Want Books: Adorkable

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I’m a fan of Sarra Manning’s adult contemporary romance titles but I haven’t had a chance to read her YA novels. I think I have Pretty Things and Let’s Get Lost somewhere in the TBR pile but I also really want to read Adorkable. I saw it in a bookstore in Hong Kong but stopped myself from getting more than two books. Sigh, maybe I can just include it in my next Book Depository order? It doesn’t help that my friend Maggie of Young Adult Anonymous gave it such a good review. Also, I think the cover is pretty. I have the same shade of purple tights.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Jeane Smith is seventeen and has turned her self-styled dorkiness into an art form, a lifestyle choice and a profitable website and consultancy business. She writes a style column for a Japanese teen magazine and came number seven in The Guardian’s 30 People Under 30 Who Are Changing The World. And yet, in spite of the accolades, hundreds of Internet friendships and a cool boyfriend, she feels inexplicably lonely, a situation made infinitely worse when Michael Lee, the most mass-market, popular and predictably all-rounded boy at school tells Jeane of his suspicion that Jeane’s boyfriend is secretly seeing his girlfriend. Michael and Jeane have NOTHING in common – she is cool and individual; he is the golden boy in an Abercrombie & Fitch T-shirt. So why can’t she stop talking to him?

What about you, what book is in your wishlist?

6 thoughts on “Want Books: Adorkable

  1. I agree with Alex / Anime Girl about the “cuteness” of the book; the cover, the plot, and most especially the title. I have to tell my teenage cousin about this particular book, I have a feeling she’ll love it. πŸ™‚

    • Tin, hope your cousin enjoys reading this one! I don’t think it’s locally available because it’s a UK title but you can order it from the Book Depository.

    • Glad I’m not the only one Maggie convinced to read this! Yep, I’m in the same boat as well, I have too many new books in my pile for me to justify a new purchase.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

