Chachic's Book Nook

Book Haul: Bitterblue, Borrowed Books and Snail Mail

20 Comments

This week’s book haul post includes one of my most anticipated titles in 2012: Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore. I loved both Graceling and Fire so I feel like I’ve been waiting for YEARS for this beauty to be released. And it is beautiful, I’m planning to take pictures of the illustrations included inside so I can post them here. I was also able to borrow two books from my good friend Celina: Hallowed by Cynthia Hand and Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard. This reminds me that I need to post a review of Unearthly soon.

I also picked up a little package from the post office today, check it out:

Yes, my lovelies, that IS mail from the Queen of Aussie YA: Melina Marchetta. Remember when I organized Marchetta Madness back in March? This post briefly mentions a soundtrack for The Piper’s Son. Well, the soundtrack that I received is a playlist for my two favorite Marchetta novels: Jellicoe Road and The Piper’s Son. I think the picture shows the list of songs clearly but here’s a list:

Smokers Outside the Hospital Doors by Editors
Samson by Regina Spektor
How to Make Gravy by Paul Kelly
Here If You Want by The Waifs
London Still by The Waifs
The Blower’s Daughter by Damien Rice
Flame Trees by Cold Chisel
Your Ex-Lover is Dead by Stars
One Crowded Hour by Augie March
Solsbury Hill by Peter Gabriel
Flame Trees by Sarah Blasko
Better Days by Pete Murray
Am I Not Pretty Enough by Casey Chamber
Crazy Train by The Waifs
Opportunity by Pete Murray

The Piper's Son Australian edition with a guitar

I love it! Currently listening to it right now and I suspect I’ll discover some favorites in this soundtrack. Thank you so much, MM. πŸ™‚ You can also check out my friend Jo’s post about Mackee’s Music over at Wear the Old Coat. She talks about the same soundtrack and includes more details about the songs.

Last but not the least, I got some lovely postcards the past few days. The pretty Penguin postcard in the middle is from my pen pal Capillya of That Cover Girl. One is from my officemate when he traveled to Milan and the rest are from Postcrossing.

What about the rest of you, did you get any books recently? What about postcards? πŸ™‚

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

20 thoughts on “Book Haul: Bitterblue, Borrowed Books and Snail Mail

  1. Ah! My music envy for you atm is massive. Thanks for including the track list though, there’s a few on there I love (I actually just included Your Ex-Lover is Dead in a review on Monday), but I’ve never heard the Waifs and CLEARLY I am missing out. Made a Spotify playlist and found all the songs accept for Sarah Blasko’s. Needed a fresh book-related playlist after listening to a Jessica Darling one to death.

    • I never would have found out about the Waifs if not for this playlist. I don’t think I can access Spotify over here because of geographic restrictions? Wait, there’s a Jessica Darling soundtrack? Where can I find it? I don’t think I’ve ever listened to that.

      Have you read Saving June by Hannah Harrington, Heidi? It’s one of my favorite YA contemps and it has a great soundtrack.

      • Boo for geographic restrictions. The Forever YA girls made one on Spotify, but then Megan McCafferty made a Jessica Darling one as well. It’s here.

        I have NOT read Saving June, but I’ve seen it on so many people’s favorites lists for contemp that I really think I ought to! I never really read much contemp before this year, but I’ve really been starting to love it.

      • Thanks for the link! Will check out that Jessica Darling playlist later.

        I mostly read fantasy before I started the blog and only became curious about YA contemps after I fell in love with Jellicoe Road. Now I can’t get enough of it. It’s nice to squeeze in a YA contemp read in between fantasy reads and vice versa. I’d love to know what you think of Saving June so I hope you get to read it soon. πŸ™‚

      • Strangely enough, I went to NetGalley today, and Saving June is available! Think I’ll just get it from the library though so that there aren’t any obligations with it. Still, the timing was funny. =)

      • Really? That is funny! I hope you get to read it soon. πŸ™‚ I never would have found out about that book if not for fellow book bloggers and Goodreads friends.

  2. I am sure you have a lovely nail polish to read Bitterblue in…. I hope you enjoy it!

    • Charlotte, I need to find a color to match with it! I’ve actually finished reading Bitterblue, just letting it sink in before I write a review.

  3. YOU GOT A MIXTAPE FROM MELINA AHHHHH

  4. I don’t know how you’ll like Hallowed, but I think you’ll enjoy Wanderlove. Especially because it’s all about traveling and all. πŸ™‚

    I am so excited to read Bitterblue, but I can’t find a copy yet. No time to look for it yet, maybe when I get back. πŸ™‚

    • I’m keeping my expectations of Hallowed low since I didn’t love Unearthly. I borrowed it from Celina because I’m still a bit curious about Clara and her purpose.

      I saw a copy in National Bookstore! Same price as Powerbooks, P799. Hope you find a copy soon. πŸ™‚

  5. WOW! A mix from Melina Marchetta? So very cool.

    I also got BITTERBLUE today and just started in. It is one of my most anticipated reads for 2012 too so I’m extremely happy to finally get it – although mine is an ARC and doesn’t have all the lovely illustrations like you talked about. Just further confirmation that I *will* be buying a finished copy.

    • Michelle, I’ll post pictures of the illustrations so you can see them! I’m just happy I was able to grab a copy days after its release day. I think local bookstores only ordered a handful of copies. Hope you enjoy reading Bitterblue. πŸ™‚

  6. Nice loot! Postcrossing looks really fun. Where do you get the postcards that you send aside from the penguin and ladybird ones?

    Bitterblue’s out and I haven’t even read fire yet…or Piper’s Son…must do something about it. πŸ™‚ (Oh, I recently got The Queen of Attolia and it’s sooo goood! Haha!) πŸ˜€

    • Tin, are you thinking of signing up for Postcrossing? It really is a lot of fun! I get the postcards that I use in National Bookstore. There are some nice ones that are pretty expensive (P25 each) and I wanted to get some but I just ended up buying the usual P3 kinds that I get. I use philatelic stamps though so those look nicer than ordinary stamps.

      Yes to both Fire and The Piper’s Son! Those are two of my favorites. And yay, it makes me happy that you’re enjoying The Queen of Attolia.

      • Yeah, I’m kind of thinking about signing up. Oh, there are post cards in NBS? That’s great! I’ll go check them out. How much do you normally pay at the postal office whenever you send a postcard?

        Yup, you are so right about the “amazingness” of The Queen of Attolia. πŸ˜€

      • Click here to see some samples of postcards from Natio. And here are some samples of philatelic stamps. If you’re sending postcards within Manila, that’s P7 each. P9 to the provinces and P13 for international.

        Love both QoA and KoA! Those are my favorites in the series. πŸ˜€

  7. Bitterblue was one of my most anticipated reads for the year too! Can’t wait to finally get to read it!

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

