My MNL to SIN Stash

Hello from Singapore! I wanted to write a post because I’m so happy I didn’t go beyond my luggage limit. Initially, I had some books inside my check-in suitcase but I had to remove them so the weight won’t go past 25kg. Good thing I still had room in my hand carry. Here’s what I managed to include:

SG Haul

Kindle Touch (of course! I’m in the middle of Rosemary and Rue)
Across the Blue by Chris Mariano
The King Must Die by Mary Renault
The Bull From the Sea by Mary Renault
Fire and Hemlock by Diana Wynne Jones
I’ll Be There by Holly Goldberg Sloan
The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Cat Valente
Among Others by Jo Walton

I had such a hard time trying to decide what books to bring with me! In the end, I just went with books that I’ve been wanting to read for a while (maybe it would have been smarter to bring all paperbacks instead of throwing in hardcovers). I also made sure that the books are from different genres. If you had to move and you had limited luggage space – what books from your TBR pile will you bring with you?

24 thoughts on “My MNL to SIN Stash

  1. I think that’s really smart, to have books you wanted to read and from different genres so if you can’t get into one you can switch.

    When I travel I usually take one book I wanna read and one beloved oldie, in case the book is a disappointed. I used to take more but then I realized I didn’t really read them. Also, with the kindle I got it all in one device so that’s fun.

    anyway, sorry for the rambling!
    I hope you have a safe flight and that things in SIN go well.

    • Yep, I like switching genres if I find that I can’t get into a particular book. When I feel a bit slump-ish, I pick up a contemporary YA or chick lit novel because I find those easy to get into.

      I chose to bring books that I haven’t read instead of old favorites because of the limited luggage space. You do have a point about the Kindle! I wouldn’t know what to do if I didn’t have one. So glad I was able to get a Kindle Touch before leaving Manila. πŸ™‚

  2. I think you did a great job of picking! I have to agree that choosing various genres and books that you’ve been wanting to read for some time is probably a wise way to go. I actually went through this when I came to NY, as I could only bring whatever fit in my car, and unfortunately books were pretty low on the priority list. I only ended up brnging my Kindle, and two books I was in the middle of reading at the time: Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, and Sophie’s World.

    Excited to hear about your new life in Singapore! Again, good luck with everything, I hope it’s at least as fun and exciting as it is scary. πŸ˜›

    • Oh wow, at least you had a whole car to fit your stuff into! I only had a 25kg check in suitcase and a 7kg handcarry. But yes, I agree, books are pretty low on the priority list especially when you’re starting a new job and you need corporate clothes. I can always go shopping (both for books and clothes) over here but I need to find my own place first. πŸ˜› I love having my Kindle with me though.

      I’ve been tweeting about Singapore! Not sure if you’ve been seeing them? I haven’t had that much time to read (only while waiting for trains because at the end of the day, I’m so tired and I just want to sleep). Hope I find a place soon so I can get bacl to blogging. πŸ™‚

      • I haven’t been on Twitter much the past few days because of family stuff/the Olympics. I saw you say you took pics of Chinatown though!

        Good luck on finding your own place! Hope you find something soon. I gather you’re at a hotel, as I seem to remember a Tweet complaining about their internet. πŸ˜›

  3. I am glad to see Fire and Hemlock there. LOL. I think one of the earliest comments I ever made here was about how I’d managed to locate a copy at Booksale almost immediately after I’d mentioned to you that I love Tam Lin retellings.

    Since you’re based in Singapore now, guess I won’t be able to give you that copy of Cybele’s Secret until the next time you’re back in Manila though. 😦

    • Kim, I had to bring Fire and Hemlock with me. I’ve been waiting for that to be reissued for a while now – it comes so highly recommended by several fantasy bloggers. It’s funny though because I saw the exact same edition in Kinokuniya yesterday (more expensive though).

      It’s okay, we can always meet up whenever I’m in Manila. πŸ™‚ Just not sure when that’s going to be though.

    • I have ebook editions of some of my favorites so I can always reread those on the Kindle – that’s one of the reasons why I didn’t bring any of them. But I miss the feeling of having signed copies near me. LOL.

  4. I do hope you enjoy The King Must Die! It’s always so risky depending on books you’ve never read–I remember one grim summer spend in the desert of northern Kenya long ago when the new books I took with me were all dudes and I was without anything I wanted to read. So these days I mostly take books I’ll want to re-read, just to be sure (although if I had to spend two months in a desert again, I’d get an ereader with a solar power battery recharger).

    I hope the moving is going well!

    • Charlotte, you’ve read it? The duology was recommended by EWein – she calls the main character as Gen-in-Ancient Greece (not surprising that I rushed out to grab copies after that, right?) Wow, Kenya sounds pretty exciting! But I wouldn’t know what to do in an area where books aren’t readily accessible. My friends keep telling me that I shouldn’t have bothered to bring books over here because there are public libraries and bookstores anyway. It would feel weird not to have books with me though – they’re kind of like security blankets.

  5. That would be such a tough decision for me because my TBR is huge. I guess I would go with a few Neil Gaiman books, my kindle, some romance novels and the fantasy books that have been languishing on my pile forever, so Kushiel’s Dart and a few others.

    Best of luck with your move!

    • April, so you’re a big Gaiman fan, huh? πŸ™‚ I think you have a pretty good mix of books you plan to bring with you – it’s always nice to have different genre choices to go with what you feel like reading.

  6. How have your first few days in SG been? I hope you are all settled in already.:)

    I’d probably do the same thing as you did and bring different genres, but it wouldn’t be an easy task to choose just a couple of books. I suppose the only thing I’d add is a favorite book that I have in my for re-reading list.

    • Hi Celina, I’m glad I got to include Among Others in my handcarry. I’m still looking for a place to stay but I hope I can move in soon. πŸ™‚

      Yeah, you can never be sure when you’ll feel like rereading an old favorite, right? I guess I have to settle for the ones that are already in my Kindle – maybe I can grab some favorite books and bring them back with me the next time I go home.

  7. AMONG OTHERS!!!! Hee…. So sorry. Got so excited there. It’s sort of a quick read. I hope it will get you out of your reading slump. I can’t believe you’re in Singapore na! We will miss you on the ReaderCon and various bookish events here in Manila! :((

    • Rush delivery pa yan! I told Celina I wanted to bring it with me so she sent it through courier right before I left. I’m really curious about it since you kept on raving about the book. Haha you’re not the only one who can’t believe I’m in Singapore – I can’t believe it either! I think it will take a couple of months for me to get used to the idea.

  8. Yay for I’ll Be There! Hope you like it. I’m really interesting to hear what you think of the October Daye book as well. Glad to hear you arrived safely, and with plenty of books in tow!

    • Holly, I had to bring I’ll Be There with me! It popped up in so many favorites list last year and I don’t know why I keep putting it off. Would love to read it soon. Just finished the first Toby Daye book, I gave it 3 stars on Goodreads – will try to write a review although I’m not sure when I’ll have the time for that. πŸ˜›

  9. LOL, that first book is familiar! Haha. Anyway, I’m glad you brought the Catherynne Valente book with you; I always associate her with SG. The first book I ever bought overseas (read: SG) was Valente’s Palimpsest πŸ™‚

    Have fun, Chachic! All the best!

    • Chris, I wonder why? πŸ˜› I’ve been wanting to read the Cat Valente book for a while now. I think I was able to download the free ebook edition back when it was still available but I prefer the hardcover because of all the illustrations included inside. Oooh I haven’t bought a book here in SG yet, wonder what my first book purchase will be? πŸ™‚

  10. Pingback: Yishun Public Library | Chachic's Book Nook

  11. Pingback: MNL to SIN Stash Part 2 | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

