Want Books: The Jolly Postman

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

In my post about Griffin and Sabine, both Jenn and Flannery mentioned The Jolly Postman by Janet Ahlberg and Allan Ahlberg in their comments. It’s a children’s book that follows a postman as he delivers mail to fairy tale characters. The book includes actual letters that readers can take out of their envelopes and read. I admit, I don’t read a lot of books for kids, I usually only read the ones that I buy for younger cousins, nieces, nephews and my godson. I’m going to make an exception for this one because I have a feeling I’m going to enjoy it. I dropped by the bookstore yesterday and inquired if they had a copy of this but unfortunately, it wasn’t available.

Have you read this book? I’d like to know what you think if you’ve read it. Also, let me know if you think of other books that follow the same format (includes actual postcards or letters inside them). As usual, feel free to let me know what book is in your wishlist.

13 thoughts on “Want Books: The Jolly Postman

    • Flann, I wanted to grab a copy as soon as it was recommended in my previous post. I’m pretty sure I would have loved reading this as a kid. So sweet of you to offer to send it to me if it’s locally available. πŸ™‚ I hope I find a copy in a local bookstore!

  1. This was SUCH a favorite with my kids when they were growing up. The illustrations are just plain sweet, the postman is an adorable British bachelor, the letters are fun to open, and it has a lovely “small town” feel to it. Everyone invites the postman in for a cup of tea when he delivers the mail, until his full bladder is palpable by the end (that’s not the point of the book, but it always distracted me)! Another Janet and Allan Ahlberg favorite is EACH PEACH PEAR PLUM. Both books bear up to dozens and dozens of readings.

    • Oooh I didn’t even know that it was a British book. Sounds charming. I like the idea of everyone inviting the postman for a cup of tea. Thank you for the Each Peach Pear Plum recommendation, I’ll check that out after I’ve read The Jolly Postman (I just need to find a copy).

      • My impression is that it was a UK book (Wikipedia says the pub is Heinemann) that was also published in the U.S. (Little Brown; our family copy). But the sensibility is definitely that of a small village in the English countryside. Janet had such an endearing drawing style, and she and her husband were a great team, it’s a real loss that she died at only 50.

  2. OMG I forgot about this book, but it is wonderful!! So much fun to open all of the letters and read the postcards. I had (have…I’m sure it’s still in my parent’s house somewhere) The Jolly Christmas Postman, which was, of course, a Christmas version with the same characters. I loved it.

    • I saw that they have two other versions of this book. The Christmas edition would make a perfect Christmas gift for any kid who loves to read. It makes me sad that I didn’t know about The Jolly Postman when I was younger. I have a feeling it would have ended up as one of my favorite childhood books if I only got to read it back then.

  3. I loved this book SO much when I was younger. I think this book is the reason why I still insist on sending/receiving actual letters. Now I need to hunt down my copy!

    • Ooh, another fan! I really hope I get to find a copy of this soon. I’d take pictures and do a Postcard Love post about it. I also love sending and receiving mail (mostly postcards though because letters and cards are expensive).

    • I missed out on it as a kid too but I have a feeling I’ll still like it as an adult. πŸ˜› I think it’s a fun book for children. I haven’t even read it yet and I already want to give it as a gift to my godson and my younger cousins.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

