Want Books: Where She Went

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I’m behind on so blog-related activities – I’ve read If I Stay by Gayle Forman but I haven’t reviewed it. I thought it was a pretty good read. Which is why I decided to do a Want Books post for its companion novel, Where She Went. I really liked Adam in If I Stay and I would LOVE to read a book from his point of view. Although I’m a bit conflicted – If I Stay had an amazing ending and I don’t know how I’ll feel about revisiting the characters. I have a feeling curiosity will win though and I’d want to read this while the story of the first book is still fresh in my mind. I just need to find a copy. I dropped by the bookstore the other day to ask about it and it was out of stock in that branch. If you haven’t read If I Stay, DO NOT read the spoilery synopsis for this one. You’ve been warned.

Here’s the summary from Gayle Forman’s website:

It’s been three years since the devastating accident… three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever.

Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Julliard’s rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia’s home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future — and each other.

Have you guys read Gayle Forman’s novels? What did you think of them? Also, what book is in your wishlist?

22 thoughts on “Want Books: Where She Went

  1. Adam. Ah, such an angry boy. In Where She Went, anyway. But I’m so glad you’ve read If I Stay! My favorite part there was when Mia’s grandfather talked to her. So. Many. Tears. I can’t wait to read your review, and I hope you get a copy of Where She Went soon too. 🙂

    • Based on the premise, he has enough reason to be angry so I don’t find that surprising. Another reason why I hesitate in picking this up is because it kind of saddens me that they broke up after everything that happened in If I Stay. 😦 Oh yes, there were a lot of good scenes in If I Stay, I hope I can find the time to write my review of that soon.

  2. I’ve been reading more fantasy lately (as well as magic realism, retellings etc.) so I have been missing Contemporary YA. Maybe its better to start with If I Stay? 🙂

    • Tin, you didn’t read the synopsis for this, right? I would hate if it spoiled If I Stay for you. I usually mix up the genres that I read so I won’t get burned out so yes, I think it’s a good idea for you to read a contemporary YA novel soon. 🙂

    • I heard that she’s going to release another duology – one book from the girl’s POV and another from the guy’s POV. I’ve already added both in my wishlist. 🙂

    • See, that’s the thing, I don’t think I’ll like Mia that much in this installment. But I’ve heard other people say that Where She Went is just as good (or even better) than If I Stay. I still have a couple of books lined up that I need to read so it might take a while before I pick this up. 🙂

  3. I had the exact same reaction, Chachic! The ending of If I Stay was so perfect, it’s kind of hard to look beyond it. Still, I know I’ll read Where She Went eventually, I’m just not sure when. A lot of people went directly from one to the other, but I need a good break first.

    • Exactly! I think I want to read it while the story and the characters are still fresh in my mind but I agree with you, I need a break first. I still have to work on my review for If I Stay so we’ll see how I feel after I come up with that. Also, I need to hunt down a copy. 😛

  4. I hope you get a copy soon! I enjoyed this more that IIS though the ending isn’t quite as perfect. BUT you know the characters so much better, and you’re right, Adam IS great. 🙂

    • Really Holly, you liked this one more than If I Stay? I remember your review for that and it looked like you really enjoyed it. That makes me more curious about this one. I ♥ Adam. 🙂

  5. Chachic, i think you would REALLY love this book ~ so bump it right up the top of your list (I felt like everyone had read this one already! LOL)

    I am pretty sure I liked this one more than If I Stay as well, but be prepared for Adam ~ he is very depressed! reminds me of tom mackee in that way 🙂

    • Nomes, how did I miss your comment? Anyway, finished reading it last night and really liked it as well. Not sure if I liked it more than or just as much as If I Stay – will have to think about that for a bit. Also, I didn’t have a problem with how emo Adam was – he had his reasons. 😛

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

