Want Books: Banner of the Damned

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I’m a fan of Sherwood Smith’s writing. I’ve read most of the books that she’s written and my favorites are Crown Duel (along with its companion novel, A Stranger to Command, and the short stories about Mel’s children) and the Sasharia en Garde duology. Banner of the Damned is set in the same world, in a different location and hundreds of years earlier. Sadly, it’s not available in local bookstores. I’m thinking of ordering it from the Book Depository but it’s a bit pricey at $25.95. I’m still trying to decide if I want it bad enough or if I should wait for the paperback to be released.

Here’s the summary from Sherwood Smith’s website:

Princess Lasva, justly famed across the continent for her style, lives for love. Unfortunately, princesses do not have the luxury of choosing love over politics. Thus she finds herself on the other side of the continent, newly wed to the prince of Marloven Hesea, a kingdom very, very different from Colend, her homeland.

Emras, Lasva’s personal scribe, is ordered by Colend’s queen to watch for signs of Norsunder’s magic, as there are dire rumors about Marloven Hesea. But Emras knows nothing about magic, and the mages she consults scold her for not going through proper channels

So when Emras finds a willing tutor, and Lasva tries to use Colendi diplomacy to avert Marloven war, life gets really complicated. That’s before the real threat emerges.

What about you, what book is in your wishlist?

12 thoughts on “Want Books: Banner of the Damned

  1. Would you believe I still haven’t read a Sherwood Smith book yet, Chachic? Please don’t ban me from your site! I know you’re a big fan of this author so I thought of you since she was just signing in my neck of the woods last weekend.

    I’m sorry this one is so expensive for you. 😦 Hopefully the price will drop soon.

    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

    • Wendy, of course we’re still friends! Goodness knows I still haven’t read so many of your wonderful recommendations. πŸ˜› Lucky you, living so near a new Mysterious Galaxy branch. I have a feeling you’ll be attending lots of book signings there.

      I think Sherwood’s books are usually expensive when they first come out in hardcover because they’re so thick, this one is 700 pages. I’ll probably just wait for the paperback.

  2. Sherwood Smith is another one of those authors that just kind of flew over my head, but who I constantly hear wonderful things about. Good luck holding on for the paperback! I’m still hankering for Magic Strikes, which I’ve had on hold for well over a month, but I need to suck it up and just buy it. I’m super poor and barely employed atm, so I try not to spend money on ‘fun’ things when I could get them from the library, but it’s gonna happen. πŸ˜›

    • Sorry to hear you’re barely employed, Heidi! I hope you get moved up the list in the library? 😦 If we lived in the area, I’d totally let you borrow my copy of Magic Strikes. And I hope you get to read a Sherwood Smith novel soon, I recommend Crown Duel since that’s her most popular book and it’s one of my favorites. πŸ™‚

      • Thanks for the suggestion, Chachic! I will check out Crown Duel. I’m cat sitting this weekend for a friend who happens to live by the one library in the county that has Magic Strikes on the shelf, so I plan to go by and pick it up while I’m taking care of animals. =)

        And yeah, I’m just waiting for my placement at the moment as far as the county library list goes. It’s frustrating having to wait so long for a score on the test (been waiting since mid-February).

      • Yay! Hope you finally get that copy of Magic Strikes. That was the book that made me fall in love with the series. Grab Magic Bleeds while you’re at it, I’m sure you’ll want to read it right after the third installment.

        Oh wow, you’ve been waiting since February? Sucks that it’s taking so long. I hope you hear from them soon so you wouldn’t have to worry about getting a job.

  3. Oh, I ordered Banner of the Damned this week and it came in! But alas! It looks like I really should reread INDA & read INDA’s sequels before I tackle this one. (I purchased but never read Inda’s sequels, and it’s been so long, I should read Inda again first.) That’s all a huge project, but now I’ve got built into my system reading books I own, so I really hope it will happen before too long.

    • It’s been so long since I read the Inda books, I don’t even remember the details anymore. I think we don’t have to reread them to start Banner of the Damned because it’s a standalone? And it’s set hundreds of years later than Inda.

      Yep, I’m trying to do the same thing – read books that are already on my TBR pile instead of buying new ones. πŸ˜›

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

