Chachic's Book Nook

Book Haul: Hong Kong Edition

28 Comments

I have a Postcard Love Hong Kong edition post and now it’s time to talk about books. I kept looking for a bookstore the whole time we were there but only found one on our last day. Good thing I did because I ended up buying several items! Here’s my loot from Swindon Books in Tsim Sha Tsui:

Swindon Book shopping bag

This is what’s inside the bag:

Hong Kong book haul

UK edition of The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater, one my favorite reads last year
A Confusion of Princes by Garth Nix
Pride and Prejudice Penguin mug
Some bookmarks

I wanted to get so many other books that I haven’t seen in local bookstores like Adorkable, Wonder and one of the Harry Potter signature editions. But I already used my credit card several times during the trip so I thought I’d grab only two books – one that I’ve read (I’ve been interested in The Scorpio Races UK edition since last year) and one that I’m interested in reading. I also saw the Penguin passport holders but they only had two designs for it: The Road and The Lost Girl and I haven’t read any of those. I thought there’d be more designs but when I searched online, it looks like it comes in only those two versions. So I got a Pride and Prejudice Penguin mug instead:

Pride and Prejudice Penguin mug

Pretty, right? I have a feeling I’d eventually end up buying one of those passport holders the next time I see it in a foreign bookstore. I also got a Starbucks Hong Kong edition tumbler to add to my collection:

Starbucks Tumblers

Got any good books recently? How about book-related items like mugs or bookmarks?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

28 thoughts on “Book Haul: Hong Kong Edition

  1. The cover of the UK edition of The Scorpio Races is gorgeous. I might have to add it to my collection. I’ve heard a lot of good things about A Confusion of Princes and I’m excited for it to get out of cataloging in my library so I can see for myself.

    • I know, I’ve wanted to get that edition ever since I fell in love with The Scorpio Races last year. Saw UK editions of Maggie Stiefvater’s other books there but I think this one has the best cover. I’m looking forward to reading A Confusion of Princes, I’m a big fan of Garth Nix’s writing in the Abhorsen trilogy.

  2. I LOVE that you got the P&P Penguin mug! All of their products with the classic covers are so iconic. 🙂 I enjoy seeing the UK covers for books as well, I often like them so much better than our American editions. Scorpio Races is no exception.

    • Wendy, I really want to get that passport holder! Even though I don’t get to use my passport as often as I’d like. 😛 I usually like UK covers more than their US counterparts as well, good thing we can order them from the Book Depository.

  3. Oh, that’s an awesome cup! 😀
    And I do like that cover for Scorpio Races a lot more!:D

    Enjoy your books.

    • Thanks Alex! I’m already using the mug here at home. And I’m itching to reread The Scorpio Races just because I have this beautiful UK edition. The red makes it look so vibrant.

  4. Ahhhhh A Confusion of Princes! I hope I can find it in Chinese bookstores here. My trip last month to Hong Kong was book-related too: went to see The Hunger Games and bought The Wise Man’s Fear at Page One. ^_^

    • So you really booked a trip to Hong Kong just to watch the Hunger Games movie? What kind of bookstores do you have in Shanghai? Also, let me know when you receive the postcards that I sent. 🙂

  5. I want to read A CONFUSION OF PRINCES. Nice choice. Love the penguin mug too!

  6. I have been wanting that edition of SCORPIO RACES too! I’m waiting to see what the US paperback winds up looking like tho before choosing tho. I so don’t love the US hardcover image.

    • Michelle, I was tempted to include it in my last Book Depository order so I was thrilled when I saw a copy in Hong Kong. Yeah, I really think the UK cover suits the story better than the US cover.

      • I had to stop back by here and say that I just got my UK copy of SCORPIO RACES today too! La-la-la LOVE it! So pretty. I got it off FishPond for like $5. I think I’m a convert to that site now 🙂

      • *Scorpio Races high five* It’s so pretty, isn’t it? I love how the cover has this smooth texture as well. Oooh so you’ve given Fishpond a try and you’re happy with their service? Hmm I still haven’t decided if I should try ordering from that website.

  7. I love the mug! Hehehehe.

  8. Ooh pretty copy of The Scorpio Races. I need to do a reread of that one soon. And I just bought my own Penguin mug recently; I’ve coveted the Jane Eyre one for years, and was so excited to finally find one. Enjoy your purchases!

    • I have the Jane Eyre mug in the office. A friend sent it as a gift. 🙂 Wish the Pride and Prejudice mug came in a different color, I’d love to have one of the blue or yellow mugs.

  9. Oooh, those Starbucks tumblers are fun, I didn’t realize they had them for various places, but it makes sense! I’m excited to hear what you think of A Confusion of Princes, I’ve been meaning to read more Garth Nix for years.

    • Heidi, you should check out the Starbucks tumblers in the places that you visit in the States! I’m missing a San Francisco tumbler because it was out of stock in all the branches that I visited when I went there. I’ll keep you posted on the Garth Nix book, I hope I can read it soon.

  10. Sorry for the super late reply! It was good that you were able to buy some books while you were in HK, I’m really interested in A Confusion of Princes too – it’s been a while since I’ve read anything by Garth Nix.:)

    • I’m really glad I found that bookstore before we left HK. I was really excited when I saw it, my friends were joking around that it might take me hours to leave the store. 😛 I just started on the Garth Nix, will keep you posted!

  11. I’ve never seen those Starbucks mugs before. Do they have them everywhere? I bet there are some great goodies at the original Starbucks downtown. Next time I’m down at the market, I’ll check out the scene. (I only go once every few months)

    I got your Hong Kong postcards yesterday. THANK YOU!! I love them, especially the Romeo and Juliet Mickey Mouse one–so cute.

    • Flann, Starbucks has tumblers and mugs with designs that vary from one place to another. Oooh wonder what they have in their original branch. Let me know what you see the next time you visit! So you don’t get coffee regularly from Starbucks, huh?

      Yay glad the postcards arrived safely! The ones that I sent to myself are still on their way. The Disney postcards are really cute, wish they had more designs though. 😛

  12. Aw shucks Adorkable is such a hard find you should have gotten it! LOL and just who did give me permission to rant at you? :p Anyway!! I have yet to read that Scorpio Races but I will! I really will haha

  13. Pingback: A Confusion of Princes by Garth Nix | Chachic's Book Nook

  14. I just started collecting the tumblers and hunting the now discontinued US and Canada tumblers! So addicting

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

