About That Night by Julie James

I love Julie James. She’s my favorite contemporary romance author. Not only have I read and reviewed all of her books in my blog, I’ve recommended them to so many friends. Her latest title, About That Night, is part of the FBI/US Attorney series. Some of the characters in the first two books, Something About You and A Lot Like Love have cameos in this installment. I believe her novels are standalones but you’d have a better appreciation of the characters if the books are read in order.

Here’s the summary from Julie James’ website:

About That Night by Julie James coverHE’S PLAYING GAMES.

Though Rylann Pierce tried to fight the sparks she felt for billionaire heir Kyle Rhodes the night they met, their sizzling chemistry was undeniable. But after being stood up on their first date, Rylann never expected to see him again. So when she finds herself face-to-face with Kyle in a courthouse nine years later, she’s stunned. More troubling to the beautiful assistant U.S. attorney is that she’s still wildly attracted to him.

BUT SHE’S MAKING THE RULES.

Just released from prison, Kyle Rhodes isn’t thrilled to be the star witness in a high-profile criminal case — but when Rylann comes knocking at his door, he finds she may be the one lawyer he can’t say no to. Still as gorgeous and sharp-tongued as ever, she lays down the law: she doesn’t mix business with pleasure. But Kyle won’t give up on something he wants — and what he wants is the one woman he’s never forgotten…

Julie James’ novels are so much fun. They’re the book equivalent of chick flicks for me and I really enjoy going through them. The two other novels in the FBI/US Attorney series are romantic suspense and I love how About That Night is more romantic comedy than anything else. I found Kyle such an intriguing character when he was first introduced in his twin sister Jordan’s book, A Lot Like Love. I thought his cyber crime was amusing and I immediately wanted to find out more about the Twitter Terrorist. I enjoyed getting to know him – back when Rylann first meets him as a grad student and later on as the infamous computer genius who managed to shut down Twitter while he was drunk and angry. Similar to his sister Jordan, Kyle isn’t a snob even if he’s heir to his father’s billion-dollar empire. Their parents brought them up to be hardworking and down-to-earth. I thought it was nice that his financial status wasn’t that big of an issue between him and Rylann. I liked that Kyle and Rylann had history together – they only got to hang out that one night but it meant so much to both of them. They’re kind of each other’s “the one who got away” and that nicely sets the stage when they see each other again. When it comes to Julie James’ novels, there’s always plenty of witty banter between her two intelligent main characters. There’s a lot of sarcastic comments and teasing around before the characters even act on their attraction.

What I love about Julie James’ novels is how believable the relationships in her novels are and how it’s easy to relate to her characters even if you don’t have that much in common with them. I think this is because her novels are so detailed. I know next to nothing about hacking into Twitter or being an Assistant US Attorney (I don’t even live in the US) but because Kyle and Rylann are fully fleshed out characters, I found it easy to root for them. Is it just me or are Julie James’ novels getting steamier and steamier? Not that I’m complaining. 😛 It’s just that I’ve noticed that her first two novels have fade to black love scenes and only the FBI/US Attorney novels have more detailed sexytimes. After I finished reading About That Night, I had the same thought I always get after reading a Julie James novel: I want more. I keep wishing there were more books in her back list so I’d have more to read. Sadly, I have to wait until next year for a new book. Looking forward to hearing more details about her next novel. Based on her website, the next one will also be a part of the FBI/US Attorney series but still no news on who the main characters are going to be.

Other reviews:
Smexy Books
Yummy Men Kickass Chicks
Limecello
Rampant Reads

11 thoughts on “About That Night by Julie James

  1. Pingback: About That Night by Julie James | Janicu's Book Blog

  2. Even though it is fun to have a lot of backlists to go through when we find new authors, I think it is just as exciting to have new ones to look forward to. Suddenly, it will be 10 years down the line and you’ll have tons of her books in your pile:) I have another one of these to read. I read the one with the pink dress on the cover and I have the one with purple dress. The thing I can’t handle about her books is that the titles are never really memorable. Here, I’ll name the next few: It Happened Last Week, Quite Like Before, A Love Like No Other. Wrap it up, I’m done.

    • Thanks for putting things in perspective, Flann. 😛 There are times when I obsess about one author but it passes quickly once I realize that I have way too many good books waiting on the TBR pile. It’s so funny that you refer to her books based on the cover design – Nomes did the same thing on Twitter (she said that one of her faves is the pink dress one). The titles are a bit generic, kind of like chick flick titles, noh? I sometimes forget the titles as well and have to look them up on Goodreads. I remember the stories though.

  3. Twitter terrorist? Oh my, that souns terrifying. It also makes me want to get a copy right away to find out more.
    I’m rarely in the mood for contemporary romance, but I was just recently and I ended up not reading one because I had no idea what to choose. I’ll keep this in mind next time the mood strikes, or I’ll just think to ask you for a recommendation. I should have done that in the first place.

    Oh, I thought of one myself. It’s not contemporary since it has ghosts, but it’s loads of fun. Did you happen to read MAybe Next Time by Jennifer Crusie? I was surprised by how much I liked that book.

    • Maja, yep Kyle is also known as the Twitter Terrorist. Seriously, his crime is more hilarious than terrifying. I hope you get to read Julie James’ romantic suspense series soon because I’d like to know what you think of them.

      I don’t think I’m much of a contemporary romance reader but there are certain authors that I do enjoy reading. Send me a message or a tweet when you’re in the mood and I’ll remind you of Julie James. 🙂 You can also give Kristan Higgins a try although I’ve yet to find a book of hers to love. I also enjoy reading contemporary romance with more depth than usual like Sarra Manning’s adult titles.

      I’ve read several Jennifer Crusie titles, my favorite of hers is Bet Me followed by Welcome to Temptation. I haven’t read Maybe This Time though because I’d heard it features ghosts and I’m not really fond of those.

  4. Thanks for the review. The sexytimes are steamier than ever? Lol. This book may not be for me, and not just for that. I’m just waiting for JJ to finish the FBI series and write more comedy, since her first two are my favorites.

    • Aww sorry to hear that, Holly! This one is more romantic comedy, similar to her first two novels but it is a bit steamier. You didn’t enjoy reading her romantic suspense novels?

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

