Chachic's Book Nook

New Blog Feature: Postcard Love

23 Comments

I recently discovered that there are postcard blogs out there. It shouldn’t be surprising because postcards are awesome – I love to send and receive postcards. I’ve talked about how I love postcards several times here on the blog and actually thought of making my own postcard blog. I realized that I don’t get enough postcards to sustain that and this book nook keeps me pretty busy. Since most of the recipients of my postcards are book blogger friends, I thought it would be a good idea to just start a new blog feature highlighting postcards. I’m keeping it simple by calling it Postcard Love. I have no idea how often I’ll be putting up Postcard Love posts, I guess it depends on whenever I have anything I’d like to talk about.

For my first Postcard Love post, I thought I’d talk about bookish postcards. I’ve been wanting to order this Postcards from Puffin set for a while now and finally gave in and included it in my latest Book Depository order. I hope it gets here soon:

They also have Penguin and Ladybird sets that I’m interested in:

I also found some bookish postcards in Etsy. I really want them but they’re kind of pricey and I think I’ll just end up keeping them for myself instead of sending them out to friends if I order them. Here’s something called Paper Chase:

And here’s Warning Signs from the same designer:

Here’s a Book Lovers Postcard Collection:

A set of Nancy Drew postcards:

A fabric postcard of a library:

Postcards featuring book photographs:

A Book Ninja postcard:

From the same designer, Peace, Love, Books:

Love this Penguin spoof, There’s More to Life than Books:

Something called Muse of the Undiscovered:

I think Etsy will bankrupt me if I ever decide to sign up. Find anything you like in this post? If you decide to buy some of these postcards, I wonder if you’d be willing to send one to me? πŸ˜› Let me know what you think of my new Postcard Love feature!

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

23 thoughts on “New Blog Feature: Postcard Love

  1. Very nice. I remember seeing you tumble postcards recently, so this feature makes sense. πŸ™‚

    • I know, it makes more sense to make a postcard feature here on the blog than to start a new blog just for that. πŸ™‚ By the way, I sent you a postcard in the last batch that I sent a few weeks ago.

      • You are so nice, I just got this postcard, thank you! I feel like I must find a COOL postcard just for you. Keeping my eye out.

      • Yay, you got it! I was wondering when it would show up. I hope the other postcards from that batch would get to the recipients soon. LOL I really just like sending postcards, you don’t HAVE to send me one in return.

  2. I absolutely ADORE postcards and sending them out! Getting and sending mail always cheers me up. And the postcards you featured on here are so cool! I may just have to break my shopping ban…

    • Like I said on Twitter, give me your address and I’ll send you a postcard. πŸ™‚ Love getting stuff in the mail and it’s always nice to find someone who feels the same way. Yes to breaking your shopping ban if it means you’re going to buy some of the cards featured here.

  3. Oooh, I love the postcards featuring book photographs and the Nancy Drew ones.:) If I ever do get one of those sets, you’ll be sure to get one from me.:)

  4. Yay! I’m glad you decided to add this as a feature. These were fun to look at, I LOVE puffins (it’s a problem–I make the bf detour down the organic isle of the grocery store just so I can squee at the cartoon puffin on Puffin brand cereal), so of course I loved the puffin set for actually featuring cartoon puffins. Also the Book Ninja postcard–the perfect ‘subtle’ hint for that friend that never returns books they borrow?

    • Heidi, you should definitely get the Puffin postcard set if you’re a big fan of puffins. πŸ˜› Although I’m not sure if there’s an actual cartoon puffin postcard included in the set or if it’s just in the cover of the box. I’ll let you know when I get my set. I’m planning to do another Postcard Love post when it arrives. LOL great idea for that Book Ninja postcard!

  5. I super like the ninja post card.

  6. Hi, I liked your blog and I invite you to join our website:http://www.coollectors.com – The Collectors Free Marketplace & Club – where you can Buy, Sell, Exchange & Catalog Collectibles, free of charge.
    See you soon -:)
    Shelly

  7. I have been eyeing the penguin ones for a while, so lovely. I really like the booklovers ones and the Nancy Drew ones too though!

    • I know what you mean, I’ve been eyeing the Puffin set for a while and finally gave in and just bought it. I really want to get the Ladybird set as well. I like the book lovers set too.

  8. Ooo! I love sending and receiving postcards too, Chachic–and I have those Nancy Drew ones! I’ll send you one if you like. πŸ™‚ I have been salivating over those Penguin ones for awhile, too.

    ***

    Author Nova Ren Suma shares her favorite romantic book scene at The Midnight Garden!

    • Wow, really? I would love to receive a postcard from you, Wendy! I’ll send you a message on Twitter. Send me your address so I can include a postcard for you in my latest batch, I’m going to send it tomorrow. I encourage you to order the Peguin ones, they look pretty. πŸ™‚ I just have more favorites in the Puffin set.

  9. Hah! The Book Ninja postcard is fantastic! I actually got a Penguin postcard last year from Jo (she’s awesome that way – she always finds the best postcards), but I think my all-time favorite is one of the Rocky Mountains Flann sent me. It looks like a post-apocalyptic setting: a lake, snow, bare trees and not a living thing in sight. So cool.
    I’ve been keeping it on the corkboard in my office. πŸ™‚

    • Maja, I sent the postcard today! Let me know when you get it and I hope you’ll like it. I’ll send you a Puffin one when the set gets here. It’s so funny that you thought of a dystopian landscape when you saw that postcard – it became a bookish card for you even though it really wasn’t. πŸ˜› I also have postcards clipped to my desk in the office but the ones there were sent by my officemate when he went abroad.

  10. Hey Chachic,

    Just wanted to let you know that I recieved the post card you sent. Thank you very much. It gives me an idea to maybe start collecting post cards from different places of the world, states and international. You provided me one from the phillipines. Thank you.

    • Glad I sent you a postcard to start your collection with. It’s always nice to receive a little something in the mail, especially if it’s from other parts of the world.

  11. Between this post and Ana’s one, I’m ready to start my own postcard collection πŸ™‚

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

