Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: Unearthly and Nail Polish

27 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

Since several of you liked my previous Shoot That Book nail polish post, I thought I’d do something similar this week. I used the same brand that changes color when it’s cold. It’s a Korean brand called Dear Rus. Here’s a light purple color that perfectly matches the cover of Unearthly, the next book that I’ll be reading along with friends Janice of Janicu’s Book Blog and Holly of Book Harbinger:

Unearthly cover with matching nail polish

Thanks again to my friend Celina for giving me a copy of this book! I’ve heard good things about Unearthly so I’m looking forward to reading it. It’s funny because it’s summer over here in the Philippines and it’s extremely hot, reaching 35 degrees Celsius (95 in Fahrenheit). So I kept dipping my hands in cold water so I can take a picture of what the nail polish looks like when it’s cold but the moment I remove my hands from the water, it reverts back to its usual color. Here’s the best that I could do:

Nail polish that matches Unearthly

It changes to a darker blue shade. How about the rest of you, care to share nail polish + book pictures? Holly showed me this the other day. And what’s the weather like where you’re located?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds, first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick as in a baby chicken.

27 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Unearthly and Nail Polish

  1. Unearthly is hands down one of my favorite YA angel books in existence… found it to be extremely well done. I hope you enjoy! My nails are currently bare so no picture. :)
    Wow! That’s super hot where you are. It’s mid 60′s here and really nice but it was snowing less than a week ago. :D

    • Bonnie, I don’t usually read paranormal YA but I’m making an exception for this one since it’s been recommended by several friends (and I received a copy for my birthday). :P

      Yep, it’s always hot over here! More so now that it’s summertime. Oh wow, wish we could have some of that nice, cool weather that you’re experiencing.

  2. Lovely, Chachic!

    I took one the other day with A Temptation of Angels y Michelle Zink, I did my nails navy blue with gold glitter ;)

  3. I can see the darker blue – actually it looks cool – like it’s ombre in that picture. This reminds me I need to check this book out from the library! :O

    • Glad you could see the darker blue! It took me several shots before I could come up with a picture that shows the color change. Just let us know when you have a copy of the book, no need to rush for our readalong. We can start anytime. :P

  4. I have absolutely no time to do my nails recently. I want pretty nails too.

    But I’m so excited you three will be reading Unearthly. I really hope you like it! :)

    • Try the Korean brands for nail polish, that’s what I’ve been using lately. :P I think I need to erase the one that I have on now because it’s starting to chip.

      I hope we all end up liking it! :)

  5. That nail polish! WANT! I’ll have to track it down before I read Unearthly. :)

  6. I don’t know what I’m more excited about – the nail polish (love the color!) or the fact that you are going to read Unearthly already.:)

    • It was such a coincidence that the light purple color matched the cover of Unearthly. Of course, I had to take pictures. Thanks again for giving me a copy, I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll enjoy reading it. I know how much you liked it. :)

  7. Very nice! I’d play along, but I don’t own any nail polish, nor do own the nail polish remover I’d need when it looked like heck an hour later!

    • Charlotte, you don’t like using nail polish? I only started getting into it last year. Before that, I’d only get a manicure for formal occasions. And yes, don’t put nail polish on if you don’t have a bottle of remover. :P

  8. Ooooh, that’s a really pretty purplish-blue shade, and it goes very nicely with Unearthly! Hope you enjoy the book – it has a really sweet romance :)

    • Danya, I hope so too! I’m a little worried that I won’t like it because I’m really not a fan of paranormal YA but so many friends gave this positive reviews so I’m willing to take a chance. Plus, readalongs are always fun. :)

  9. I liked UNEARTHLY pretty well — more than I expected to actually. I’m excited to hear about your next read-a-long.

    I do like your recent trend of matching nail polish with the books you read. Very festive!

    • Michelle, that’s good news! I hope I end up liking it just as much. We haven’t settled on a date for the readalong but we’re going to start reading Unearthly soon.

      I’m just glad you don’t think it’s silly! I think matching nail polish with covers is fun but I was worried you guys might not agree with me. :P

  10. I love that you have color changing nail polish! I haven’t had color changing anything since like the early 90s. :P

    It matches perfectly! I hope you ladies end up liking Unearthly, I love it, but I’m a bit biased being from Wyoming. Love Holly’s Hex Hall pic too (I just finished that series this week myself).

    • LOL I can’t remember the last time I had a color changing thing aside from nail polish. One friend mentioned that they’re kind of like mood rings that come in different shades.

      We’ll keep you posted through our Goodreads updates. :P I think Holly’s nails look pretty too.

  11. I love the color changing nail polish too! Pretty! And man the finish on those books is just gorgeous.

  12. Pingback: Shoot That Book: Reading in Coffee Shops | Chachic's Book Nook

  13. Pingback: Shoot That Book: Hallowed | Chachic's Book Nook

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,239 other followers