Shoot That Book: Eva Ibbotson

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

I love Eva Ibbotson’s romantic historical fiction novels and I realized that I don’t get to feature them that often here on the blog so I thought I’d post pictures of my copies for this week’s Shoot That Book:

Eva Ibbotson's books

I can’t remember where I heard it but I believe these titles weren’t originally published as young adult and were only repackaged as such when the genre started to become popular. I guess that’s a good thing because I discovered her work when A Countess Below Stairs caught my eye in the YA section of a local bookstore. I thought the premise looked interesting so I went ahead and grabbed a copy. Even though I don’t picture the girls in the covers as the characters in the books, I still think these editions look pretty. They sort of have a fairy tale feel to them, right?

Eva Ibbotson's novels

Have you read Eva Ibbotson’s novels? What’s your favorite? My favorites are A Countess Below Stairs and The Reluctant Heiress. If you have recommendations similar to her work, I’d love to hear them.

18 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Eva Ibbotson

  1. I have the The Reluctant Heiress sitting in my shelf for 2 years now and I just remembered it after reading this post. Hahah! πŸ™‚ Got to get on with my TBR pile soon. Btw, love the pictures.

    • Thanks! Glad you like them. πŸ™‚ Hope you get to read The Reluctant Heiress soon. And I hope you like it enough to read the rest of Eva Ibbotson’s books. I also have books that have been waiting around in my TBR pile for years.

    • I haven’t read any of her children’s books but I have a copy of The Secret of Platform 13, just not sure when I’ll get to read. I’ll try to check out Island of the Aunts.

  2. My first Eva Ibbotson novel was A Countess Below Stairs, which I read in my teen years and still love today. Whenever I’m in a reading slump, I always reread Eva Ibbotson’s novels because I adore the characters and her lovely writing so much. πŸ™‚

    • I have a feeling I would have loved A Countess Below Stairs if I read it as a teen too. Yep, her novels are pretty good in getting you out of a slump. I wish she had a bigger backlist for us to go through.

  3. The first Eva Ibbotson novel I read was The Secret of Platform 13 when I was in elementary school. Years later in high school, I came across A Countess Below Stairs and quickly fell in love with Ibbotson’s historical romances. Although I love them all, my particular favorites are A Countess Below Stairs and The Morning Gift. Her writing and her characters are just so well developed and memorable.

    • I have a copy of The Secret of Platform 13, I should probably bump it up because I keep hearing good things. I agree, her characters are well-developed and it’s easy to relate to them and what they’re going through. I forgot to mention that it’s not just the covers that have a fairy tale feel to them because the story themselves are like that too.

  4. Like Tina, my first one was Platform 13. The only two older ones I’ve read are Countess and Reluctant Heiress and I loved them both. I still need to read the rest of them. Like you, the cover for A Countess Below Stairs is what caught me and got me into her books.

    • Yay, good to know that you love her books too, Flann. And it’s funny that we discovered her books because of one of the pretty covers. Hope you get to read her other books soon! I have a feeling you’ll like them as well.

  5. I read some of her children’s book when I was younger (I definitely remember The Great Ghost Rescue) and I’m pretty sure A Company of Swans was my first of her adult novels (they were considered adult novels when I read them). My favourites so far are probably A Countess Below Stairs and Magic Flutes (which I think has been repackaged as The Reluctant Heiress).

    • Yeah, I think her adult books were just repackaged as YA once the genre started to become popular. Looks like we have the same favorites. πŸ˜› I know some of the books have other titles like A Countess Below Stairs is also the Secret Countess and The Reluctant Heiress is Magic Flutes.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

