In My Mailbox: Mid-March Edition

In My Mailbox is a meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie. This meme is about books that you received or bought during the week.

I was surprised when I already got the packages from my latest Book Depository purchase because it only took three weeks for them to arrive and they all got here at the same time.

Want to see what’s inside those packages? Here you go:

The Black Hawk by Joanna Bourne
Northlander by Meg Burden
The King Commands by Meg Burden
Postcards from Ladybird

You might be wondering what that manly chest is doing in my IMM post. I don’t usually read historical romances but I made an exception for Joanna Bourne’s novels when I saw a Sounisian recommend them. I enjoyed reading them, which is why I’m looking forward to her latest. I was pleasantly surprised when I saw that Meg Burden’s novels came in trade paperback format instead of mass market. And yes, that’s another postcard set! I’m going to do a Postcard Love update once I’ve taken pictures of those Ladybird cards. Speaking of postcards, got this lovely Sarajevo one from Maja of The Nocturnal Library:

Thanks Maja! πŸ™‚ I also met up with my college friends for a joint celebration (my birthday isn’t until the end of the month though) and these are the early birthday presents that I received:

Trese graphic novels by Budjette Tan and KaJo Baldisimo: Murder On Balete Drive, Unreported Murders, Mass Murders, Last Seen After Midnight
Where She Went by Gayle Forman
Fully Booked gift cards
Muji notebook and colored pens

So I had a pretty great week in terms of books acquired. Can’t wait to read all of these. What about you, what books did you get in your mailbox? πŸ˜€

19 thoughts on “In My Mailbox: Mid-March Edition

  1. The covers of the Meg Burden books are so very, very bad (esp. The King Commands – one of the worst ones I’ve ever seen), but I really like both books. Those brothers have a special place in my heart. I hope you enjoy them.

    • I don’t mind the Northlander cover, I think it looks okay. I’m just glad that it’s in trade paperback format and the paper is nicer than usual. I think the cover for The King Commands looks like something out of a medieval-themed video game. Good to know you enjoyed reading them, Jenn! Looking forward to both books. πŸ™‚

  2. I’m very happy that you didn’t take a pic of my horrendous handwriting! πŸ™‚

    I have a feeling you’ll like Where She Went a lot. πŸ™‚
    Happy reading, Chachic!

    • Maja, hey, I think your writing is pretty! I can’t remember the last time I tried writing in cursive. Thanks again for the postcard, it’s the first one I’ve gotten from Croatia. πŸ™‚

      I haven’t even written my review of If I Stay! I need to work on that.

  3. A great set of packages! I’ve been eyeing NORTHLANDER too (ever since Angie did her usual you-must-read-this-too review) – so I can’t wait to hear what you think.

    And hey! I read THE SPYMASTERS LADY a few years ago after a friend told me it was a ‘quality’ romance book. I haven’t read any of her others though. What did you think of them? I’m guessing you liked them if you ordered another one πŸ™‚

    Happy early Birthday!!

    • Michelle, it was Angie and Charlotte who convinced me to grab a copy of Northlander and to get the sequel while I’m at it. Also, I saw Book Depository mark both novels as “hard to find title” so I was worried they’d run out of stocks.

      Oooh, you read The Spymaster’s Lady! Good to know I wasn’t the only one who read that. I read Joanna Bourne’s two other novels but I still liked The Spymaster’s Lady more. I’m looking forward to Black Hawk because it’s about Adrian, do you remember him? πŸ™‚ I like that she writes about spies because I like reading books like those.

  4. Do you draw? I kind of love getting blank notebooks to fill with doodles and random stuff. (I’m no good at drawing but it is still fun!) I love your IMM posts because you include all the other things you get. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, CHACHIC!!!

    • Flann, sadly, I’m not very artistic. Doodles and random stuff seem like a good idea though! Maybe I can do that using my brand-new blank notebook and set of colored pens. πŸ˜› I like filling up my 2012 planner with random things too.

  5. Pingback: In My Mailbox (22): Birthday Mailbox, Part 1 | | One More PageOne More Page

  6. Pingback: Trese by Budjette Tan and KaJo Baldisimo | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: Book Haul: Diana Wynne Jones Edition | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

