Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like candy (or chocolate)

25 Comments

Typewriter

Image from Tumblr

WordPress recently wrote a blog post about how to get more comments and it has some pretty interesting and useful tips. I have to admit that I love receiving blog comments (I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one who feels this way). I’ve talked about comments before and I thought it would be a good idea to revisit the topic. Some of the tips from WordPress and what I think, based on my experiences with my own blog:

Reply to every comment you receive. I reply to all the comments in my blog because I want to show my appreciation when people read my posts and take the time to leave a comment. Also, I think replying to comments encourages more discussion. What I want to add to this is I love bloggers who also reply to comments on their blog. I try to drop by again and check if they replied and if there’s anything else that I can add to the conversation. I love that WordPress now sends notifications when a fellow WordPress blogger replies to one of my comments.

Ask your friends. I don’t ask real life friends to leave comments on my blog but there are times when I’ll send them some links if I feel like I talked about something that they’ll be interested in. It always surprises me when I find out that my friends read my blog. Like when I see them reading something that I’ve reviewed and I ask them where they found out about it, they’d casually say that they saw me recommending it on the blog.

Start conversations. Whenever I put up a non-review post – be it a discussion post or one of the features and memes I participate in – I throw out a question at the end. I’ve noticed that the posts tend to get more comments if I try to engage other people. It’s also a great idea to publish discussion posts about book-related topics from time to time because there’s so much that we can all talk about.

Write a response to another blogger’s post on your blog. Hey, I’m doing it right now with this post. :P This is an excellent way of starting a discussion post – you can link or quote another blogger (or author) and then proceed by letting everyone else know what you think.

Run a contest. Oh yes, giveaways are really popular in the book blogosphere. I’m not sure if it’s really effective in terms of encouraging other readers to follow the blog? My stats do soar whenever I’m holding a giveaway and that post gets a lot of comments but I’m not sure if those who join end up following my blog (I’ve never made it a requirement). I’m sorry if I haven’t had a contest in a while, I pay for the books that I give away and I’m trying not to spend too much on books so I’m not sure when the next giveaway will be.

Make a post out of the best comments from your readers. I haven’t done this yet but it seems like a great idea. I do get several intelligent comments and some of the lengthy ones can stand on their own as blog posts.

Those are my thoughts regarding some of the tips that WordPress provided and here are some of my own suggestions:

Turn off CAPTCHA. Okay, so CAPTCHA won’t really prevent me from commenting but it’s such a nuisance. I’m not a fan of it. Some of the words that turn up are so difficult to decipher, I feel like I’m trying to understand a foreign language. It’s a good idea to make things easier for whoever wants to comment on your blog. My settings only require a person to type in a name and email address, although I’ve heard from some people that WordPress has been having issues about requiring commenters to login (I have no idea how to fix that).

Link to reviews from other bloggers. It’s helpful to followers who want to find out what others think about a certain book. And it’s also helpful to fellow bloggers because their blog gets more exposure that way. When I get a notification that someone has linked to my review, I drop by to check out the post and comment. Make sure you’ve read the reviews before linking to them though.

Link your blog to other social networking sites: Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads. Sometimes, it’s more convenient for other people to comment on those venues. Like I said, anything that makes it easier for followers to comment is a good thing.

I feel like this is something that all bloggers can relate to so please share your ideas. Do you agree or disagree with the things that I’ve said? Do you have any tips on how to get more comments?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

25 thoughts on “Comments are like candy (or chocolate)

  1. I think my weak spot is actually commenting on other people’s blogs. I enjoy their posts, but often get busy or forget to actually click through, even though I love getting comments and wish I could get more.

    • If the posts that you read are in WordPress, you can always click the like button instead of leaving a comment? I’m a serial commenter because I know how much bloggers appreciate comments. Also, I think that’s one of the reasons why my own blog posts get comments.

  2. Mmm, comments—er, chocolate–er both! :) I just had to comment on this post haha. Where I struggle is that I do a lot of my blog reading through my Google Reader so I have to make an effort to remind myself to go to the actual site and leave a note. I know comments make my day so I try to spread that around! –Noelle

    • Yes to comments and chocolates! :D Me too, I use Google Reader to follow other blogs and I only click through posts that I’m interested in so I can leave comments. What I usually do is right click on Google Reader and just open a new tab for that post. LOL I can’t think of an easier way to go about it.

  3. And of course, the ever-popular tip: tell people how much you love comments! Who can resist!

    Have a super day. :-)

    • Oh I think it’s common knowledge that bloggers love receiving comments. :P It shows us that other people are interested in what we’ve posted.

      • It wasn’t until I became a blogger myself that I came to understand the sheer wonderfulness that is comment-luv. :-) May your blog bring you even more every day!

  4. I hate captcha too

  5. I agree with everything you said on this post. I also LOVE receiving comments on by blog posts, but since I’m just somewhat a newbie to this book blogging, I don’t get to have much comments yet, hihi! I comment on other blogs, too! But sometimes, it’s hard to comment on a review if the book doesn’t interest you, or if you cannot relate to a discussion.

    • Keep on commenting on the blogs that you follow because that encourages other bloggers to visit your site. :P I agree, I usually only comment on reviews about books that I’ve read or those that are on my wishlist because otherwise, I feel like I don’t have anything substantial to contribute.

  6. I am stil not quite used to being able to responding to comments individually! But I am trying…

    I think it’s easier to get comments for books for older readers than it is to get comments on reviews of kids books, because, like Rhin pointed out above, the actually readers who are interested will comment more!

    I am sad when I see (when Blogcounter is working properly) people who have spend ages on my blog, and looked at twenty or even thirty reviews (mostly these are time travel ones) and then don’t comment on any of them. It baffles me.

    • Ah yes, Blogger now has threaded comments. I’m sure you’ll get the hang of it soon. :)

      Does that mean you get more comments for YA reviews than MG reviews? I didn’t think there’d be a big difference because there are so many MG readers and bloggers out there.

      Aww I’d feel the same way if I had a way of keeping track of how long people view my posts! I wonder why they don’t feel the need to comment when they’ve browsed through several of your reviews?

  7. I love comments but I try not to let a lack of them bother me. For one I know a lot of people who read my blog are other moms and they are a: busy and b: don’t have blogs of their own and so don’t really realize commenting is an option.

    CAPTCHA: SO ANNOYING!!! It won’t keep me from commenting either but it will cause me to roll my eyes. And it plus moderator approval before a comment posts completely baffles me. Paranoid much?

    • Okay so I realize I made it sound like I think people who aren’t moms are not as busy. I didn’t mean it that way, sorry! I know I was plenty busy before I had kids too. It is just then I was only thinking about my busyness whereas when you are mom you are thinking about you+your kids busyness and it tends to make you FEEL more frazzled and with less time.

    • Ah yes, followers who are super busy and those who don’t have their own blog probably wouldn’t comment. I do get comments from non-bloggers from time to time but that’s rare.

      LOL Captcha is really frustrating, isn’t it? I wish bloggers would just turn it off if there’s really no need for it. Doesn’t Blogger have a spam catcher like WordPress does?

  8. I like your association of comments to candy/chocolate. It’s really such a joy to receive them! The comments I mean. :D The blogs I frequent are usually the ones who would take time to reply to my comments. And joining reading challenges could also generate some comments on your blog. :)

    • Yep, comments are really like chocolates and candy. We all like getting them! :P Most of the bloggers I follow also reply to the comments that I leave in their posts. I agree about reading challenges, too bad I didn’t sign up for any challenge this year.

  9. I saw this from wordpress as well and think that and your post it great. I rarely get comments *sad face*. I guess Im just a much smaller blog with less readers but its always a little upsetting when no one comments on a post or review you spent a while on!

    I mostly get sad when its an author interview or illustrator interview, where I feature their work because if I’ve sought them out and asked for them to take part its because I love their work and really want to share their writing or art with everyone else.

    I agree with replying to comments you get – I try to do that but sometimes I don’t remember or get the time. I’ve been trying to comment more on other blogs but so many times blogger word verification just won’t accept it! Drives me nutty lol!

    • Amy, I used to get sad when I don’t get comments in my posts but I figured people are probably just too busy to comment. It is a bit frustrating when you’ve put a lot of work into a post – like reaching out to authors or illustrators – and it doesn’t get the attention it deserves. I don’t know what to do about that though. My blog doesn’t have a huge following either and I’ve gotten used to that – at least this way I can still reply to all the comments in my posts. :P LOL I think WordPress also has some tips on how to get more followers if you want to check that out.

      Sometimes I have a hard time replying to all comments too, especially when I’m hosting a week-long celebration like Marchetta Madness or Queen’s Thief Week because I put up two posts a day during that time. I still do my best though because I love it when people come back to reply again and we get to have a conversation.

  10. I think all of these are awesome advice and I so agree with the CAPCHA thing! it’s so annoying. Sometimes in the morning when I’m still bleary eyed I can’t even see what the words are and it’s just a pain

    • I don’t think anyone is fond of Captcha! I’m glad WordPress has a great spam catcher and I don’t have to worry about installing something like Captcha on my blog. I probably won’t get as many comments if that happens. :P

  11. I really liked reading your thoughts about comments, C. I love how you reply to every comment and I’ve been trying to do that more often. I LOATHE Captcha and several times I have given up commenting because I’ll mess it up three times in a row or the page will refresh and my comments will be lost. I really wish everyone would turn it off:-( I agree with your comment about leaving open-ended questions at the end of posts and reviews. I love doing that and I definitely find that more people comment and start a discussion when there are questions for them to answer. Great post!

    • Yes, exactly! There are times when a comment that I’ve typed gets lost because of Captcha, it’s so annoying. It’s funny because we all agree that it’s a good idea to turn of Captcha but so many bloggers still use it. I wonder why?

      I try to end my posts in questions so there’s something that readers can answer when they comment. Otherwise, I think people find it a bit harder to come up with a comment. I’m all for making it easier for everyone to leave comments. :P

  12. Pingback: My Commenting Habits | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,243 other followers