Book Haul: Send Off

Hello there, blogosphere! How’s everyone doing? I’ve been super busy the past couple of days but I wanted to squeeze in a book haul post before leaving (this will probably be my last blog post from Manila). First, I got this lovely little book from my good friend Chris:

Across the Blue

Thanks for the surprise, Chris! Looking forward to reading it. Next, I got a package from another good friend, Celina:

Among Others_Winter Prince

Thanks for sending these right before I left, Celina! I already have a copy of EWein’s The Winter Prince but it’s a really old paperback and I wanted a better edition. I’ve heard good things about Among Others by Jo Walton so I’m excited to read it. Last but not the least is a copy of Tibak Rising: Activism in the Days of Martial Law edited by Ferdinand C. Llanes:

A collection of essays written about those who fought against Martial Law in the Philippines. I have a contribution in this book, something that I wrote back when I was in school about my dad. If this seems like the kind of book you’d enjoy reading, I hope you pick up a copy in local bookstores.

Tibak Rising signatures

That’s it for me. Will try to post another update when I have some free time! Maybe I can talk about books I’ve managed to include in my luggage. What about you, what books have you received recently?

7 thoughts on “Book Haul: Send Off

  1. Is Chris’ book available in bookstores? I am hoping to try me some E.Wein too. πŸ˜€ By the way, I already started with Throne of Glass but I am still in the first 5 pages or so, still not enough for me to formulate an opinion on it. πŸ™‚

    Aw Chachic, you’re leaving already? I wish you the best in your new job in Singapore and I really hope you could still put up blog posts from time to time! (because I will surely be missing them) πŸ˜€

    • Tin, I would love for you to read EWein’s books! I have a feeling you’ll like them. πŸ™‚ Too bad some of them are currently out of print. Let me know what you think of Throne of Glass when you’re done. Sorry I haven’t been able to drop by your blog recently.

      I’m in Singapore now! Looks like the next few days (or probably weeks or even months) will be really busy but we’ll see. I’m still behind on reviews and I’ve only been able to read a couple of chapters while getting ready to move.

  2. Bon Voyage! I hope everything goes smoothly. I’m so excited that you have a smart phone now, too. You will love it. Let us know when you arrive safely!

    • Holly, I hope so too! I don’t have a smartphone yet but I’m planning to get one when I get a Singapore line. That would make it easier for me to keep in touch with everyone. πŸ™‚

      PS: I’m here now!

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

