Want Books: Among Others

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I think it was my good friend Aaron of Guy Gone Geek who first mentioned Jo Walton’s Among Others. I’ve seen other Goodreads friends recommend it after that. I don’t think I’ve ever read anything written by Jo Walton but this one seems like something a genre reader like me would be able to appreciate. From the reviews that I’ve seen, it looks like Among Others is a book about books – the main character is a big reader of sci-fi and fantasy. I haven’t seen it in local bookstores but I heard that it’s available but is a little expensive. I’ll try to find a copy some other way because this is something that I’m really interested in.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Among Others book coverRaised by a half-mad mother who dabbled in magic, Morwenna Phelps found refuge in two worlds. As a child growing up in Wales, she played among the spirits who made their homes in industrial ruins. But her mind found freedom and promise in the science fiction novels that were her closest companions. Then her mother tried to bend the spirits to dark ends, and Mori was forced to confront her in a magical battle that left her crippled – and her twin sister dead.

Fleeing to her father whom she barely knew, Mori was sent to boarding school in England – a place all but devoid of true magic. There, outcast and alone, she tempted fate by doing magic herself, in an attempt to find a circle of like-minded friends. But her magic also drew the attention of her mother, bringing about a reckoning that could no longer be put off…

What about you, what book is in your wishlist? Care to recommend other books that are also about books?

12 thoughts on “Want Books: Among Others

  1. You had me at “boarding school in England.”

    Wanna know what I want? I want the freakin’ library to be open on Sundays, that’s what I want. I started and finished Magic Bites, the first book in the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews and the library is holding the ENTIRE rest of the series hostage behind it’s closed, locked doors. I will storm the library on Monday and wave my library card in the air like a mighty sword and demand that they loan the books to me for three weeks! I shall.

    • Just saw your review of Magic Bites and I left a comment. πŸ˜› I love that you’re enjoying the Kate Daniels series! I remember liking the first two books but I didn’t fall in love with the series until Magic Strikes. But now I’m a big fan and I read anything that Ilona and Gordon write (try their other books too). Hope you manage to grab copies of the next books in the series today.

  2. I didn’t realize this was a book about books – now I’m more excited to receive my copy. Don’t worry, I think I’ll be able to order this book for you – I’ll let you know when I’ve finalized everything.:)

    • Yep, I heard from Aaron that it’s a book about books. πŸ™‚ I have a feeling I’ll really like this because it focuses on SF&F books. Let me know what you think of it when you get to read it. Also, thanks for always coming through for me when there’s a book that I want to order from abroad!

    • Tina, hope you get to read it soon! I asked Celina to order copy for me from Bookcloseouts because I saw that they had bargain copies for this. πŸ˜› Look at us, picking up Aaron’s recs, even if he doesn’t review them.

  3. AHHHHH!!!! I love that book so much I can’t even! I hope you manage to get a copy soon.

    Oh, wait. I’m one of the Goodreads friends, aren’t I? πŸ™‚

  4. I’ve never heard of this before, but it looks pretty great. I love that I always discover new books here, you don’t read what everyone else does and I get to add something slightly unusual to my tbr every time.

    • Maja, recommending under-the-radar books always makes me happy! Even if I haven’t even read them yet. πŸ˜› I think that’s what my Want Books meme is good for – showcasing titles that I’m interested in.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

