Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Holier Than Thou

20 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I really, really want a copy of Laura Buzo’s latest novel, Holier Than Thou. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Good Oil (to be published in the US as Love and Other Perishable Items) from the same author and I liked that it was a cross between YA and New Adult. Looks like Holier Than Thou has older characters and I have a feeling I’ll like it even more! Unfortunately, it’s only available in Australia right now. And like I mentioned in previous posts, I’m still a bit hesitant in trying out Fishpond. I might change my mind soon and if that happens, my credit card will probably suffer. I want so many Aussie titles and if you’ve bought books from the land down under before, you know that they’re more expensive than usual. Anyone coming to the Philippines from Australia anytime soon? πŸ™‚

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Holly Yarkov has a boyfriend who is a gift from the universe. She has a job that fulfils her even as it wears her down. She has a core group of friends from high school. And she has a layer of steel around her heart that is beginning to tarnish. Just as she is reaching for a future she can’t quite see, Holly is borne back into the past by memories of her beloved father, and of the boy-who-might-have-been…

Looks intriguing, right? What about you, what book is in your wishlist? I’ll be out-of-town by the time this post goes up so I won’t be able to reply to comments until I get back. Just thought I’d schedule something while I’m away. Hope you’re all having a lovely weekend!

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

20 thoughts on “Want Books: Holier Than Thou

  1. I so want this book too!!! πŸ™‚ It ought to be awesome

  2. This book is on my Fishpond wishlist, as are This is Shyness by Leanne Hall and its sequel Queen of the Night, which either Cath Crowley or Melina Marchetta recommended on Goodreads. They sound different, but good.

    • Yep, I really want to read Leanne Hall’s books as well. I’ve heard good things about them. Also on my Fishpond wishlist are Shirley Marr’s books. Hmm maybe I should compile a list and make a blog post about it.

  3. Ahhh me too!! By the way, did you see on NetGalley… Good Oil is being re-released under another title? Maybe for a US ed?

  4. I really, really want this one as well. πŸ˜€ I’m grateful that there’s a Fishpondworld out there but still, so expensive.

    • Holly, you’ve tried Fishpond, right? You didn’t encounter any issues with the site? Yeah, Aussie books are expensive. Their paperbacks cost just as much as US or UK hardcovers. Wish they had worldwide releases all the time.

  5. I hope you get this book, Chachic, it is FANTASTIC!

  6. how much is it on fishpond, chachic?i paid $18 for my copy from the shops here. our books are a lot more expensive (actually, pretty much everything is a lot ore expensive here, from food to clothes, dvds, music, etc). i posted a copy to flann, and that cost me $17 to post, so a total of $35 to get it overseas (fishpond probably would have been cheaper to use, i dont know why i didnt think of just sending it to her directly from there *facepalm*)

    anyway, I really truly loved this book and so hope you can get your hands on a copy one day. if you can wait, maybe it will get a US publisher and be out there one day, so much easier to get a hold of

    • Oh wow, that’s really expensive, Nomes! Maybe you can use Fishpond to send Aussie books internationally next time? It’s $16.84 in Fishpond right now, even cheaper than bookstore prices there. I’m sorely tempted to order that and other books right now. My friend who lives in Australia always says that everything is more expensive over there, it’s even cheaper to go to the States.

      I know this book is one of your favorites for this year, that’s one of the reasons why I really want to read it. You know I get my Aussie recs from you, right? πŸ˜›

    • But it made me so happy! And there was CAAAAANDY in there! πŸ™‚

  7. it sounds exactly like the kind of book I am looking for, I’ll check netgalley for Good Oil (New Adult? Yes!)…if you are into australian chick lit check out “Johnny be good” by Paige Toon, I think you will enjoy it, I recently re-read it and cannot stop thinking about it

    • Ari, I think Love and Other Perishable Items is a READ NOW title on Netgalley. And you can order Holier Than Thou through Fishpond (free worldwide shipping) if you’re interested. I’ll look up that Paige Toon title and add it to my wishlist. πŸ™‚

  8. I was 3 for 5 in terms of Fishpond orders but they’re quite good at refunding you or sending you another copy if the previous one you ordered gets lost in the mail. So even though I will primarily be relying on other sources to get books, I think you can give Fishpond.com a go! Aussie books are expensive but I think as long as you’re selective about which ones you order it will be worth it. πŸ™‚

    • Oh yeah, you’ve tried Fishpond several times! Although now I think you’ll be buying more from Book Depository? πŸ˜› Okay then, looks like they have good customer service if they’re willing to refund or send another copy if your order gets lost. Kind of similar to Book Depository’s policy. Just have to figure out what Aussie titles to order if ever. πŸ™‚ I think I can only order one or two at a time.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

