Want Books: Fire and Hemlock

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

Since I talked about Diana Wynne Jones yesterday, I thought it would be fitting to feature one of her books for this week’s Want Books post. I’ve had Fire and Hemlock on my wishlist for a while now. I’ve heard so many reader friends mention that this is one of their favorites and I felt sad when I first found out that it’s out of print. Thankfully, publishers have decided to reissue this well-loved title and I’m hoping I’ll be able to find a copy in local bookstores soon. I’m fond of fairy tale retellings and I’ve yet to find a Tam Lin retelling to love.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Polly has two sets of memories…
One is normal: school, home, friends. The other, stranger memories begin nine years ago, when she was ten and gate-crashed an odd funeral in the mansion near her grandmother’s house. Polly’s just beginning to recall the sometimes marvelous, sometimes frightening adventures she embarked on with Tom Lynn after that. And then she did something terrible, and everything changed.

But what did she do? Why can’t she remember? Polly must uncover the secret, or her true love – and perhaps Polly herself – will be lost.

It looks pretty good, doesn’t it? Can you recommend other Tam Lin retellings? So far, I’ve read Tithe by Holly Black, Winter Rose by Patricia McKillip and The Perilous Gard by Elizabeth Marie Pope. Also, what book is in your wishlist?

10 thoughts on “Want Books: Fire and Hemlock

  1. I actually had to go look up and read the story of Tam Lin after reading this post, because I honestly wasn’t familiar with it. I’m glad to know now, as I’ve wanted to read both this and Tithe, and now I’ll be able to compare them!

    • Heidi, I’m not really familiar with Tam Lin, either. I think I also found out about it by looking up the story after I heard about the retellings. Hope you can borrow a copy of this and Tithe from your library. πŸ™‚

    • Haven’t read Pamela Dean’s retelling but I’ve added it to my wishlist. Fire and Hemlock has been reissued and Celina mentioned that she was able to get a copy from Fully Booked Greenbelt.

  2. I think I heard a song about Tam Lin before I read any of the tellings, actually. I think the only retelling of it that I have read has been Elizabeth Marie Pope’s The Perilous Gard, because everyone and their sister on Sounis recommended it. Fire and Hemlock sounds wonderful, though, so I might have to ILL it or get it through our staff book order at the library I work at (thank goodness for discounts).

    • I got the recommendation for The Perilous Gard from Sounis too! I’ve had my copy since 2007 but wasn’t able to read it until last year. I didn’t love it as much as everyone else did but it was a pretty good read. I think it’s the kind of book that you’ll love if you discovered it as a teen. Hope you get Fire and Hemlock through your library! ILL is inter-library loan, right?

      • I’ll be honest — I didn’t love it as much as everyone else did, either, which is sad, because everyone was gushing over it. I feel kind of left out of the club. Oh, well, not every book is going to be for every reader.

      • That’s okay, we can’t all like the same books even if we have similar tastes. I admit that I don’t love all of the recommendations that I get from Sounis (or even from fellow book bloggers).

  3. Pingback: Book Haul: Diana Wynne Jones Edition | Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: In My Mailbox (64)

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

