci-fi. I’ll give you some of my favorites based off of genre.

Urban Fantasy: Vampire Academy and Bloodlines by Richelle Mead; The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare.

Fantasy: Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling; Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa; Wicked Lovely and Carnival of Souls by Melissa Marr.

Dystopian/ Sci-Fi: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins; Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi; Divergent by Veronica Roth.

I haven’t read a lot of urban fantasy but I do love Ilona Andrews’ novels (and so do a lot of readers), would you happen to have recommendations similar to Ilona and Gordon’s writing?

I primarily read young adult (I’ve read very few adult) so, unfortunately, I have not read any of Ilona & Gordon’s books. I do have Ilona’s The Edge series sitting on my bookshelf, and I hope that I will get a chance to read them very soon.

Oooh I hope you get to read the Edge books soon! What are some the books that have stood out to you this year?

Insurgent by Veronica Roth; Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins; Embers and Echoes by Karsten Knight; Cinder by Marissa Meyer; The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa; Unraveling by Elizabeth Norris; and Eve and Adam by Katherine Applegate.

Can you give us an idea of what’s it like to be a blogger in your area? I’d like to know where you usually buy your books and whether you attend book events or meet up with fellow bloggers.

My favorite bookish events I’ve attended are: Smart Chicks Kick It Tour in Seattle, WA; NCIBA Conference in San Francisco; and ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim, CA.

I attend a lot of book events in San Francisco. I live in Sacramento and the drive (without traffic) is about 2 hours. There are a handful of bloggers (and a few local authors) who attend those events, so I get to see a lot and meet a lot of bloggers when I go. A lot of times, the bloggers (and even authors) will meet up for dinner before an event, or go out afterwards. I have a few blogger friends who live here in Sacramento, and I carpool with them to San Francisco as well.

I purchase my books on amazon.com because that is mainly where I find the best deals. But I occasionally buy a book at the bookstores that host the events I attend.

First picture is a bookstore in SF that hosts a lot of events I attend. The next is a picture of one of the many awesome events they host that I attended. On the top row, the picture includes some of my favorite bloggers.
And the second row is authors: Bree Despain, Brodi Ashton and Cynthia Hand

The host at the event at Books Inc, allowed a few bloggers to interview an author 1 on 1 in the back room and I was able to interview Bree Despain.

Wow, you’ve been to awesome events! Blogging isn’t always fun because it takes a lot of time and effort – have you ever experienced a blogging slump and what did you do to get out of it?
I actually experienced a blogging slump very recently, and I just barely pulled myself out of it probably a week and a half, to two weeks ago.

I, for one, had to come to terms with what put me in that blogging slump. Mine were actually emotional reasons, reasons that put me in what I call “a funk,” and they had me pretty much hiding from the blogging atmosphere. Luckily, I have a few blogging friends who helped me snap out of it, and I’m determined to fight against it ever re-occurring with a vengeance.

Finally, this is something that I’ve asked in past BBAW interview swaps since I’m a Filipino book blogger based in Singapore – what are your thoughts about international book bloggers? Do you follow any foreign bloggers?

That’s one reason I’m so excited to get to know you!!! I think connecting with book bloggers all over the world is amazing! My first blogger friend outside the US was in England, and I found it extremely entertaining that when I would be saying, “Goodnight,” she would be saying, “Good morning.” And one of my favorite indie authors (who I talk to all the time), as well as quite of few of my blogger friends, are actually in Canada. Lastly, everyone needs to get to know Alba with Book Pics, she’s from El Salvador! She is hilarious, fun, and she has never failed to put a smile on my face!

___________________________________________________________
Thank you so much for the lovely answers, Mindy! Be sure to drop by her blog to check out my answers to her questions. Happy BBAW, everyone. 🙂

12 thoughts on “BBAW Interview Swap: Mindy of Magical Urban Fantasy Reads

  1. Hey Mindy!! I totally agree with your favorites based off of genre. You know I’m reading Vampire Academy, and loving it so much. Shatter Me one of my favorites too. And the rest of course LOL.

    Wow, you have been to many awesome events and met lots of people, so lucky!!

    I totally agree with your last answer, I love that. I’m not a blogger but getting to know all these people around the world, especially from a small country like mine, I think it’s amazing. This is one of my favorite parts of stalking blogs LOL. Yes, Alba is fun to talk to. We actually are “country neighbors” (which is actually cool too!) El Salvador and Guatemala 😉

    I ❤ Mindy, you are awesome. 🙂

    • You’re from Guatemala? Sounds exciting! I think you should start your own blog too. 🙂 It IS awesome that we get to connect with readers from all over the world – look at the two of us chatting in this thread now. We’re not neighbors but we have something else in common – I think both of our countries were colonized by the Spaniards?

      I haven’t read Shatter Me yet but it’s on my ever-increasing TBR pile. I read the first few Vampire Academy books a few years ago but haven’t gotten the chance to read the rest.

      • Yep, I’m from Guatemala 😀 Believe me, I want to start my own blog (in fact I have one) just not the time to work on it, so I decide against it. Maybe someday, that’s for sure. Yes, exactly!! It is pretty awesome, we don’t even have to know each other in person, I love that! Yes, we were colonized by Spaniards too 🙂

        Oh God, if you have the chance, you should read Shatter Me, it is AMAZING!! Same with VA, each book just keeps getting better. I hope you can read them soon 🙂

  2. AAAHHHHHHHHHHH
    I LOOOOVE Mindy!!
    Loved this interview as well!
    Soooo freaking depressed hahaha when I so those pictures heheheh I see a LOT of the bloggers I look up to, Jean, Jaime 😥 Mindy…
    Excuse me while I go and cry…
    Oooh and so great to discover a new blogger there! You’re the second Philipino I’ve found 😉
    <3<3<3

    • I know, I’m pretty jealous that Mindy got to attend those awesome book events. You don’t have events like those over there? We don’t have a lot of them in Manila but I wonder if they have it here in Singapore (I just moved). Oh who’s the other Filipino book blogger that you know? The Filipino book blogging community is getting bigger and bigger everyday.

  3. Wow, how cool to be involved in those bookstore events!! and lots of neat Urban Fantasy for me to look into, as I’m trying to read more of that genre. I love BBAW interview swap! 😀

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

