Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: Tom and Adam

6 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

I reread The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta last week and it’s still as amazing as I remembered. I also recently reviewed Where She Went by Gayle Forman and was reminded yet again that both Tom Mackee and Adam Wilde are music-lovers who are excellent guitar players. So I thought it would be a good idea to feature both books in a guitar-oriented Shoot That Book post.

The Piper's Son and Where She Went with a guitar

It would have been better if Where She Went’s cover has Adam in it, noh? And I couldn’t resist taking more pictures of the Australian edition of The Piper’s Son so here’s another shot:

The Piper's Son Australian edition with a guitar

Also, in case you missed the announcement, this is what the US paperback of The Piper’s Son will look like:

US paperback for The Piper's Son

I have a feeling I’ll be grabbing a copy of that if I see it in local bookstores.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

6 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Tom and Adam

  1. These posts are always so fun, Chachic! And so appropriate for the books. But whose guitar is that? Are you hiding secret musical talents?

    I must say, I’m not a big fan of the U.S. paperback cover for TPS. It makes it look like a very typical book, and it’s not at all. Both the Australian and U.S. HB covers at least captured some of the vibe of the story.

    • Wendy, it’s my brother’s guitar. 😛 Glad you’re enjoying my Shoot That Book posts, it’s fun to think of creative ways to take pictures of books.

      Aww really? I love the US paperback cover design for Piper, I think it’s a better fit for Tom’s character than the US hardcover although the Australian edition is still the best.

  2. I was wondering if you played guitar all along and I just didn’t know it:) I like that you paired the two books together. You should do one or two posts on the similarities in book covers but take actual photos of the ones you have. Every time people do a post on them, it is just pictures taken from the internet. It’d be cool to see any of them actually together.

    • Flann, that’s an excellent idea! 😀 I’m not sure if I have books that have similar book covers though. I’ll look into it. I should do more group shots for this feature – books that have similar themes or books that have something in common like what I did in this post.

  3. I think I’m going to buy myself a new copy too, just to have them all. LOL
    I also mean to buy me the new Francesca cover and a pb of Jellicoe ’cause my sister wants to read it but I don’t like not having a copy on my own shelf – she’s not a fast reader so she could hog the book for weeks and weeks.

    Anyway, I loved your pictures. I somehow thing that Adam and Tom might wind up being friends if they ever met, and though I love the Where She Went cover I kind of wish Adam was in the cover too.

    • Alex, me too! I think I want to have a complete set. I want to get Aussie editions of all of MM’s books as well. Maybe if I get the chance to visit Australia – I have a feeling bookstores there would bankrupt me. Yep, it’s always a good thing to have duplicates of favorite books.

      I would have thrown in Jake from Saving June in there but I only have it on my Kindle. I think Mia’s on the cover of Where She Went because of the title, would love to have Adam somewhere in there though.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

