Shoot That Book: International Women’s Day

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

Happy International Women’s Day, everyone! I’m over at Jo’s blog, Wear the Old Coat, talking about some of my favorite female protagonists, together with other excellent YA book bloggers. Drop by and check out her take on this year’s Women’s Day theme, β€œConnecting girls, inspiring futures.” Since I haven’t done a Shoot That Book post in a while, I thought it would be a good idea to focus on ladies of the literary world for today. Here are some books with kick ass heroines, most of which are my own favorites:

Why am I not surprised that all of the above are fantasy novels? Next, I thought it would be a good idea to highlight my favorite females who have strength of character instead of physical prowess:

Love me some courageous ladies. Care to share some of your own favorite fictional females?

18 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: International Women’s Day

  1. Great post, Chachic!
    I love hearing about other people’s favourites πŸ™‚

    I really want to read The Goose Girl by the way and I’ve heard great things about Graceling!

    Have a brilliant day!

    • Me too, Jo. Which is why I love your post. Thank you so much for inviting me to participate! That’s what inspired me to make a Women’s Day-themed Shoot That book post. πŸ™‚

      I hope you get to read both books soon. Maybe you can Graceling right before Bitterblue comes out so you can read them one right after the other? πŸ˜›

  2. I have to say I like that second stack so much better. πŸ˜‰

    I also think I would drop Crown Duel into that second stack. Mel always seemed to me to think she could kick more ass physically than she actually could. But that may just be me.

    • Brandy, I love both piles. πŸ™‚

      You have a point there, I should have included Crown Duel in the second pile. I think it was included in the first mostly because of Mel’s efforts to be kick ass (that and I wanted her to be right next to Sasha).

  3. Great picks!! ;D I love Cat, from Night Huntress series, and Gin, from the Elemental Assassin series. They’re so awesome. That kind of strong that makes us wish we were like them.

    Love,
    Beatriz @ AWIIP

    • Beatriz, I haven’t read those series but thanks for sharing your favorite fictional females! Yep, they really are the kind of strong that makes us wish we’re just as brave.

    • Flann, I requested it there too and got denied. 😦 I ordered the UK edition from Book Depository since I like the cover for that more than the US hardcover anyway.

  4. I will never put Karou on the same level as Katsa, Fire, Kate Daniels, etc. The least I would worry about when I just narrowly escaped getting annihilated by someone is the impression I left on him/her no matter how “breath-stealingly” beautiful that person is. Logic also tells that one shouldn’t invite someone into your house just a few minutes/hours after they tried to kill you. I’m sorry, but everything about her spells an classic paranormal ya idiot girl to me. But that’s just me.

    And how could you make a list of strong heroines without including Katniss Everdeen? The latest post from Tor.com is relevant to this.

    • LOL Aaron, looks like you really have a thing against Karou. πŸ˜› Why am I not surprised? I wasn’t able to add Katniss to the pile because I didn’t see my Hunger Games books in my bookshelf when I chose the books for this shoot. Sorry about that, I was hurrying to post this and I just did a quick look to grab books. I really need to organize my bookshelf.

  5. Pingback: Recommended Reading: Strong Heroines | Turn the Page

    • Chris, I agree. I love that there are so many fictional ladies who show us that there are different ways of showing strength and that it doesn’t have to be just physical.

  6. Great picks indeed! I love that you highlighted females who are strong in various capacities–and of course it helps that so many of them would be on my own list (or are on my tbr list)! I’d also add Puck from Scorpio Races, Polly from Blackout/All Clear, and Elspeth/Talia/pretty much any woman in the Valdemar series. =)

    • Oooh you’re right about Puck! I haven’t read Blackout or any Connie Willis’ book but I’m really curious about them. I haven’t read any of the Valdemar books either but I’ve read some of Mercedes Lackey’s other novels.

  7. I love your feature “Shoot that Book” I have the same feature but I have titled it Bookography. My photos either feature a book in the photo or are inspired by a book. I would love it if you would come and check out my feature, I post every Wednesday.
    My more recent photos are better than my 1st photos, I have been taking photography classes and my photos are improving.
    http://kristina-worldofbooks.blogspot.com/p/bookography.html

    Great feature photography and books, the best combo πŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: 2016 International Women’s Day | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

