Chachic's Book Nook

The Hunger Games Movie

21 Comments

I don’t have any anticipated book releases in March but I do have a movie that I can’t wait to see: the screen adaptation of Suzanne Collin’s The Hunger Games. I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels this way. There has been a lot of buzz and promotion for the movie, both locally and internationally. I have a handful of real life friends who have read the book and I’m planning to watch the movie with them. No specific plans though, I have no idea if we’ll watch it on March 22 itself or wait for the weekend. In any case, I’m sure local theaters will be filled with fans. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the movie will live up to the hype. I really like what they’ve shown in the trailers. If you’ve been hiding in a cave and haven’t seen the trailer, here it is for you:

I got chills watching the “I VOLUNTEER!” part. Heads up to those interested (and those who can attend), Scholastic Philippines is actually hosting a university tour:

Makes me wish I was still a student so I can attend a symposium. Why didn’t we have cool events like these when I was in college? There are also movie tie-ins available in local bookstores:

I think they did a pretty good job with The Hunger Games movie tie-in, right? I love that they didn’t include a picture of any of the characters and just went with the mockingjay. Yay, it makes me happy that this movie will be released this March, the month of my birthday. Feels like an early birthday present for me. πŸ˜› What about the rest of you, are you excited about The Hunger Games movie? Any other books or movies that will be released this March that you’re interested in?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

21 thoughts on “The Hunger Games Movie

  1. I can actually get to go to the symposium! I’m so excited! I wonder what parts they included and obliterated from the movie, but most of all I’m really curious as to how they adapted it! March 22 is within my Finals week but I’ll find a way to watch this, swear.

    • Lucky you, you can attend the symposium! I hope they have some fun activities or discussions lined up for you guys. I think you should post about it if you get to go. πŸ˜› Oh wow, the movie comes out during finals week. Maybe you can just study ahead of time so you won’t feel guilty about watching the movie?

      • It’s the day after tomorrow and I honestly don’t know what to expect. Yeah, maybe I should start studying na talaga, I don’t think I can wait eh. And oh wow, your birthday’s in March? Mine was last month hihi. Advance happy birthday! So many awesome movies lined up for this month! πŸ˜€

  2. Eeeek! I’m also excited about this movie and I’m hoping I won’t get disappointed as well. πŸ™‚

    I hear Mirror Mirror, the Snow White retelling with Julia Roberts and Lily Collins in it, is due at the end of the month. I’m quite interested at how this movie will go. πŸ˜€

    • Let’s all keep our fingers crossed! I like movie-Katniss based on the trailer, I have a feeling she’ll be less annoying that book-Katniss. πŸ˜›

      I’ve seen the trailer for that but it didn’t look like Julia Roberts did a good job? I don’t know why but I’m not really excited to see that and the other Snow White movie with Bella Swan in it.

  3. Yay, it makes me happy that this movie will be released this March, the month of my birthday.

    It makes me happy too!

    I’m probably watching on opening night too, because we can’t wait. Haha. I might have another watching time if I like it enough, especially since the Goodreads people are planning to watch the first weekend it’s shown. I also got the chills in the “I volunteer!” part. I really hope it does justice to the book.

    • *high five fellow March girl*

      So glad we have a March movie to look forward to this year. πŸ˜› The last time I was excited for a March release was when I watched How to Train Your Dragon. LOL I haven’t even thought about watching the movie more than once but you’re right, it would be a good idea to that if it’s as good as we’re expecting it to be.

  4. Ah! I can’t wait for this:) I am going with some friends of mine at midnight. I’m sure there will be lots of tweens there but I bet there will be a more varied audience than at the midnight showings of that vampires series that shall not be named. The last midnight showing I went to was the last HP movie, I think. (or Eclipse?) Anyway, my friend and I told some high schooler to shut up because she was talking so loudly. I felt like an old woman hitting someone with her walking cane:) Is your movie release day the same as ours? I hope so! x

    • Are the midnight shows advanced screening? I don’t think we have that over here. LOL, that’s a pretty hilarious story, Flann. I’m sure I’d feel the same way if I was in your situation. Good thing I haven’t experienced that in movie houses over here! πŸ˜› I think they have a worldwide release for this movie because it says March 22 on the billboards and it will be shown on the 23rd over there, right? That sounds about right because we’re half a day ahead.

  5. YES!!!!! So looking forward to seeing how this transfers to the screen. I think it is the perfect book to turn into a movie.

  6. The Hunger Games holds a very special place for me. My first blog post was a review of THG. The first discussion that I’ve moderated for my book club was THG. And, the movie will be released in March, my birth month!

    (Of course, Peeta sounds very, very much like Peter. Hehehehe.)

  7. We are getting a group together to go and see it! I am so looking forward to it!

  8. Aw, it’s like the movie is a birthday present to you, Chachic! πŸ™‚

    I have to confess I have some reservations about the movie, but that’s not uncommon–I’m suspicious of EVERY book to film adaptation, hah. That being said, I have already pre-purchased my tickets for opening day, like most of the YA -reading world. πŸ™‚

    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

    • Wendy, it really is like an early birthday present. We just need to figure out when we’ll watch it. πŸ˜›

      Oh yes, I think we’re all suspicious of every book to film adaptation just because it’s so common for the movie not to live up to the book. But we’ll see, the trailer looks really good. πŸ™‚

  9. I’m so excited about this movie but at the same time SO FREAKIN NERVOUS. *bites nails*

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

