Chachic's Book Nook

Favorite Literary Couples III

32 Comments

Image from We Heart It

Listing down my favorite fictional couples has become a yearly tradition that I do it every Valentine’s Day. You can see my choices in 2010 and 2011 by clicking on the links. I highlight five favorite couples from books that I’ve read starting mid-February of last year until today. It’s always hard to narrow down my choices because I’m a big fan of romances when they’re done well.

Harper and Jake from Saving June by Hannah Harrington – Harper and Jake’s love story is the most swoon-worthy out of all the contemporary YA novels that I read last year. It’s the perfect kind of slow burn romance that develops through a road trip, both of them trying to handle the pain of losing a loved one.

Grace and Vaughn from Unsticky by Sarra Manning – From contemporary YA, we shift to contemporary adult with these two broken individuals. A relationship based on convenience between two people riddled with imperfections could go wrong in so many ways and yet it works for Grace and Vaughn.

Sean and Puck from The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater – Sean Kendrick is a quiet young man but when he chooses to speak his mind? Oh how he slays you with those perfect lines. Sean and Puck’s relationship starts with a friendship based on mutual interests and subtly develops the more time they spend together.

Karou and Akiva from Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – Karou and Akiva’s romance might seem like instant love at first glance but as you go through this lyrical novel, it becomes obvious that there’s so much more to it than initial attraction. It was the back story that I loved, finding out more about their past and what made them who they are when they meet again. I cannot wait to read more about them in Days of Blood and Starlight.

Kate and Curran from Magic Slays and Magic Gifts by Ilona Andrews – I may be cheating a bit here because I already listed Kate and Curran as a favorite couple last year but I can’t help it. I love how their relationship develops and it’s not the least bit boring even though they’re an established couple. Both of them still have issues that they need to work out and they go through all of that together.

I love that these couples are from books that fall under different genres (contemporary YA, contemporary adult, YA fantasy, adult urban fantasy). Yay for varied reading choices! I also listed down five runners-up in the previous years so I’d do the same here:

Hazel and Augustus from The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Claire and Venturo from Silver Shark by Ilona Andrews
Julie and Finn from Flat-Out Love by Jessica Park
Willa and Colin, Paxton and Sebastian from The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen
Carly and Ryan from Raw Blue by Kirsty Eagar

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone! Who are some of your favorite fictional couples from the novels that you’ve read the past year? Any recent romantic reads?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

32 thoughts on “Favorite Literary Couples III

  1. Glad to see Karou and Akiva on your list! But I’m afraid to say Daughter of Smoke and Bone is the only book I’ve had the chance to read here. I’ll surely read the others. I’m especially excited about Raw Blue, Flat-Out Love, The Fault in Our Stars and Saving June. Cool list! 😀

    • Sarah, the back story and the lyrical writing made me fall in love with Karou and Akiva’s story. Looks like you’re interested in reading all of the YA books in the list. I hope you can get to them soon. 🙂

  2. I need to read a lot of these books… The only one I’ve read is The Scorpio Races, and I only finished reading that two days ago. lol. Puck and Sean were a very cute couple though! Hmm, let me think of some of my other favorites from books I read this year…

    Tessa and Will – Clockwork Prince
    Alek and Deryn – Goliath
    Hazel and Frank – The Son of Neptune
    Saba and Jack – Blood Red Road
    Jill and Jix, Allie and Mikey – Everfound
    Anna and Etienne – Anna and the French Kiss

    I think that about covers it. 😉

    • Yay, glad you agree that Sean and Puck make a great couple. I haven’t read the books in your list so I’m not familiar with those couples except for Anna and Etienne. Loved the romance between those two and I included them in my list last year. 🙂

  3. Thanks to this post, I now have a bunch of books that I definitely need to check out! I happen to agree about Sean and Puck though. Loved them in The Scorpio Races ❤

    • Loved The Scorpio Races! ♥ It’s my favorite Maggie Stiefvater novel. I love how subtle the romance is in that one compared to her other books. I hope you enjoy the other titles in my list, Alexa. 🙂

  4. Alan/Sin! Be still my heart.

    Also, completely agree with Sean/Puck. And Hazel/Gus.

  5. Nice picks, Chachic! Especially Jake and Harper. I am off to add the books I haven’t read to my TBR list. 😀

    Wendy @ ♥ The Midnight Garden

    • Wendy, I didn’t know that you’re a Saving June fan too. Glad to like the list. 🙂 Let me know if you get to read any of the other books.

      PS: Love the Valentine’s post at The Midnight Garden.

  6. Wonderful list! I too love Puck and Sean, Grace and Vaughn, and of course Kate and Curran. I still need to pick up SAVING JUNE tho. Me thinks I would like it 🙂

    Happy Valentines Day!

    • Michelle, what about Karou and Akiva? I remember you loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone. 🙂 Yay, it makes me happy that you’re familiar with most of the couples in my list and that you love them too. Keeping my fingers crossed that you’ll like Saving June.

      Belated Happy Valentine’s Day!

  7. Yes, yes, yes! I still need to read The Peach Keeper and Silver Shark but otherwise, I completely agree. What a fun annual Valentine’s feature. I wish it were mine. 🙂

    • Can I just say that I’m delighted that you know about most of the couples in this list? Yes to both The Peach Keeper and Silver Shark (and Silent Blade if you haven’t read that one). It really is a fun list, join me in making one next year. 😀

  8. What a great idea, Chachic. I have such a swoony place in my heart for Carly and Ryan. Also I read The Queen of Attolia last May so I’m definitely going to have to list Attolia and Eugenides.

    • Yay for Gen and Irene! They were in the first list that I made, of course. Loved Carly and Ryan’s relationship because it felt more mature than other contemporary YA romances, probably because of both they’re experiences. Plus Ryan is older. Would love to read more romances like that, we need more books like Raw Blue.

  9. Most recently couple to capture my heart is Ed and Lucy from Graffiti Moon. Since last V Day I would also add to my list: Tom and Tara from The Piper’s Son. And that’s it. Hmmm…I think Gen and Irene may have spoiled me. It takes a lot for a book couple to impress me now.

    • Ed and Lucy would have been there if I read Graffiti Moon within the time period covered but sadly, I read it in January 2011. While I loved The Piper’s Son, Tom and Tara’s love story wasn’t particularly swoon-worthy for me. I think I was more focused on Tom’s relationship with his family than his love interest.

      Oh yes, Gen and Irene’s romance is the bench mark. I’ve yet to find a couple that will match my love for MWT’s brilliant pairing.

  10. Oh Sean and Puck I LOVED those two so much, The Scorpio Races is definitely one of my favourite books.

    Francesca and Will from Saving Francesca remain my favourite fictional couple and I loved seeing more of them in The Piper’s Son.

    • The Scorpio Races is one of my favorite reads in 2011. I loved so many things about it and the romance really stood out for me.

      I agree, I loved that we saw more of Francesca and Will in The Piper’s Son even though the book isn’t about them. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that there will be a companion novel to Jellicoe Road because I definitely want to see more of Taylor and Jonah.

  11. Yes! I’m with you on most of there, especially Sean and Puck and Carly and Ryan. I love that Sean and Puck’s romance was never flashy. It was quiet in a way and that’s what made it my favorite. I think you’ve pretty much covered all my favorites, except maybe Lucy and Ed in Graffiti Moon.

    • Glad you agree with my choices! Yep, Sean and Puck’s romance was pretty quiet, it’s the kind that sneaks up on you. You know what’s funny is that I had Lucy and Ed in that list until I realized that I read Graffiti Moon January of last year so I had to bump them off. 😦 I guess I read so many amazing books in 2010 and early 2011 that I wasn’t able to include them in last year’s list.

  12. Yes! I have to agree with the books I’ve read at least, namely Karou and Akiva and I loved Sean and Puck so much. I think Sean and Puck are one of my favorites because their romance wasn’t the story, or the primary worry of the characters themselves, but it was quiet and underlying and strong and I have rarely rooted so strongly for two people to end up happily. I just finished Magic Bites this last week, and loved the dynamic the second Kate met Curran–I can’t wait to read more!

    • Exactly, the romance isn’t the focus of the story in The Scorpio Races but there were enough scenes for Sean and Puck to fall in love. I think some people have a problem with the instant attraction between Karou and Akiva but I still loved it because there’s an explanation connected to their past.

      Yay, you’re reading the Kate Daniels series! The books just get better and better as you go through them. I can’t wait for you to reach Magic Strikes, I remember it was that installment that made me fall in love with the series.

  13. this is why I ❤ you! I agree on every single listing – I'd write exactly the same list.

  14. I’ve only read one of these books on your list. ONE. (Raw Blue) How sad is that? But one of my favorite literary couples is definitely Meg and John After in Going Too Far. SaWOOOOOON.

    • Capillya, my dear, you can catch up in 2012! 😛 Oh yes, I love the slow burn romance between Meg and John After. Those two were included in my 2011 list. I want more YA romance like that!

  15. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples IV | Chachic's Book Nook

  16. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples V | Chachic's Book Nook

  17. Pingback: date ideas

  18. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples VII | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

