Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Mary Stewart’s Books

22 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I know I usually only post about one book in each of my Want Books posts but I couldn’t help but write about all of Mary Stewart’s books. So far, I’ve only read one of her books: Nine Coaches Waiting. She’s such a delightful author and it seems like so many readers are fans of her work. That made me more excited to read the rest of her books. Her romantic suspense novels have all been re-issued in these lovely modern classics edition and I’ve managed to acquire five more of them.

Only a couple more until I have the entire set! Although I’ve been telling myself that I should finish reading the ones that I have before I buy the rest. I’m currently in the middle of The Moonspinners. Aside from her romantic suspense novels, Mary Stewart also wrote an intriguing Arthurian series, from Merlin’s point of view. I want these as well but they’re not locally available.

Someday, I will have a complete Mary Stewart collection. Maybe when I’m done trimming down the TBR pile. What about the rest of you, what books are in your wishlist? Are you obsessing about one particular author as well?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

22 thoughts on “Want Books: Mary Stewart’s Books

  1. The covers of her novels look absolutely delicious! This is an author that I should look into 😉

    • Alexa, they look even better in person! I can’t believe I already have copies of six of them. One was my last book purchase of 2011 and five were bought in January. Need to read them before I get more.

  2. Normally I would feel cheesy saying that this post warms my heart, but it does warm my heart. So there.

  3. I’ve read the Arthurian novels! They’re a wonderful take on the legend. Hopefully you can manage to get copies somehow.

    • I checked on Book Depository and they’re available over there. I just need to go through some of the books that I already have before I feel like I can order or buy more.

  4. I don’t really know anything at all about Mary Stewart but these covers make me want to own the entire collection. I bet you love seeing them all lined up on your shelf:)

    • Flann, the six that I have look lovely when they’re lined up on my shelf. I keep staring at them. I bet it would look even better if I had all of her books. 😛 Hope you get to read one of them soon!

  5. Oh yay! The Arthurian series. They have nice covers as well.

    • I know, even the Athurian books have such pretty covers. They’ve probably been reissued as well. I really want to collect all of her books. I bet Mary Stewart is going to be one of my favorite discoveries this year.

  6. How timely as I just posted about one of her books in my wishlist post! I found her name on another book and I instantly put one of her books on hold at my library. I can’t wait for it to come in so I can read it. I love these covers!!

  7. I am really intrigued by the Arthurian quartet as well, I think I own all of them. I really need to get to them one of these days.

    • Is it a quartet? I thought it was a trilogy. Luck you, you already have copies! I really want to get them but I think I have to finish reading the ones that I already have first. Let me know what you think when you get to read them.

  8. I really, really, really want the Merlin books to be released as ebooks. I have most of Mary Stewarts books in paper (although not in such lovely editions as these) and my current goal is to read/reread my way through everything she’s published. (http://rocalisa.wordpress.com/2011/06/27/mary-stewart/)

    I’m buying the ebooks that I can as I go. I’m up to Nine Coaches Waiting next. I’m crossing my fingers the Merlin ones might have been released electronically by the time I get to them.

    • It would be great if they could reissue the Merlin books in ebook format, it would be easier for readers to get copies. I want to go through all of her books as well although I have no idea when I’ll be able to finish all of them. I haven’t decided if I should find a way to get the Merlin books or finish all of the romantic suspense novels first.

      • I’m going in publication order and it’s allowed to take as long as it takes. I’m doing the same with some other authors (Anne McCaffrey, Diana Wynne Jones, Susanna Kearsley, Eva Ibbotson, Guy Gavriel Kay, Sharon Lee/Steve Miller and Georgette Heyer) so it is a very long term project!

      • I’m going with whatever I feel like reading next. 😛 My current project is to work on the books in my TBR pile. Glad to see Diana Wynne Jones and Eva Ibbotson in your list. I really need to read the rest of the Chrestomanci series (I already have copies) and some of Eva Ibbotson’s middle grade novels. I’ve never read anything by Guy Gavriel Kay but I have a copy of Tigana that needs to be bumped up the TBR pile.

  9. The Arthurian books are phenomenal! (But I would pass on The Prince and the Pilgrim – #5 in the series – if I were you. It doesn’t even read like a Mary Stewart at all. The only book she has ever written that I didn’t like!) I’ve read and own everything by Mary Stewart but Wind of the Small Ilses (which has only been published once and is SUPER expensive on places like amazon), A Walk in Wolf Wood, and Ludo and the Starhorse (both of which are Children’s books, and, again, pretty hard to find). I am so excited about these new releases as well – most of my Mary Stewart books are super old paperbacks that are literally crumbling away! Hope you enjoy them.

    • Oh so it’s a series and not a trilogy. Thanks for the heads up! I’ll keep that in mind and just read the first four books. I’ve heard such positive feedback about her Merlin books and I really want to read them. I just feel like I still have to go through the books that I already have (although goodness knows when this feeling will last). I usually end up getting the books that I feature in my Want Books posts. Are you planning to get these new editions to replace your old copies? 🙂

  10. Hope you find all the books you want, honey. Hate to tell you this, but the Merlin set has only 5 books : The Hollow Hills, The Crystal Cave, The Last Enchantment, This Rough Magic and the last one is The Wicked Day.

    All the best….

    • Hey, Mrs. Coffey, isn’t This Rough Magic one of her romantic suspense novels set in Greece? I have heard that the Merlin series has more than three books in it – hope I can find copies of them soon. Although I still have to finish reading the Mary Stewart books that I already have. 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

