Shoot That Book: Roses and Robin McKinley

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

We dropped by Dangwa, a flower market where you can get really affordable flowers, yesterday. My mom was in the mood to make the house look pretty. We ended up getting these for only P1000 (20 USD) or so:

Dangwa Flowers

I know I’ve already featured Robin McKinley’s The Blue Sword in a Shoot That Book post before but I couldn’t resist doing it again using those roses. Robin McKinley is one of my favorite authors and she has two Beauty and the Beast retellings: Beauty and Rose Daughter. Roses are pretty important in both stories and I love how both of the covers go well with the bouquet:

STB Robin McKinley

STB Robin McKinley2

Beautiful, right? Also, I thought I’d take a picture of this – some of my Starbucks tumblers doubling as vases:

I love how flowers brighten up any day. Have you read Beauty or Rose Daughter? I recommend both titles to fans of fairy tale retellings. I enjoy reading retellings so feel free to recommend your own favorites.

12 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Roses and Robin McKinley

  1. I haven’t read either, but I want to! I read The Blue Sword when I was pretty young, but really need to read more! The flowers go perfect, Chachic! Lovely. I hope you’re house is gorgeous/smells nice now (and that you don’t have allergies that’ll drive you nuts). πŸ˜›

    • What did you think of The Blue Sword, Heidi? That’s another McKinley favorite of mine. πŸ™‚ Yay, glad you think the flowers look great. We bought them because my tito and tita arrived here today from the States. Oh and I don’t need to worry about allergies. πŸ˜›

      • I really ought to reread The Blue Sword, actually. I distinctly remember checking it out to take on vacation with me the summer I turned 13, and it’s been ‘a few years’ since then, so I don’t remember the story that well other than that I liked it!

        There are some flowers I can’t have around because I’m so allergic, and others we can’t have because if the cat eats them (which he will) they’re poisonous,so we just don’t get flowers.

      • It would be great if you could reread The Blue Sword and maybe review it in your blog? Aww I wish I found out about Robin McKinley when I was at that age, I believe I would have loved her writing then. It’s okay though since I’m still a big fan even if I discovered her novels as an adult.

        Sad that you can’t have flowers around the house! We don’t get them that often because they’re expensive unless you buy them from the wholesale flower market, which isn’t that near our house. Hope the ones we have now will last until the weekend.

  2. Hay, I have yet to read a McKinley. Have you read Spindle’s End? Is it any good? πŸ™‚ I just finished The Goose Girl and it’s lovely. I hope I can write a review soon. Ella Enchanted has become my favorite retelling since I read it last year. This year, I managed to find another favorite, Song of the Sparrow (thanks to you) that and the above mentioned The Goose Girl.

    • Tin, you haven’t read any of Robin McKinley’s books?! You should bump them up the TBR pile! I’ve read all of McKinley’s novels except for Dragonhaven and Deerskin. I didn’t love Spindle’s End as much as Beauty though. I still recommend all of her books because she’s a wonderful writer, especially if you’re into YA epic fantasy with strong female protagonists. πŸ˜€ Both Ella Enchanted and The Goose Girl are also included in my list of favorite fairy tale retellings.

    • Well, most things are cheaper over here than in the US. πŸ˜› We brought the rose bouquet home already arranged like that but thanks for the compliment on my makeshift-Starbucks-tumbler arrangements.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

