Chachic's Book Nook

Queen’s Thief Week: Giveaway

56 Comments

Hello everyone! What do you think of the Queen’s Thief Week festivities so far? I hope you’re all enjoying the posts. πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to publish the rest of the guest posts sitting in my drafts section right now. In the meantime, here’s a giveaway for all of you. One lucky winner will win a book of his or her choice from this list of recommendations for Queen’s Thief fans, as long as it’s available in the Book Depository. The winner can even choose a book that has been recommended in the comments section. Either that or choose one of Megan Whalen Turner’s books (The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, A Conspiracy of Kings, Instead of Three Wishes). Winner will be chosen randomly, giveaway ends on January 29 and is open to wherever the Book Depository ships. To join, leave a comment stating what title you’d choose if you win. I would also appreciate it if you can spread the word not just about this giveaway but about the Queen’s Thief Week event.

Here are some of my suggestions, all of which are available from the Book Depository (yes, this is me trying to influence your choice):

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

56 thoughts on “Queen’s Thief Week: Giveaway

  1. If I win, I’d like a copy of “The Thief”, because I haven’t read it yet. *for shame* πŸ˜€

  2. Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta!

  3. Oooh yay contest! I already have 6 of the books shown up there…so I think I’ll go for Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith since you’ve sang so many praises to that book as well. πŸ˜€

    I’ll have my review of A Conspiracy of Kings up in the next few days, and I’ll link it to your blog to promote The Queen’s Thief week too. πŸ™‚

  4. So many choices! But I’d love to win a copy of Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein.:)

    Loving all the posts so far.:)

  5. So many good books! πŸ™‚ But I think I’ll go for Code Name Verity or Jellicoe Road. Thanks so much for this opportunity.

  6. All the posts have been amazing so far, Chachic! I think I’d go woth Graceling, I’ve been wanting to read that for a very long time.
    I used to say that I’m not a big fan of high fantasy, but Marchetta and M.W. Turner really changed my mind. πŸ™‚

  7. I’ll go for The Demon’s Lexicon. i heard great things about this book:)

  8. Wow, thanks for the giveaway! I’ll probably go for The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale. ^_^

  9. Going for Goose Girl by Shannon Hale as well πŸ™‚

    Many thanks for hosting this giveaway!

  10. I would love to have “The Thief.” I always want to get a copy of this series but I cannot afford it.

  11. If I win (fingers crossed), I’d like to have The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale. Good luck to us all! πŸ™‚

  12. I’d totally snag A Conspiracy of Kings, since that’s currently the one I don’t have. I really love this celebration, think I’ll try to squeeze in a post about the series.

  13. Great idea for a giveaway. I think I would ask for THE DEMON’S LEXICON since I’ve been meaning to try that series for a while. πŸ™‚

  14. I really have to pick just one?! But…But…

    I’ll have to go with Goose Girl by Shannon Hale, because it seems like s modern classic and I haven’t read it! Thanks for hosting the giveaway, and more importantly, Queen’s Thief Week!

  15. Awesome giveaway, Chachic! I’m so glad that you decided to do one. What to choose, what to choose… How about one of Elizabeth Wein’s books like The Sunbird or something? Whichever one you think I should start with. πŸ™‚

    • Or Code Name Verity. Or maybe you shouldn’t encourage my shiny new book syndrome. πŸ˜› I forgot that I can get The Sunbird and the Mark of Solomon series from the library.

    • You should start with The Winter Prince. I love The Winter Prince.

      The Sunbird is also very good, but I have rather a huge crush on a character who is only in The Winter Prince.

      Of course, Code Name Verity is wonderful. But the others are all out now, even if some of them are out of print.

  16. yay, thanks for having a giveaway! *throws confetti*

    if i won id like your recommendation of the 1st in the Tamora Pierce Trickter’s series. i own all her Song of the Lioness and Immortals series books but none of the others.

  17. I’d like Shards of Honor, the first published in the Vorkosigan Saga. I’ve heard so many recommendations for it from Queen’s Thief fans and I’d love to finally be able to start the series!

  18. Chachic, I’ve really enjoyed reading the Queen’s Thief posts this week! They have definitely made me want to dive into this series. So I shall pick “The Queen of Attolia” (I’m going to go ahead and download the e-book of The Thief!) Thanks for this giveaway πŸ™‚

  19. Okay, you’ve tempted me, I’ll have to put my name in to the drawing for A Stranger to Command by Sherwood Smith. (I actually own Crown Duel, it is actually my favorite book, ever! I’ve wanted to get the prequel for ages…)

    Thank you!!! πŸ™‚

  20. OMG, if I win I’d definitely choose Jellicoe Road! I’ve been wanting to read it so badly. *drools* And thanks for this giveaway! πŸ™‚
    -Lynn

  21. Shamefully, I haven’t read the series that this week-long event is based on… Sooo if I win, I’d love a copy of The Queen’s Thief! πŸ™‚

  22. Oh wow, so many great choices! I haven’t read Diana Wynne Jones or Robin Mckinley. And I loved Graceling so I know I will like Fire. And I would want to read The Queen of Attolia too. But I adooooore Melina Marchetta so my final answer would be Jellicoe Road. πŸ˜€

  23. I love reading books and i’m on the look for a new book to read. i find Megan Whalen’s Instead of Three Wishes to be interesting. hope i could win that one.:D

  24. Hmm, it’s a tough choice between Howl’s Moving Castle and The Thief. But seeing as I have all the other books in the Queen’s Thief series, I’d love a copy of The Thief πŸ™‚

  25. ooooh tough choice.I’d like to have a Terry Pratchett novel (he has a wicked sense of humour).But since there are so many Terry Pratchett books to choose from, I might end up doing a toss up between, To say Nothing of the dog, The Perilous Gaurd, Sabriel or Knife. =)

  26. Thanks for the giveaway. I’ve got to be honest and say that I found the Thief hard to get in to, but the ending made it for me. I LOVED books 2 and 3, the way the growing relationship between Eugenides and the Queen was written.

    As for which book I would pick, that would be Fire. I loved it and would like a copy of my own.

  27. Pingback: Queen’s Thief Week: Guest Post by Holly of Book Harbinger | Chachic's Book Nook

  28. Yay! A contest!!!

    If I’d win, I would pick Fire by Kristin Cashore! I’ve read Graceling and beyond loved it! I’ve been wanting to read Fire for quite some time now, but I still haven’t for a few reasons – one of which is because I still don’t have the copy. It would be lovely to have this book. *puppy eyes*

  29. I think I, too, would take Fire by Cashore. Go, me! (And The Queen’s Thief series is wonderful, and I’m now crazy wondering if those I recommended it to actually got around to reading it! Must go check!)

  30. I would choose the first book in The Vorkosigan Saga by Lois McMaster Bujold. The books sound fantastic.

  31. I’ve been on the fence about the Attolia books, but getting a free copy of The Thief would finally make me read it!

    (So I’d choose that one)

  32. If I didn’t already own The Thief, etc., I would pick that. But instead, I’ll go with Chalice, by Robin McKinley. I love her and own almost all of her books, but I don’t have that one.

  33. Would love a copy of Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman πŸ™‚

  34. I would choose “Rose Daughter” by Robin McKinley. I love fairy tales and Beauty and the Beast is my favorite fairy tale of all time.

  35. Aaaaah…too many choices!!! I think I might have to go with The Demon’s Lexicon. That is SUCH an awesome series.

  36. If I won, I would love a copy of The Sunbird, by Elizabeth Wein, because it’s a little hard to find and it’s wonderful. Thanks so much, Chachic!

  37. How lovely! So many, many good ones to choose from. I have to say I’d pick HOWLS MOVING CASTLE cause I STILL have not gotten around to reading that classic yet.

    Yet.

    I will tho πŸ™‚

  38. Wow! Thank you for this, I was really lucky I won a book (The Thief) from Ms Megan Whalen Turner herself last year. And I loved it. Anyway I have never read anything from Maggie Stiefvater, so if I win I’d love to have a copy of The Scorpio Races. πŸ™‚

  39. Wow! This is absolutely amazing!

  40. Well, I really wanted to read anything from Melina Marchetta. Maybe The Piper’s Son or Saving Francesca.

  41. But they aren’t on the list are they? I’ll have Jellicoe Road instead πŸ™‚
    Than you so much for the opportunity.

  42. For those who love Megan Whalen Turner’s books, I would recommend Melina Marchetta’s fantasy novels – “Finnikin of the Rock” and “Froi of the Exiles”.

    If I am lucky, I would love to get a copy of Holly Black’s “Red Glove”

  43. I’d choose “The Thief” since I keep giving my copies to people to read and then I never seem get them back because they in turn pass them on to someone else! I absolutely MUST have a copy on hand for an emergency Gen fix; sometimes just thumbing through a few pages, sometimes a complete reread!

  44. I would choose “A Conspiracy of Kings”, because I keep giving my copies of the books to friends, and I never get them back! πŸ˜‰

  45. I’ve only reada few of the guest posts and so far I enjoyed it. Very interesting πŸ™‚
    As for the book choice, Id love to win The Demon’s Lexicon :)) Thank you

  46. I’ve never heard of Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief series until now, and it’s definitely going to my to-read list! But if I do get picked for this giveaway, I’d like to have Graceling by Kristin Cashore ^^

  47. I’ve read all the Queen’s Thief books but still haven’t got around to Instead Of Three Wishes so I’d pick that one. Thanks for the opportunity to win!

  48. I’d pick “The Thief” because, while I have certainly read it, I have all the books as ebooks and I’d love to have a paper copies of the series as well. When I find a wonderful book that also as a beautiful cover, it’s lovely to have a hardcopy on my shelf to be able to gently stroke and enjoy also with the ebook for ease of reading.

  49. I’d love to be entered, and you’ll probably not be surprised to hear that if I own, my pick would be Jellicoe Road πŸ˜›

  50. I would totally go for The Demon’s Lexicon.
    Many thanks for this giveaway! πŸ™‚

  51. Ah there are so many choices! I definitely loved reading M.W. Turner’s thief series; I already have a copy of them so i would like to go for The Demon’s Lexicon. πŸ™‚

  52. I may be too late (there was just a cutoff date with no cutoff time), but I’m nearly hyperventilating at the thought of winning. I love Megan Whalen Turner. Love her. Love Gen. Love Irene. Love love love all around. This is THE go-to series for me to the point that I read them once a season at the expense of other, newer books. And now to find an entire community of people just as obsessive as I am? Swoontastic.

    Oh, as for my choices, I would say “Verity”, “Graceling”, or “Terrier” (as chachic did mention Tamora Pierce, whom I also adore).

  53. Hi chachic! I’m really enjoying your Queen’s Thief Week, its one of my favorite series, I love reading other people’s take on it. I’d love a copy of Robin McKinley’s The Blue Sword or any of Kristine Cashore’s books.

  54. I’m lucky that I just completed my set of QT books! I’ve been really wanting to read something by Melina Marchetta for a LONG TIME, but can’t decide between Jellicoe Road and Finnikin of the Rock.