Chachic's Book Nook

New Kindle

23 Comments

It’s been almost two years since I got my Kindle and sadly, the screen is slowly giving up. Check out the dead pixel lines:

So when I found out that my relatives from the States are coming here for a vacation, guess what I asked them to get?

Hello, lovely new Kindle Touch! Haven’t had a chance to play around with it yet but I’m pretty excited to start reading on this new device.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

23 thoughts on “New Kindle

  1. Oooh, enjoy your new kindle touch! I don’t know if it’s because it’s new but it looks…cuter? Hah.

    • It IS cuter, Sandy! I should have taken a picture side by side, I think the Kindle Touch is more compact. Also, I like that it has different screensavers from the Kindle Keyboard.

  2. Yay, glad you got a new one, Chachic! I remember you saying your old one was going. I have the same cover for mine! 😛

    • It’s a pretty cover, isn’t it? I browsed through all the available choices and I really wanted this Kate Spade Pride and Prejudice cover but it’s so expensive! Finally chose just the regular Kindle cover since it looks like it has the best fit. 🙂

      • I know! There’s a Kate Spade Importance of Being Earnest one I would kill for, but a) it costs more than the Kindle itself and b) I don’t have a Kindle touch, just a regular one with buttons, so it wouldn’t fit.

  3. Yay! I like how the touches are more square. Sometimes I mindlessly tap the screen of my Kindle, like it was a touch. If only… Maybe for Christmas or my birthday I will get the new Nook simple touch with backlight. *dreams* Let us know what you think after you’ve played around with it. 🙂

    • I know, I like how the Kindle Touch is more compact. LOL I tap the screen of my Kindle Keyboard from time to time even if it doesn’t mean anything. Sigh, I want the Nook with the built-in light but sadly they still don’t have international capabilities. The Kindle is much more convenient for me. I’ll try to come up with a post about the Kindle Touch once I’ve finished reading a book on it. 🙂

  4. I’ve seen the new Kindles in the wild and they look sleeker! We were thinking of getting a Touch too — let me know what you think of it.

    • Mina, are they locally available? I wasn’t even planning on getting one but since my relatives were coming here, I thought it would be a good idea instead of waiting for someone else to come home.

  5. Yay new Kindle! Which reminds me, I haven’t used my Kindle for a long time now.

  6. You see, I’ve been borrowing my mum’s keyboard kindle for a while now and even though I much prefer real books, I’ve gotten quite a collection. I’m wondering whether its time to get my own Kindle (and hopefully I’ll be able to transfer the books over? :S) but I have no idea whether to go for the new lighter 5 way touch one or the even newer touch screen one! I’d be interested to hear your thoughts! And love that Pride and Prejudice cover btw! 😀

    • Amy, you should totally get your own Kindle! I didn’t want to get one when they first came out but now I couldn’t imagine not having one. I think you can download the ebooks in your archive if they’re registered under your Amazon account? Not sure about this, I haven’t tried it out yet. I have a feeling the touch screen is easier to navigate than the 5-way button. 😛

  7. Yay for the Kindle Touch! It looks so pretty. I used to have the Kindle with a keyboard, but my fiance took ownership of it, so I just use my iPad now. It’s a great device though – and I love the Kindle deals I stumble across 🙂

    • Alexa, doesn’t the iPad cause eye strain when you read on it because of the LCD screen? I get headaches when I spend too much time in front of the computer so I still prefer e-ink readers. 🙂

  8. Oh, I just made a post about the Kindle Touch as well! But mine’s borrowed. Hee. I’m still weighing the pros and cons of e-books vs printed ones and I am still pretty much on the fence. But the Kindle Touch is so lovely Chachic. It’s very sleek and spiffy. 🙂

    Btw, so the Kindle could probably last only for about 2 years? as what happened to your old one?

    • Wow, someone let you borrow his or her Kindle? LOL I’ve never done that and I’m not sure if I’ll be willing to part with my Kindle. Only if I really, really trusted the person, I guess. I’d rather let them borrow actual copies of my books. 😛 The Kindle is convenient for me because it’s the only way I get review copies (through NetGalley and other sources).

      The Kindle can last longer, I think, depending on how well you take care of it. I bring my Kindle with me everywhere – even when I’m commuting on the MRT. And I think the dead pixel lines started appearing after I accidentally dropped my bag one time, and my Kindle was inside it. Let me know if you have any other questions about e-readers and I’ll do my best to answer them!

  9. Chachic!!! It’s been a while since I’ve dropped by here. Have you been able to use your Kindle already? Is it better than the Kindle Keyboard?

    • Celina!!! Haven’t had a chance to read on the new Kindle but will give it a try soon. 🙂 I’ve tried browsing on the Kindle Touch though and it’s easier to use than the Kindle Keybroad.

  10. I need to get a new one soon as well. Mine’s been holding out since version 2 so I still have a white one. I feel like I’m holding on to a discman and everyone else is using an ipod:-/ It’s actually my third one–I lost one on a plane and then my roommate’s sister stepped on the screen of the other one. You are lucky that your family would bring you one from here! They are getting pretty cheap. I think I still want one with a keyboard though as I take a lot of notes. Take good care of it! ❤

    • How old is your Kindle, Flann? Sorry to hear that you lost one Kindle and then the screen of the other one broke. When I first got my Kindle, I remember saying that I’d be happy if it lasts for two years so I think it’s okay to let it retire now. I’ll be extra careful with the Kindle Touch since I have a feeling the screen is more sensitive than my Kindle Keyboard. I know, I’m pretty lucky my relatives were willing to buy a new Kindle and carry it all the way from the States. 🙂

  11. Pingback: Shiny, New Kindle Paperwhite | Chachic's Book Nook

  12. I bought my 3rd generation Keyboar Kindle six years ago. It has travelled with me, it’s kept me sane in waiting rooms and it was in constant use while I was on ICU in August 2015 – and also when I was allowed home, since I was too weak to pick up an actual book. It’s been a godsend and a lifeline.

    Today I found it dead as a doornail when I attempted to charge it: in this case, it was the battery. It has taken its last charge and doesn’t want to ever charge again. Finis, kaput, and all that.

    I have a shiny new Kindle Paperwhite on its way to me, but there’s a fair bit of sentimentality attached to its predecessor and I’ll miss it. RIP Kindle 😦

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

