Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: The Gabriel Hounds

17 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

Shoot That Book nail polish edition is back! See, I have this thing of taking pictures of my nail polish with a book cover that matches it. I know it’s a bit silly but I think it’s fun. Click here to view previous photos. The nail polish colors that I’m wearing in these pictures were actually just borrowed from my officemate. I think the light blue, kind of aqua tones go well with the pretty cover design of The Gabriel Hounds by Mary Stewart. I am ashamed to admit that I haven’t read this book but I hope to do so soon.

What’s great about this special nail polish is it changes color depending on temperature. See what happens when I dip my hands in cold water:

Pretty cool, huh? I’m no longer wearing these shades but I’ll keep you guys posted the next time I have nail polish on – if I manage to find a book cover to match it. Also, I think I’m getting better at putting on my own polish (a lot cheaper than going to a salon to get a manicure).

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

17 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: The Gabriel Hounds

  1. I normally don’t wear nail polish, but this one sounds so interesting. It changes colors according to the temperature, you say? Amazing!!

    • I only started wearing nail polish last year, I figured it was fun to try out cute colors. Before that, I think I only wore the during formal occasions like the prom or grad ball.

  2. Haha, I’m actually looking forward to the next nail polish colors you’ll be wearing. I love these (esp the second set) — I used to wear a lot of grey from Urban Decay LOL.

    • LOL Chris, good to know that you’re interested in seeing my next nail polish color. I’ll probably stick to just one to keep things simple. Dark gray looks nice, I think that’s even better than black. 😛

  3. :O I think you need to tell us what brand that nailpolish is! I am in love with the blue/grey one.

    • It’s a Korean brand called Dear Rus! I just borrowed this set from my officemate but I asked her to get a different shade for me. Will put that on and find a cover to match. 😛

  4. I love the colors! I think I need to revive my fondness for nail polishes. But, ugh, I am often in-charge of dish washing. D: And what kind of nail polish was that? Changes when the temperature does? Spiiiilllll! 😀

    • See my reply to the comment above. 😛 Maybe you can put several coats on? Like three coats of nail polish and then a topcoat so it won’t fade even when you washes dishes. Although most of the time, my nail polish lasts only a week or so. I erase it once it starts chipping.

  5. wow, that is cool! Your fingers look so lovely with the book cover! I don’t think I’ve ever tried to match what I’m reading like that–maybe when I re-read Consipracy of Kings in public I’ll wear black, with gold filagree jewelry, and nailpolish/lipstick of the same shade as Costis’ shirt…I think that would make me a rather nice accessory to the lovely book!

    This is only something, of course, that would work with books whose covers made an effort to look stylish.

    • Yay, glad you think I chose the right book cover for this color scheme. 🙂 You should definitely take a picture if you ever dress up to match the cover of A Conspiracy of Kings, would love to see that. It’s hard to find a nail polish color that matches MWT’s books, they’re mostly black? Or maybe blue for The Thief, green for QoA and pink for KoA.

      Yep, this would only work for pretty book covers.

  6. Great post, Chachic! I do the same thing, coordinating my nail polish with my books 🙂

  7. i love the nail polish .weeeeeeeeeeee

  8. Love the nail polish! Would you know where it’s available?

  9. Pingback: Shoot That Book: Unearthly and Nail Polish | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

