Chachic's Book Nook

Chinatown Update

13 Comments

I’ve been staying in Chinatown the past couple of days and I like how the are has its own charm. I wasn’t able to take pictures until today because I’ve been busy taking care of other details. Anyway, since some of you seem interested, I thought I’d share pictures:

I love the vintage little windows on top of the shops – they look like small doors, don’t they? I’m not an expert but I believe Chinatown is a touristy place because of all the stores and food stalls.

This store display isn’t in Chinatown but I thought I’d throw it in here because it involves books:

Last but not the least – I’m currently in the middle of Rosemary and Rue by Seanan McGuire, which is the first book in the Toby Daye series.

I keep wishing I had more time to read because I’m enjoying it so far. Nowadays, I only get to read while waiting for the train to arrive. I hope you’re all having a good weekend!

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

13 thoughts on “Chinatown Update

  1. Yay, looks like fun over there. I kind of love that there’s so much to walk and see. A Tintin shop! I didn’t know that sort of thing existed!

    • Yep, there are a couple of streets that intersect each other and it’s fun to just walk around and explore. Also, Chinatown here is a lot nicer (and cleaner) than the Chinatown in Manila – although I do love going there too. The Tintin shop was a pleasant surprised, I was tempted to buy postcards even if I’m not a big fan.

  2. I’ve been to Chinatown too and I went camera crazy at the Tin Tin Shop. The stores are pretty neat and organized no? I like that the MRT exit is smack dab in the middle of Chinatown too. I thought the place would be hard to find.

    I’m glad that you finally got settled already, Chachic! 😀

    • I know, it’s nice how everything is so well-organized around here. Makes it a lot easier to go around. I can’t even count the number of MRT stations that I’ve been to in the past couple of days. I hope I can visit BooksActually soon! 🙂

  3. Ooh, the windows are pretty. Looks like a pretty touristy area overall.

  4. Yay! I’d seen you say on Twitter you’d taken these, I’m glad you posted them. I love how colorful Chinatown is! The Chinatown in NYC is predominantly red, and I’m loving the yellows greens and blues that you have there in addition.

    • The Chinatown in Manila isn’t as pretty (or as clean) as this one although the food is good because it’s authentic Chinese. I’m glad you like the pictures!

  5. I do believe I need to visit your China Town! 🙂 The one I went to in Boston was awful. lol

  6. I dropped by Chinatown when I was in Singapore last April. it was pretty cool! I’m glad I was able to stop by 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

