Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: Mary Stewart Twins

5 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

I know I’ve featured Mary Stewart’s books often enough here on my blog even though I’ve only read a couple of them. This week, I started on another of her romantic suspense novels set in Greece: My Brother Michael. I couldn’t help but notice how similar the reissued Hodder & Stoughton copies of My Brother Michael and Nine Coaches Waiting are. It looks like the young women on the covers are twins:

They’re even wearing the same outfit, in different colors. Plus, they’re both doing the same thing: smelling flowers. I know this happens a lot in book covers – similar images or illustrations or models are used. But it’s the first time that I’ve noticed it in books written by the same author and from the same publisher. What other book cover lookalikes have you spotted lately?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

5 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Mary Stewart Twins

  1. Good catch, those girls ARE wearing the same dress. They’re twins. It’s kind of strange – it’s like the artist drew the same girl but colored her differently?

    • Exactly, I have no idea why the artists didn’t just draw a different girl for each cover? Or maybe even change the print on the dress since he/she already changed the flower?

  2. Yeah, I agree. That is totally weird! Have you seen that crazy list that Oliviasbooks started on Goodreads about reusing covers? It is utterly fascinating. –>http://www.goodreads.com/list/show/5051.Cover_Couples

    • It IS weird but I think both covers are pretty, just don’t display them side by side. 😛 That’s a pretty interesting list! I’m glad someone started it so we can be more aware of covers with similar designs.

  3. I love the newer covers to these books even if they are very similar. I’m hoping that my library system has some of the newer versions of Stewart’s books just because I love the covers so much! 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

