Book Haul: First Ever Library Stash

Guess who’s the newest member of the Singapore public library? *raises hand and jumps up and down* Yes, I couldn’t resist. I signed up because I’ve always wanted to have access to a library. It’s like a dream come true for a book lover from the Philippines. I dropped by after work – the library is inside the mall beside the MRT station. It was about to close by the time my application was processed so I just grabbed books that are on my wishlist:

This Is Shyness by Leanne Hall
God Is In the Pancakes by Robin Epstein
Kat, Incorrigible by Stephanie Burgis
The Demon’s Surrender by Sarah Rees Brennan
The Swan Maiden by Heather Tomlinson
The Floating Islands by Rachel Neumeier
The Duff: Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger
Amplified by Tara Kelly

I have no idea if I’ll be able to finish reading all of these in three weeks but I just wanted to take advantage of the fact that I could borrow eight books in one go. Also, I want to make the most out of the 53 SGD membership fee. And I have been a bit book hungry lately because books are so expensive over here compared to Manila. This is what my tiny bookshelf in Singapore looks like:

It’s not as great as my bookshelf back home but it’s always comforting to have books near you. What about the rest of you, did you buy or borrow any books this week?

28 thoughts on “Book Haul: First Ever Library Stash

  1. Haven’t bought a book since forever but I’m reading the book I won from a raffle. Looking forward to Manila International Book Fair next week though πŸ™‚

      • Yup, thank you! I have read a third of it and I already learned a lot πŸ™‚

        Oh, I didn’t know it’s Fully Booked first MIBF, it’s my first time to go too.

  2. Hey, you got a ton of books I’ve been wondering about – Iike God is in the Pancakes! – can’t wait to hear your thoughts on them! πŸ™‚

    And yay for giving in. I’ve only ever belonged to school libraries and they were hardly any fun.

    • I heard good things about God is in the Pancakes from Nomes, I think. I hope I enjoy reading it! Will let you know what I think when I get around to it,

      Same here, I know we’ve talked about this before because we’re in the same boat. So you can imagine my excitement now that I’m a member of a public library with a good selection of books. πŸ˜€

  3. Libraries are awesome!!! I’m excited for you. I love both Kat Incorrigible and The Floating Islands. And let me just say that the Singapore library clearly has a better YA section that my library. Jealous.

    • I’m excited too, Brandy! I know how awesome libraries are. It’s great that I finally have access to one. Okay, will keep those two in mind – both you and Maureen loved them.

      Really? I find it surprising that the library here has a better YA selection that yours does. The one near the flat is a small library inside the mall, there’s a bigger regional library a few MRT stations away. I want to check it out sometime. Maybe when I’ve returned these books.

  4. I’m so excited for you, Chachic!! And Leanne Hall… YES! If you need incentive to move to the States — I don’t pay anything for a library card and I can check out up to 50 books at a time. Actually, let’s just move to Australia. πŸ™‚

    • 50 books?! Wow, wish I could borrow that many books! But then I’d have a hard time walking back to the flat. These 8 books were already pretty heavy. LOL yeah, maybe it would be better if we could just move to Australia – better access to Aussie titles. πŸ˜€

  5. Pingback: Wednesday Wanderment | Unearthing Words

  6. Pingback: Shoot That Book: Reading on the train | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. You go girl! Signing up for the public library within a few weeks of moving to your new country. Remind me (constantly) to check out the Shanghai Public Library one of these days…

    • What! You haven’t checked out the Shanghai Public Library? Oh don’t worry, I’ll be reminding you constantly on Twitter to do that. πŸ˜› I haven’t started on any of these books though. I still keep reading on my Kindle.

  8. Pingback: Monday Blues | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. i am so pumped that you can finally go to a library! i really hope you like god is in the pancakes. it is definitely a quieter book but i found it really compelling πŸ™‚

    • Nomes, I picked that up based on your recommendation! I haven’t read it though. I’ve only finished one book from this stash so I renewed the others. I have three more weeks to read everything. πŸ˜› So excited that I have library access as well.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

