The Lizzie Bennet Diaries: Pride and Prejudice Vlog Retelling

Pride and Prejudice is my favorite Jane Austen novel so I was immediately curious when I first heard of the Lizzie Bennet Diaries from my friend Janice. It’s a modern-day Pride and Prejudice retelling, told in vlog format from Lizzie’s point of view. In this version, Lizzie is a twenty-four-year-old grad student living with her parents and her two sisters, Jane and Lydia. With the help of her best friend Charlotte Lu, Lizzie has recently decided to start a video diary. Her jump off topic? How Mrs. Bennet is determined to marry off her daughters to rich, young men. It’s an intriguing take on a beloved story and I can’t wait to watch the next videos. I think the actresses that they’ve chosen for the literary characters are pretty spot-on, so far. Wonder if they’ll show the heroes in future installments?

Here’s the first video if you haven’t seen it yet:

Hank Green, who produced this series together with Bernie Su, talks about the project in this post. Links to the next two episodes (fourth one will be up soon, I think):

My Sisters: Problematic to Practically Perfect
My Parents: Opposingly Supportive

I think the ones that have been uploaded are pretty hilarious. What do you guys think of this? Do you agree that it’s a fun way of retelling a well-known classic?

19 thoughts on “The Lizzie Bennet Diaries: Pride and Prejudice Vlog Retelling

  1. This is such a unique idea! I never heard something like this before. I will check it tomorrow (as it’s midnight now) and I know I will have a lot of fun.

  2. Okay, this does sound pretty cool and I like the tone of the videos and everything. But why do they always knock off Mary and Kitty? WHY?
    That always takes off points of any P&P adaptation. πŸ™‚

  3. HA! That is too funny! Thanks for sharing. I love that it’s a bit like Olive’s diary from EASY A. LOVE that movie too. Can’t wait to watch all the episodes.

    • Hey Michelle, you have a point there. The vlogs are pretty similar to Easy A (and yep, loved that movie as well). Thanks for linking to my blog when you announced the Lizzie Bennet Diaries on your own blog. πŸ™‚

  4. Too cool! I haven’t read a Jane Austen myself. I can’t take all those gossip! Hehehehe. But the vlog is a nice take on this work. Yes, I’m familiar with the storyline of Pride and Prejudice as I saw the movie! Hehehehe.

    • Aww Peter, sorry to hear you don’t enjoy reading Jane Austen. But since you’re familiar with the story, I still hope you enjoy watching the vlogs. πŸ™‚ What movie did you see, by the way, the BBC mini-series (with Colin Firth) or the 2005 film (with Matthew Macfadyen)?

  5. Omg this is so cool! All the women in my family are obsessed with the book (even my grandmother), and we’ve watched all the film and TV adaptations. I wouldn’t have found this if not for this post. Thank you so much for the heads up! Can’t wait to go home and watch this!

    • Oh wow, so nice that you share the enthusiasm for P&P with the rest of the womenfolk in your family. The BBC mini-series if even better than the 2005 movie, right? (side note: if you liked that adaptation, you should check out BBC’s North and South too)

      • I personally love the BBC mini-series best (though the 1940 and 1980 were amazing as well), but my grandmother and my mother are all for Matthew Macfadyen. Oh well. I’ve heard so much about North and South and this guy they call Richard Armitage. I’m really curious but I’m still wondering if I should read the book first!

      • North and South is one of those TV shows/movies where I didn’t feel the need to read the book before watching it. πŸ˜› I still haven’t read the book but I love the BBC mini-series.

    • Yes, it’s been great so far! I’ve been telling even my real life friends about this. Yeah, I want to know if Bing Lee and Darcy will be shown in future episdodes.

  6. I don’t know how I feel about this. I watched it and though I love the Hank/John Green vlogs, sometimes it drives me crazy how quickly they talk. Lizzie speaks pretty quickly in this and I wanted to stop watching it:-/ It was just tons of editing and quick talking–barf. Also, why are they both wearing so much blush?

    • Flann, you do have a point there. The way Lizzie speaks reminds me of how Hank and John blog – they all speak quickly and there’s a lot of editing involved. Sorry to hear you’re not liking this vlog series. 😦 I did notice that the girls are wearing more makeup than I imagine Lizzie or Jane would wear (it’s not surprising when it’s Lydia).

  7. Pingback: I think you should watch the Lizzie Bennet Diaries | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

