Chachic's Book Nook

In My Mailbox: Belated Birthday Edition

27 Comments

In My Mailbox is a meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie. This meme is about books that you received or bought during the week.

When I got home from work today, I saw a postcard and a mysterious package waiting for me:

The postcard is from the Netherlands and features Miffy, a popular children’s book character over there. So cute that it’s a card based on a book. And the sender also used a Postcrossing stamp:

When I opened the package, I found belated birthday gifts from my good friend Celina:

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Annie Barrows and Mary Ann Shaffer
Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Two hardcovers from my wishlist. Maraming salamat, Celina! Looking forward to reading these. πŸ™‚ What about you, got any books or postcards this week?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

27 thoughts on “In My Mailbox: Belated Birthday Edition

  1. Wow, you participate in Postcrossings too? Cool πŸ˜€ I just sent my first five postcards recently, and I’m really excited! You’ve got some really cool stuff there, and the books look gorgeous!

  2. Hope you get to read those books soon!:) And belated happy birthday again.:)

    • Celina! Thank you again for the books. Such a coincidence that I featured Guernsey in my most recent Want Books post and you were already planning on sending it. πŸ˜€

  3. Yay for Celina! Finally you’ll be able to read Unearthly and meet Tucker. πŸ˜€

  4. I really enjoyed both of those books–what an awesome present:) I got my first South Africa address yesterday from Postcrossing. (I was pretty excited about it:))

    • Oooh South Africa! I always get excited when I get a new-to-me country (like when I first got assigned to send a postcard to Belarus). πŸ™‚ There must be a lot of Postcrossers in the Netherlands for them to come up with a custom stamp like that. Wish we had something similar here.

  5. I’m desperate to read The Guernsey Lite… eh, you get the gist! πŸ˜‰

    Hope you enjoy it, I’ll be keeping an eye out for your review!
    That postcard is so sweet too πŸ™‚

    • LOL I get it, so hard to type that lengthy title! I just end up calling it Guernsey. I have a feeling I’ll like it because it’s recommended by EWein. πŸ˜› I know, love the postcard especially when I understood what it represented.

  6. I just received four postcrossing-postcards from Norway, Belarus, Russia and the Czech Republic. I love it! πŸ™‚ I haven’t received any books this week, but I’m waiting for some.

    • I’ve only gotten seven postcards all in all but I’m hoping to get more! I have no idea if some of the ones that I’ve sent got lost in transit or it’s just taking a while for them to arrive. It makes me happy when I receive both books and postcards in one day. πŸ™‚

      • I also received only 13 postcards in total until now. The postcard from Belarus travelled for 30 days. So keep your hopes up that more will arrive. πŸ™‚

      • All right, I’ll do my best to be patient while waiting for those postcards to arrive. πŸ˜›

  7. How timely since you just did your Want Books post! I hope you love both, I personally devoured Unearthly–yay Wyoming!

    • Heidi, I know! Had to laugh when I opened the package and saw the book. Celina knows me well. πŸ™‚ Hope I enjoy reading Unearthly as much as all of you did.

  8. Ohh!!
    that’s cool! Birthday goodies are made of awesome πŸ˜€
    Happy Birthday! (Belated but who cares?)

  9. Your gifts have inspired me to pull on the Kindle and read Unearthly – maybe after Shadowfell. Readalong…?

  10. I’m sorry that I’m such a bad blogging buddy/friend lately. 😦

    • Aww Holly, I would never think that! You’ll always be an awesome blogging buddy in my eyes. πŸ˜€ I need to catch up with the blogosphere – my Google Reader currently has 254 unread items.

  11. Pingback: Unearthly by Cynthia Hand | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

