Listy List List: Books to Read

pile of books

Image from Tumblr

Having seen lists of books they have every intention of reading from book blogger friends Flannery, Catie and Holly, I thought it would be a good idea to post my own list. Maybe making this list will enable me to become more organized in terms of reading choices.

Books I Plan to Read in 2012:
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis
Strong Poison by Dorothy Sayers
The Dark Mirror or Wolfskin by Juliet Marillier
Northlander and The King Commands by Meg Burden
I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
Nine Uses for an Ex-Boyfriend by Sarra Manning
Paper Towns by John Green
I’ll Be There by Holly Goldberg Sloan
Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick
Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John
Where She Went by Gayle Forman
The King Must Die and The Bull from the Sea by Mary Renault
Unreported Murders, Mass Murders and Last Seen After Midnight by Budjette Tan and KaJo Baldisimo

Those are the books that I already have copies of. Some releases this year that I’m also planning to read:

About That Night by Julie James
Banner of the Damned by Sherwood Smith
Night Beach by Kirsty Eagar (if I manage to find a way to get it)
Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore
Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan
Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor
Speechless by Hannah Harrington

Okay, I should stop there. I might not manage to read all the books in the list if I add more. I’ve noticed that 2012 has been a slow reading year for me compared to last year but I’m trying to take it easy so I won’t experience a reading slump. I really hope I can read all of the above within the year! Moving on to the next list, some of which I have and some still on my wishlist.

Books I’ll Read Someday
Cordelia’s Honor by Lois McMaster Bujold
Blood Red Horse by K.M. Grant
Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay
Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke
Elfland by Freda Warrington
The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery
Coronets and Steel by Sherwood Smith
Rosemary and Rue by Seanan McGuire
Eon and Eona by Alison Goodman
Deerskin by Robin McKinley
Silver Metal Lover by Tanith Lee
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Annie Barrows
Fire and Hemlock, Deep Secret and the rest of Diana Wynne Jones’ books
The rest of Juliet Marillier’s books
The rest of Tamora Pierce’s books

And many, many more! I have shelves on Goodreads for books that I own but haven’t read and my wishlist. The books mentioned here are the ones that are my top priority. How about you, what’s on your list of books to read this year? Any other titles you’re planning to read someday? πŸ™‚

27 thoughts on “Listy List List: Books to Read

    • Lots of excellent fantasy and YA titles in these lists. πŸ™‚ I remember you recommended Meg Burden’s books, I wonder what are the other titles that you’ve enjoyed?

    • The Fault in Our Stars is my current favorite John Green but let’s see if it gets bumped down by Paper Towns. I also need to read Looking for Alaska.

      I finished the first Trese book last night! Will try to post a review soon, maybe after Marchetta Madness.

      • Oh yes, Looking for Alaska is another of his notable novels. Not that I would know; I have a copy but I haven’t read it yet.
        And yay! I can’t wait to read more of your reviews πŸ™‚

  1. YEEEES. One by one, I will get all my blogger friends to make lists. It’s always interesting to see which books are on there (obviously) but also seeing which ones will be super easy to finish. It’s always easier to judge in hindsight, eh? You could finish Guernsey, Paper Towns, and Eon in a few hours:) Good luck with your list! I’ll be checking in on your progress.

    • The pressure is on! πŸ™‚ Making lists is a lot of fun. Before I posted this one though, I kept telling myself that I need to make sure I’ll read the books included here. We’ll see how it goes towards the end of the year! I should probably put up a Goodreads shelf for the 2012 list to make it easier to keep track of them.

  2. omg. Two books there that are my favourites. The Book Thief and Where she went. Such amazing and touching reads. I hope you will read them soon. I’m pretty sure they’ll blow you away πŸ™‚

    • I really need to read The Book Thief this year. I’ve had my copy since 2007 and I still haven’t picked it up! Also looking forward to reading Where She Went since I thought If I Stay was a lovely read.

  3. I have 208 books on the TBR and 82 in the To-Listen, that’s a lot of books that I intend to read in the near-future (btw, I’ve just added you as a friend on GR).

    I figure I have 3-years worth of reading, if I stop buying now :S

    • I have 190 in my books-I-own-but-haven’t-read shelf and I really want to bring it down to less than a hundred, not sure if that will ever happen though. 😦

      LOL I know I should stop buying books as well but I just can’t help it. So many good ones tempt me whenever I go to the bookstore!

  4. I am loving these lists! I need to read Juliet Marillier as well (yeah she’s on my list of shame with Marchetta). I hope you like Connie Willis! I haven’t read To Say Nothing of the Dog yet, but I plan to since I loved Blackout/All Clear so much.

    • Heidi, you should make your own list! I’d like to see what you’ll include in it. You should definitely add Juliet Marillier, you can start with Daughter of the Forest. πŸ™‚ I have a feeling I’m going to like Connie Willis, I’ve heard good things about her books.

  5. I have so many of those on my to-read-soon list too. Jonathan Strange, I’ll Be There, Eon, Eona, Paper Town, Five Flavors of Dumb… and of course, i can’t wait to get my hands on Speechless since Saving June was so amazing.
    Great list, Chachic. πŸ™‚

    • Jonathan Strange is pretty daunting because of its thickness but I really want to get to it eventually. Hey, let me know if you want to do a readalong of any of those titles you mentioned. πŸ˜› I can’t wait to read Speechless too, I hope we hear some news about it soon.

  6. I need to read The Book Thief sometime soon too. I started it last year but I stopped because ..I can’t remember the reason anymore. ^^

    Hm. I want to make a list like this too.

    • I think I started The Book Thief before too and got maybe one chapter in? I can’t even remember why I stopped, maybe I didn’t feel like reading a war novel. Will definitely read it within the year though. πŸ™‚

      You should make your own list, I’d like to see what books you’ll include in there.

  7. Pingback: TBR of Shame: My Big Three « Bunbury in the Stacks

  8. Pingback: I Need Some Wow Books | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Kabul Beauty School – brief book review | RubySlippers

  10. Pingback: Dingen die ik nog wil doen | Rosebud and Saffron

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

