Chachic's Book Nook

Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty

7 Comments

One of my goals this year is to do more readalongs because they’re a lot of fun. I read Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty along with two good friends, Janice and Holly. I first discovered Liane Moriarty, Australian author of contemporary fiction, when I read What Alice Forgot last year. I enjoyed it so much that I wanted to read the rest of her books.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Australian triplets Lyn, Cat, and Gemma Kettle are about to turn thirty-three and one is pregnant, one has just had her life turned upside down, and one is only just keeping hers from skidding off the fast lane. Meanwhile, their divorced parents have been behaving very oddly indeed.

In this family comedy by Liane Moriarty, we follow the three Kettle sisters through their tumultuous thirty-third year – as they deal with sibling rivalry and secrets, revelations and relationships, unfaithful husbands and unthinkable decisions, and the fabulous, frustrating life of forever being part of a trio.

The cute cupcake cover for Three Wishes is deceiving. I thought I’d be reading a book about quirky triplets, something light and fun. Maybe there would be a couple of problems thrown in but I definitely wasn’t expecting the book to feel as emotionally heavy as it did. Also, the synopsis describes the book as a family comedy but I didn’t think it was funny. The narrative does change from one Kettle sister to another but I feel like the focus is more on Cat’s marriage problems and how her husband cheated on her. As a result, she’s a very angry person throughout most of the book and that affects the dynamics with her sisters. It also felt like Cat, Lyn and Gemma weren’t as close as they wanted people to think. Sure, they meet regularly and they talk to each other all the time, but it felt like they weren’t really there for each other when it mattered. Now I don’t want to mention spoilers but it did frustrate me that the sisters kept major life events from each other. Some snippets that I included in Goodreads status updates:

“The bills would keep on coming, no matter what else was happening in your life and that was good because it gave you purpose. You worked so you could pay them. You rested on the weekends and generated more bills. Then you went back to work to pay for them. That was the reason for getting up tomorrow. That was the meaning of life.”

Also, this:

“Death was the hot bath you promised yourself while you endured small talk and uncomfortable shoes. You could stop pretending to have a good time when you were dead.”

Not very cheerful, right? I’m sorry to say that I didn’t enjoy reading Three Wishes as much as I was expecting. I wasn’t invested in any of the Kettle sisters and I just wanted to finish the book so I can move on to a better one. It has taken me a while to write this review and I’m already on another readalong with Janice and Holly – we’re reading Whiskey Road by Karen Siplin. We haven’t been lucky in our readalong choices so far but I’m keeping my fingers crossed. If you’re interested in giving Liane Moriarty’s writing a try, I suggest that you start with What Alice Forgot. It was a more enjoyable read for me than Three Wishes. Although like I always say, people don’t always react the same way even if we do share reading tastes so you might like this book a lot more than I did. I’ve seen more positive reviews so it may not just be a book for me.

Other reviews:
Janicu’s Book Blog
See Michelle Read

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

7 thoughts on “Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty

  1. Agree, agree, agree. I’m not sure what else there is to say about this book, but yeah, I think we’re on the same page with our response to it.

    • Yay, it makes me feel validated that you agree with my points. I was wondering if I was a bit harsh in this review? I don’t think I would have even posted about it if we didn’t do a readalong.

      • I don’t think you were harsh.. I get what you mean though, I always feel bad when I don’t like a book, and sometimes I feel cringe-y when I really wanted to like something and I just could not, and then in my review I have a lot of complaints. It’s hard to write those sometimes. But hopefully when I write reviews it comes across as my personal response, and hopefully that helps people decide if they want to try the book or not. I hope there’s no pressure to write a review cause we did a readalong.. maybe we should institute a clear “we don’t need to review this if we don’t want to” policy?

      • Thanks for the validation! 😛 Yes, I keep saying that my review is all about my personal reaction and that everyone else might end up liking the books that I think are just okay. Oh no, I wasn’t pressured to write because of our readalong – it’s just that one of my resolutions this year is to do more readalongs and I want to document those.

  2. I’m definitely not feeling pressure to write a review of this. I’ve just so coincidentally written several blah reviews lately and I don’t really want to write another one. Just so you both know, I completely agreed with what you both wrote. No need for more to be said. 🙂

    Chachic, you were definitely not harsh. Just honest in a tactful “nice” way. No worries. 🙂 Will you still give The Last Anniversary a try? I probably will. I have hope it will be better than this.

    • Holly, I know what you mean. I’m really not a fan of writing blah reviews. Usually I just do it when I think blog friends want to know my thoughts about a certain book (like if that would help them decide if they want to read something). I did have a lot of fun discussing this book with you guys though. 🙂

      Yes, I’m still planning to give The Last Anniversary a try since I already have a copy. I just don’t think I’ll read it anytime soon. There are more promising ones in the TBR pile. 😛

  3. Pingback: Want Books: The Hypnotist’s Love Story | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

