Chachic's Book Nook

Mina V. Esguerra’s Latest Novel: That Kind of Guy

22 Comments

If you’ve been following my blog for a while then you probably know that Mina V. Esguerra is my favorite Filipino chick lit author. I’ve featured her books several times and even managed to convince other readers to read her novellas. Her latest Summit Book, That Kind of Guy, now has a cover! I believe this is a companion novel to No Strings Attached and will be released sometime this April. I like the title – I think it has a romantic comedy feel to it. And I love that the girl on the cover is holding a book. ๐Ÿ˜›

The summary from the back cover:

Good girl Julie never expected her hot former-player boyfriend to propose marriage. But when he did, she turned him down for reasons even she couldn’t figure out. Will she settle for a nice, safe guy instead? Or will she let him find his way back into her carefully guarded heart?

Can’t wait to meet Julie and find out if she’s a bookworm. Mina is hosting a giveaway and these are the mechanics for it: Post something cute/interesting/revealing/scandalous (maybe not scandalous) on your blog about the topic “My Kind of Guy.”

So I don’t really think I have a type but I’d love to date a guy who shares some of my interests – someone who likes to read, travel and try different restaurants around the Metro. Having things in common would definitely make it easier for us to connect. He doesn’t have to read the same kind of books that I do, I think it would just be nice if he’s a reader as well. Or if he’s not a reader, he understands how crazy excited I can be about books, would patiently listen if I want to rant or rave about a book and would be okay with the idea that there are times when I’d rather stay at home and read than go out. Also, it would be nice to receive bookish presents. Or he can do what some of my friends do – either they ask for a wishlist before my birthday or they go with me to a bookstore, let me pick a book that I want and then just pay for it. There are so many other characteristics that I can enumerate about my kind of guy but these are the ones that I choose to highlight because I’m posting it here, in my book blog. I also wouldn’t mind dating some of these fictional crushes:

Lucas from Fairy Tale Fail by Mina V. Esguerra
Gen from the Queen’s Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner
Jonah Griggs from Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
Vidanric from Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith
Bran from Son of the Shadows by Juliet Marillier
Brigan from Fire by Kristin Cashore
Curran from the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews

Care to share some tidbits of information about your kind of guy? Or what about some of your literary crushes? Are you as excited as I am for Mina’s latest book?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /หˆtสƒษ‘หtสƒษชk/ is pronounced with hard โ€œchโ€ sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

22 thoughts on “Mina V. Esguerra’s Latest Novel: That Kind of Guy

  1. I love this post Chachic ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s such a reader’s wishlist! I think we can all agree on the attributes you’ve listed here, haha. I hope you find this guy someday!

    • Catie, I had a feeling most blog readers would be able to relate to this post. ๐Ÿ˜› I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the right guy will turn up eventually.

  2. Definitely excited about the book, Chachic! (And Lucas! Gen! Bran! JONAH!)

  3. Haha, I love that reading, traveling and food are both on our lists. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Oh you know what, I wouldn’t mind dating Brigan from Fire, too. ๐Ÿ˜€ And of course, Lucas! โค

    • Just goes to show what our own interests are. ๐Ÿ˜› I couldn’t resist mentioning a few of my fictional crushes in this post, seemed appropriate. Can’t wait to read Mina’s latest!

  4. I think I might be a bit creeped out if a guy read all the same books as I did:) I mean boy problems in high school? Sexy fairies? Might be a bit awkward lol. I love your list, though, and agree that bookish presents and dating a guy who reads would be amazing.

    • Ha! You do have a point there, Flann. ๐Ÿ˜› It would be nice to date a reader though because we’d convince each other books that we normally wouldn’t read. And yep, it’s always nice to receive bookish presents.

  5. I love this post, Chachic, it’s cute and fun! I agree with Flannery though, I’m happy to have a guy who does like to read, but I’m glad that our tastes don’t overlap 100% . That would be awkward at times. ๐Ÿ˜›

    I’m glad my boyfriend challenges me to read outside my own box, if it weren’t for him, I never would have picked up a graphic novel, and I now love them. Also atm I’m totally crushing on Gilbert Blythe…rereading Anne of Green Gables for the win!

    • Heidi, I had fun doing this post and it doesn’t hurt that I won a copy of Mina’s latest novel. So glad Flannery pointed out that it would be weird for a guy to read the same kinds of books that I do (considering that I mostly read novels written by female authors). I should have realized that earlier. ๐Ÿ˜›

      I think it’s cute that you read the books that your boyfriend recommends. I’m not much of a graphic novel reader either but I do try them from time to time (I’m currently in the middle of a Filipino urban fantasy series of graphic novels and I think it’s awesome so far). Have you managed to convince him to read some of the books that you love?

      • Well, I did overhear him saying to several of our guy friends the other night that he kind of wants to read Hunger Games now. My jaw dropped, and I tried not to get too enthusiastic. He did read The Handmaid’s Tale for me, and started Game of Thrones, but I think because the HBO series is so good laziness will win out and he’ll just watch it. He doesn’t tend to like books by female authors, but the fact that he tries means a lot!

      • I hope he does read the Hunger Games and the next two books as well. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s sweet that he’s trying to read the books written by female authors based on your recommendations. I enjoy watching the Game of Thrones TV series but I don’t plan on reading the novels – they’re too long and I’ve seen mixed reviews.

  6. Will it be a print or ebook release? *crosses fingers for ebook* ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the update!

  7. Pingback: Book Haul: Guys, Girls and Postcards | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: That Kind of Guy by Mina V. Esguerra | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: That Kind of Guy by Mina V. Esguerra | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

