Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: The Returning

12 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

The Returning has been patiently waiting in my TBR pile since last year. I ordered a copy because it was blurbed by two of my favorite authors – Megan Whalen Turner and Melina Marchetta – and I couldn’t resist the beautiful cover. When it got the Printz Honor, I realized that I really should bump it up. I finally started it early this week and I’m still in the middle of it (I’ve been such a slow reader this year). I thought I’d share some picture so all of you can fully appreciate the book’s pretty design. A snapshot of the cover design:

Here’s the blurb on the front cover:

And the power combo blurb at the back cover:

Maps! I love seeing maps in books, probably because I have no sense of direction and it makes it easier for me to visualize the setting with the help of maps:

The cover is simple in its design and yet it draws you in. I like the minimal colors used as well. Don’t you agree that it’s a beautiful cover? Would you buy this book based on the strength of just its cover? I hope I finish reading it soon so I can write a review.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

12 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: The Returning

  1. Yes, please finish it soon so we could find out if Melina Marchetta was telling the truth hahaha! But this seriously looks interesting, although I’m not a fan of the type they used for the title :/

  2. I got this from Netgalley just yesterday because YOU said I should 🙂 I’ve only read the first chapter, but the language is stunning. I can see why both MWT and MM blurbed it. I think I’ll end up loving it. Thanks for bringing it to my attention, Chachic.

    • Maja, I didn’t even know it was available in NetGalley! Glad you were able to grab a review copy. 🙂 I’m curious what you’ll think of this one. I need to review it but I’m still trying to think of what I can say about it.

  3. I added this book to my list almost exclusively because of the cover! Of course, it did perk up a bit on my radar once it won the honor, but I like you loved the minimalism. I love that it seems very cold and remote, which seems counter intuitive to what I associate with ‘returning’ which I think of as coming home with warmth and people I love.

    Also, I love maps! That’s been my one complaint with The Queen’s Thief books, I’m pretty sure I have everything completely skewed in my head and would like a map.

    • Heidi, you did an even better job of describing the cover. 😛 It really is simple and yet meaningful. I think the aloof feel of the cover is perfect for the book because the main character is coming home from a war, he’s bound to feel distant from those he left behind.

      Oh you’re not the only one who wants a map for the Queen’s Thief series. There was supposed to be a map included in the latest book but I guess it wasn’t finished in time? Hopefully, there’ll be a map in the next one.

  4. Yes! That’s my answer. When I saw that first shot, I couldn’t believe it was a cover. It looks so real and unstaged. I’d much rather see beautiful covers that evoke feelings rather than posed people. I’m excited to see what you have to say about this one…especially after our fantasy conversation the other evening. (and I love the maps!)

    • It really is pretty. I should have mentioned the Aussie edition because it has a different title but I think the cover design is nice too. I know, I’m usually not a fan of real people on book covers either. I like illustrations like the one used in this cover.

  5. The cover is simple, but it’s also quite evocative. I feel very nostalgic and also a bit sad looking at it. It sounds like an interesting book though!

    • That’s a nice way of describing the cover, Alexa! I agree with what you said, I like how they kept things simple because it lets the reader interpret the artwork.

  6. I just finished reading this book — for the exact same reasons you wanted to read it! I liked it very much, though it wasn’t quite love. But a very well-crafted book. The author is reportedly writing more set in that world, and I think they will grow on me.

    • I still need to sort through my thoughts about the book but looks like we felt the same way about it – I’m glad I read it but I didn’t end up loving it. Really? I had no idea she was writing another book set in the same world. I’ll keep that in mind.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

