Chachic's Book Nook

Somebody to Love by Kristan Higgins

9 Comments

Somebody to Love is Kristan Higgins’ latest, which I got to read in advance thanks to NetGalley. I heard from a friend that it would be better to read Catch of the Day before this one because the couple in that book reappears here. I agree, much better to find out how Maggie and Malone got together first. The main characters in The Next Best Thing also show up in Somebody to Love, they’re good friends of Parker so you might want to pick that up as well if you’re particular about that kind of thing. Although, I don’t think it’s necessary and I still haven’t read The Next Best Thing.

Here’s the summary from Kristan Higgins’ website:

After her father loses the family fortune in an insider-trading scheme, single mom Parker Welles is faced with some hard decisions. First order of business: go to Gideon’s Cove, Maine, to sell the only thing she now owns — a decrepit house in need of some serious flipping. When her father’s wingman, James Cahill, asks to go with her, she’s not thrilled… even if he is fairly gorgeous and knows his way around a toolbox.

Having to fend for herself for the first time in her life, Parker signs on as a florist’s assistant and starts to find out who she really is. Maybe James isn’t the glib lawyer she always thought he was. And maybe the house isn’t the only thing that needs a little TLC…

I’m liking the dual POVs in Kristan Higgins’ most recent novels – this one and Until There Was You. It’s nice knowing what the two main characters are thinking while the story unfolds. I found it funny that even though Parker chose to be a children’s author, she finds her own characters sickeningly sweet. She’s an heiress so she really doesn’t need to work and was beyond surprised when her series became popular. She donates what she earns from her books to charity because she doesn’t really need the money. You’d expect someone like Parker to be spoiled rotten but she isn’t. So it’s not surprising that she’s willing to do what it takes to survive (financially speaking) when she discovers that her father loses all of their family’s money – including her trust fund. Enter one of her father’s minions, James Cahill a.k.a. Thing One. In Parker’s eyes, James is just a slick lawyer willing to do her father’s bidding. She doesn’t realize that there’s much more to James than that. I liked the tension between these two. Parker doesn’t think highly of James at the start but slowly changes her mind as they work together. Kristan Higgins’ does a great job of developing the romance between her characters, letting them get to know each other first before they’re willing to admit that they’re attracted to each other.

Kristan Higgins’ novels are light and fun – perfect reads for the hot summer weather that we’re having lately. Like her other books, Somebody to Love would make a really good beach read. Even though I enjoy reading her novels, there’s always something that puts me off and prevents me from really loving them. In her other novels that I’ve read, it was heroines being too desperate to find THE ONE. It was frustrating for me because I couldn’t relate to the desperation involved in finding the right guy – hey, I’m single and you don’t see me wallowing in my loneliness. In Somebody to Love, I got really frustrated that bad things kept happening to James. I mean he’s a really good guy but people in his life kept blaming him when he’s really not at fault. I found it annoying that Parker found it easy to think negatively of James and to hold him responsible for things that are beyond his control. I would have liked Parker to have been more understanding. I still found Somebody to Love an enjoyable read and would recommend it to anyone who wants a taste of contemporary romance. It’s just that I’ve yet to find a Kristan Higgins novel to love (as much as I love Julie James’ books).

Other reviews:
One More Page
A Girl, Books and Other Things
Reading Tsinoy
The Sweet Bookshelf

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

9 thoughts on “Somebody to Love by Kristan Higgins

  1. Thanks for the review, Chachic. I’ve always wanted to get into Kristan Higgins after seeing yours and Tina’s reviews. Always wondered which book would be a good place tos tart.

    • Thanks for checking out my review, Chris! All of Kristan Higgins’ novels are standalalones so you can take your pick based on what premise is the most intriguing for you. 🙂 Although like I mentioned here, it would be better if you read Catch of the Day before this one.

  2. I have a question, C. I’ve been reading all the reviews you write about KH and a few other reviewers as well. Is she romance, chick lit, or what? I think you might’ve told me a readalike author before but I can’t remember who it was.

    • Flann, I think she’s chick lit? But like I said on Twitter, I honestly don’t know the different between contemporary romance and chick lit and I think of them as the same thing. Kristan Higgins’ novels have fade to black love scenes though, if that would help you decide where to classify her work.

    • I think it may be more like mild contemporary romance. I’m not an expert though. 🙂

  3. Aww, I’m sorry you haven’t found one that you loved yet. What did you think of Catch of the Day? Or is there a upcoming review I can wait patiently for. 😉 Which has been your favorite KH so far?

    • Holly, I don’t think I’ll be reviewing Catch of the Day. I really liked it at the start but then Maggie became one of those Kristan Higgins’ heroines that got on my nerves because she keeps focusing on finding a guy to settle down with.

      Hmm the KH books that I’ve enjoyed the most are probably the ones that have dual POVs so this one and Until There Was You. What about you, do you have a favorite KH?

      • Until There Was You, but it’s the only KH I actually finished. I didn’t get far into Catch of the Day and I abandoned All I Ever Wanted after 70 pages or so. I think I’ll like dual perspectives best. Maybe I should just skip to Somebody to Love?

      • Sorry to hear you couldn’t get into both Catch of the Day and All I Ever Wanted! Just curious, what made you put them down? I think it’s okay if you want to skip to this one since I remember reading reviews saying that they went straight to Somebody to Love without reading the companion novels and they liked it well enough.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

