Signing Up for the Singapore Public Library

I’ve been wanting to put up a post the whole weekend but my laptop encountered connection problems so sadly, I wasn’t able to do that. I’m still trying to figure out how to balance blogging with adjusting to the new chapter in my life so I have a feeling I will keep on apologizing about not putting up as many posts as I used to. I also haven’t had a chance to go through my Google Reader so I’m sorry I haven’t commented on your blogs. I will try to catch up once I’ve gotten used to things around here. Anyway, I’m thinking of signing up for the public library here in Singapore because there’s a branch within walking distance of the flat (it’s inside the mall). I’m hesitating because it’s a bit pricey:

Also, I’ve been doing most of my reading on my Kindle – usually while waiting or while traveling inside trains. So I’m not sure if I’ll be able to take advantage of the library. We’ll see though. I should drop by and check out the books that are available for borrowing. Even if I don’t sign up, I should probably take pictures so I can post them here.

I also just got a smart phone! We’ll see if this will help me become more active in the blogging scene – I’ve downloaded the Goodreads and WordPress apps but haven’t had a chance to play around with them. I think my Kindle is getting jealous because I’m always glued to my S3 nowadays. I’ve been really active on Twitter because of my new phone so follow me over there if you want regular updates.

What I’ve Been Watching
Got to watch Brave in the cinema yesterday, together with my flatmates.

And we also watched the first season of Sherlock (they’ve seen it and they were willing to watch the episodes again). Yes, as my friend Heidi puts it, I’ve just been Cumberbatched. Looking forward to season two!

19 thoughts on “Signing Up for the Singapore Public Library

  1. Hi, Chachic! Lucky that you have a library near you! Excited for when you post pictures πŸ™‚
    And yay, you’re watching Sherlock!!! I loooooove that show ❀ I spaced out the rest of the season two episodes so I don't have to wait for fall of next year for the third, but it's so hard! Glad to see you've been Cumberbatched, though :))

    • I’ll try to drop by the library soon! I want to check out the books that they have there.

      Yep, just finished season 1 and I can’t wait to watch season 2. If I didn’t have to worry about waking up for work in the mornings, I’d hole up in my room and watch all three episodes in one sitting πŸ˜›

  2. How was the movie Chachic? I’m still undecided whether I should go and watch it or not.

    The library is inside the mall? Awesome πŸ™‚ Btw did you visit the Harry Potter exhibit over at the ArtScience Museum in Marina Bay Sands? It looks pretty cool.

    • I liked it but it felt more like a Disney princess film than a Pixar film if that makes sense? I think it’s great that Pixar finally has a strong female protagonist though.

      Yep, the library is inside the mall. The Harry Potter exhibit is pretty pricey and my flatmate says that it’s not worth the expense. I wanted to check out but maybe I can just use the money to sign up for a membership in the library. LOL.

  3. Being Cumberbatched is AWESOME!!!
    Season two was pretty good to me, but my sister said she didn’t like it as much, I don’t think she has even seen episode three.

    I’m really excited for season 3, but I think they won’t start filming until early 2013, so I have to entertain myself with Game of Thrones and, mostly, Downton Abbey.

    That library sounds pricey, so definitely check out what it has to offer before hand and how often they get new books.

    And your phone looks good. I had a samsung too and I loved it a lot more than I like my current iphone, but no one believes me I liked the android plataform better.

    • I keep hearing that season 2 is even better than season 1. Wish the weekend was here so I could watch it already! I don’t want to start it within the week because I have a feeling I won’t be getting much sleep if I do that.

      Oh hey, you’ve reminded me that I still need to watch season 2 of Downton Abbey. I’ve only seen season 1.

      Yay, good to know that you loved your Samsung more than your iPhone because I was originally planning to get an iPhone (it was cheaper than the S3). But because there were National Day discounts, the S3 seemed like the better choice.

  4. Oh I love Sherlock too! How fantastic πŸ™‚
    I so want to see Brave too, heard such great things about it. Sadly, I’ve missed it in the theaters, but hopefully I can get a DVD at some point.

  5. Ouch, that library’s expensive! The main branch would probably have a better selection, but having a library inside a mall just sounds soooooo cool!

    Watched Brave last night. It was nice, but those Scottish accents made for some difficult listening, LOL. Also, can’t help but feel that Pixar seems to do better with anthromorphic characters rather than human ones. And that old witch’s character design almost had me shouting Yuubaba/Zeniiba (from the Studio Ghibli movie Spirited Away) when she first apeared. *sweatdrops*

    Love Sherlock too, can’t wait for the next season! Did you know that he’s voicing Smaug for the Hobbit movie?

    • Kim, I could borrow from all the branches in Singapore if I sign up for membership in any branch. So I think it’s a good idea to sign up but only after I finish reading the books that I brought with me. Actually, I still have several books on my Kindle but I like the idea of finally having access to a good public library. πŸ˜›

      I loved the Scottish accents! You’re right, they were a bit difficult to understand, which is why I wouldn’t mind watching the movie again when it comes out in DVD. LOL I haven’t watched Spirited Away but I know what you mean about the witch looking anime-ish.

      Hey, I didn’t know Benedict Cumberbatch is voicing Smaug for the Hobbit movie! And Martin Freeman is Bilbo, right? So excited to watch that movie. It doesn’t hurt that Richard Armitage is in it.

    • I’ve only had my phone for a while but I can’t imagine life without it. πŸ˜› I love how it makes it easier for me to keep in touch with friends and family back home. Hope you get to watch Sherlock soon!

  6. You have a Library near by!!! Yay!! You should ask there if they have any type of lending program set up for checking out ebooks. At least out here in the states, libraries loan out ebooks — it’s not every book but at least a few good ones come through that way. So that might make the fee a little more worth while.

    And SHERLOCK!! I *adore* Martin Freeman to tiny, itty, bitty pieces. (cannot wait to see him *AND* RIchard Armitage in the HOBBIT!) I love how the BBC has done this series.

    Hopefully you’re settling in!

    • Michelle, I’ve decided to wait until I finish the books that I brought with me before signing up for the library. Otherwise, I might note be able to read them! I will definitely sign up though because books here are so much more expensive than books back home. I have a feeling I’ll stock up the next time I go there. I will ask about the ebooks.

      Hey, did you know that Benedict Cumberbatch is Smaug’s voice in The Hobbit? I just found out about it recently. That made me even more excited to see the movie. And yes to both Martin Freeman and Richard Armitage. I hope Richard Armitage guests in one of the Sherlock episodes in the coming season.

  7. Ahh! BBC’s Sherlock is sheer genius! Too bad it’s taking them such a long time to film the third season. I melted when I saw B.C.’s photo there hehe!

    Say what you will about Manila, but at least we get books pretty cheap here. On the flipside, Singapore has a public library. I wonder if we will ever have something like that here…

    • I know, I want to watch season 3 now! But I’m pretty excited for The Hobbit because Benedict Cumberbatch did Smaug’s voice and Martin Freeman is Bilbo. And Richard Armitage is also in the film. πŸ˜€

      Yeah, I miss buying books in Manila. I couldn’t even help myself whenever I see a book that I’m interested in. But here, I haven’t been buying books because they’re so expensive! I know what you mean about not having public libraries in the Philippines – that was one of my biggest frustrations before. So I’m really glad I have access to one now.

  8. Pingback: Yishun Public Library | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

