BooksActually

Tucked in a quiet street in Tiong Bahru is a lovely indie bookstore called BooksActually. I’ve been hearing a lot about this bookstore from fellow readers who have visited Singapore. So when I had some free time yesterday afternoon, I decided to drop by and check it out. Aside from books and other bookish paraphernalia, they also sell some vintage knick knacks.

Of course, I had to take pictures of these bookish postcards:

While I wasn’t able to buy any books (there weren’t that many YA or fantasy novels in the store), I have a feeling I’ll be back to visit and just look around because it’s such a charming bookstore. BooksActually is located at No. 9 Yong Siak Street, Tiong Bahru. Feel free to drop by whenever you’re in Singapore!

19 thoughts on “BooksActually

  1. Oh my! What a cute indie store! Ever notice how sometimes they can be the best ever?! πŸ™‚

    I’m from Mexico, but currently live in the US…and I am head over heels in love with Barnes & Noble, the best book store in the universe! πŸ™‚

    Btw, just ran into your blog and it’s cute! I’ll be happy to come back for future visits! πŸ™‚

    • Indie stores are awesome. I loved how quirky this one was. If I have a bookish friend visiting, I’d probably bring her (or him) to BooksActually. Oh there are a lot of indie bookstores in the US, is there one near your area? πŸ™‚

      Thanks and hope to see you around!

    • Alex, the books here are a lot more expensive that the ones in Manila so I have a feeling I will be utilizing Book Depository once I’ve settled down. Need to check out the public library first though!

  2. Love these pictures! This is the type of bookstore I love to be in, even if as you say, they don’t carry many books for me. Cozy! Hope that the start to your new job is going well. =)

  3. Pingback: Woods in the Books | Chachic's Book Nook

    • Creepy bunny mask? I didn’t even notice it! Sigh, I miss shooting lomo. I left all my cameras back home because I have no idea where I can get rolls of film processed here in Singapore. And that will probably be a lot more expensive here.

  4. Pingback: Impromptu SG Indie Bookstore Hop | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

