Chachic's Book Nook

Back to Back Great Reads: Seraphina and Such A Rush

25 Comments

I miss blogging! I think this is the longest that I’ve gone without a post. Hopefully, I’ll have more time to blog once things have settled down – I’m still trying to get used to so many aspects of the move. Anyway, I read and loved two titles recently: Seraphina by Rachel Hartman and Such A Rush by Jennifer Echols. Since I wasn’t sure if I could write a full review for both anytime soon, I thought it would be a good idea to talk about both titles in one post.

Here’s the summary of Seraphina from Goodreads:

Four decades of peace have done little to ease the mistrust between humans and dragons in the kingdom of Goredd. Folding themselves into human shape, dragons attend court as ambassadors, and lend their rational, mathematical minds to universities as scholars and teachers. As the treaty’s anniversary draws near, however, tensions are high.

Seraphina Dombegh has reason to fear both sides. An unusually gifted musician, she joins the court just as a member of the royal family is murdered—in suspiciously draconian fashion. Seraphina is drawn into the investigation, partnering with the captain of the Queen’s Guard, the dangerously perceptive Prince Lucian Kiggs. While they begin to uncover hints of a sinister plot to destroy the peace, Seraphina struggles to protect her own secret, the secret behind her musical gift, one so terrible that its discovery could mean her very life.

Seraphina is a lovely book. I remember rushing to a bookstore in Manila to grab a copy of this on its release day because I’ve heard such good things about it and I couldn’t wait to read it. I was disappointed in the books that I read before Seraphina so it was a pleasant surprise that I found a YA fantasy that I could really sink my teeth into. Seraphina is exactly the kind of character that I love, one who possesses admirable inner strength. I’m also a fan of the world that Rachel Hartman created, where there’s a tenuous peace between humans and dragons. I liked how distinctly different humans and dragons are – the latter sees the former as a weaker race, prone to emotional decisions that aren’t always logical whereas dragons are more detached and analytical. And I found it intriguing that dragons can take human form. I really liked how subtle the romance was, it wasn’t the focus of the story and they started out as friends. There were so many details to love in this novel and I’m looking forward to reading the sequel – I wonder how long do I have to wait to read it? Here’s a quote from the book that I loved:

“The world inside myself is vaster and richer than this paltry plane, peopled with mere galaxies and gods.”

From fantasy, let’s move on to contemporary. It has never been my dream to become a pilot. I was briefly interested for a time but then I found out that there’s a height requirement and I wouldn’t make it. I have the utmost respect for pilots though – I think what they do is amazing. And I’m a big fan of strong women so I think lady pilots are awesome. It’s funny because I wasn’t actively seeking to read novels that feature women as pilots but I’ve ended up loving two such titles this year: Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein and now Such a Rush by Jennifer Echols.

Here’s the summary of Such a Rush from Goodreads:

High school senior Leah Jones loves nothing more than flying. While she’s in the air, it’s easy to forget life with her absentee mother at the low-rent end of a South Carolina beach town. When her flight instructor, Mr. Hall, hires her to fly for his banner advertising business, she sees it as her ticket out of the trailer park. And when he dies suddenly, she’s afraid her flying career is gone forever.

But Mr. Hall’s teenage sons, golden boy Alec and adrenaline junkie Grayson, are determined to keep the banner planes flying. Though Leah has crushed on Grayson for years, she’s leery of getting involved in what now seems like a doomed business — until Grayson betrays her by digging up her most damning secret. Holding it over her head, he forces her to fly for secret reasons of his own, reasons involving Alec. Now Leah finds herself drawn into a battle between brothers — and the consequences could be deadly.

Jennifer Echols’ Going Too Far was one of the first contemporary YA novels that I fell in love with. I’ve read the rest of her books after that, hoping that they’d be just as good but they didn’t live up to Going Too Far. Until Such A Rush came along. Now I have another Jennifer Echols novel that I can enthusiastically recommend. I felt so bad for Leah – her story made me realize that not everyone who lives in a first world country has a good life. It made me sad that she didn’t have access to so many things that we all take for granted – internet, cellphones, buying groceries and take out whenever we need to. I’m amazed at how she took control of her own life because she doesn’t want to be stuck in a trailer park her whole life. I also loved the tension between Leah and Grayson, with all the ambiguity of their relationship. Jennifer Echols sure knows how to build up a slow burn romance. I was rooting for the two of them to get together even if they had to work through so many issues. Highly recommended for fans of swoon-worthy contemporary YA.

What about the rest of you, have you read and loved any books lately?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

25 thoughts on “Back to Back Great Reads: Seraphina and Such A Rush

  1. Read For Darkness Shows the Stars. Loved Elliott’s tenacity and loved the sci-fi twist Peterfreund put into the story, but Kai just seemed a lot more petty compared to his original Austen counterpart, despite the fact that he had more backstory. Still loved the book overall though.

    • Kim, I’m planning to read that soon! It’s on my “bump up the TBR” list. I can’t even remember the details of Persuasion but I don’t think that’s going to be an issue when reading Diana Peterfreund’s book. Good to know you loved it!

  2. I still haven’t loved anything lately. I just wanted to say that I was happy to see a book post from you in my feed today. 🙂 I have been enjoying your tweets on settling into life in your new town too.

    • Aww Brandy, I’m glad it made you happy to see a new book post from me. 😀 I want to keep on putting up posts but I’m still getting used to living here so I haven’t had that much free time. Let’s hope the next few weeks will be better! I’ll keep the tweets coming in the meantime.

  3. I read Seraphina recently as well and also loved it! Definitely a notable read of 2012. I don’t normally buy books as soon as they come out, especially when they’re debut authors (I usually only buy stuff on release dates from authors I am head-over-heels in love with)., but I made an unusual exception with this one and it really paid off!

    As for Such a Rush, I was one of the few people in the blogging world who didn’t love Going Too Far, so I haven’t read anything else by her, but Such a Rush has been tempting me! I might just give it a try.

    • Michelle, me too. I’m trying to cut back my purchases of debut novels especially if they come out as hardcovers but I couldn’t resist rushing out to grab a copy of Seraphina because of all the positive reviews that I’ve seen. So glad I got a copy because it has a beautiful cover, it makes me sad that I couldn’t bring my copy with me here in Singapore.

      Sorry to hear that you’re not a fan of Going Too Far! I hope you end up liking Such A Rush when you give it a try, might not be your cup of tea if you didn’t like Going Too Far. What are some of the contemporary YA novels that you’ve loved?

  4. Ooh, I LOVED Such a Rush as well. It was such a great book! And I’m looking forward to reading Seraphina 🙂

  5. I’ve been seeing lots of positive reviews on Seraphina. I really should check that out soon. Anyway, I love Jennifer Echols’ books so I’m looking forward to Such a Rush.

    Great post! Happy reading! ^_^

    Janus

  6. Interesting! I work at a bookstore, and flipped through Seraphina. For some reason, I’ve never really been into fantasy type stuff… I usually go more for classics or memoirs… but your review sounds interesting! I might force myself to read it.. haha 😉

    • Oooh I love fantasy novels so I may be a little biased that I love Seraphina. If you ever feel like giving the genre a try, Seraphina would be a good one to start with. 😛

  7. Ooh, I loved Seraphina too! I hunted down a copy of it at Fully Booked after finding out from you that it was available locally. I’ve been holding off on buying Such a Rush – I was just waiting for some good reviews. Glad to hear that you loved that one, I’ll definitely get a copy soon.:)

    • Celina, sorry I wasn’t able to reply to this! I think this post came up when I just moved to Singapore so maybe that’s why I missed replying to comments. Have you read Such a Rush?

  8. Heard good things about these two & I’m sure I’ll get them on my next visit to the bookstore..

  9. Pingback: Review: Seraphina by Rachel Hartman « Bunbury in the Stacks

  10. I’m very happy that you posted this (that you liked both these books). I was pimping Seraphina so I’m glad you enjoyed it, and I have been thinking about Such a Rush and I’m glad there’s confirmation from more than one blogger that it was as good, if not better, than Going Too Far.

    • Sorry I missed replying to your comment, Janice! This post came up when I first moved to Singapore so there was probably too much going on for me to pay attention to the blog. You know I was trying to decide between Such a Rush and Seeing Me Naked as a Christmas gift for you. Hope you get a copy of Jennifer Echols’ latest soon. 🙂

  11. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples IV | Chachic's Book Nook

  12. Pingback: Top Ten Favorite Book Covers Of Books I’ve Read | Chachic's Book Nook

  13. Pingback: All I Ever Wanted by Vikki Wakefield | Chachic's Book Nook

  14. Pingback: Nowhere But Home by Liza Palmer | Chachic's Book Nook

  15. Pingback: I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios | Chachic's Book Nook

  16. Pingback: Singapore Writers Festival: “Instalove” – Romance and the YA Novel | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

