Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: Mary Stewart Lovelies

14 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

I know I already posted a picture of my latest Mary Stewart acquisitions in my In My Mailbox post this week but I couldn’t help but take more pictures of these pretty editions. I’m now the proud owner of four of her stand alone romantic suspense novels – only ten more to go until I have the complete set. Here’s a shot that shows the lovely heroines on the cover:

That’s Charity, Nicola, Linda and Mary. The details on the upper right hand of the covers:

I like the ones representing Paris, Crete and Northumberland. I don’t know why the image on the lower right corner just has a plant instead of a place. Here’s a group shot of all the covers:

Really excited to read all of these and to get the rest of the books in the set. Don’t you all agree that the covers are beautiful? Are any of you planning to complete a certain set or series of books lately?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

14 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Mary Stewart Lovelies

  1. I saw some of her books in Fully Booked Eastwood earlier and I remembered you. They ARE really pretty. 🙂

    As for a series or set that I want to complete? Nothing in particular, since I don’t really have any book that I want to acquire NOW NOW NOW, so no answer to that yet. Oh, except maybe if I have extra money, I would get myself similar versions of my Thursday Next collection. I have mixed US, UK, mass market and trade paperback editions for them, and I want the colorful UK versions.

    • What were the titles that you saw in Eastwood? 🙂 I’m planning to get My Brother Michael and This Rough Magic and had those transferred from the Fort branch. Hope the covers have made you more curious about the books.

      Good for you! I feel like I always want at least one book RIGHT NOW. Ah well, maybe I’m catching up since I only bought one book in December? I used to be OC about matching editions but now not so much. Maybe you can order the UK editions when Book Depository gives away its usual 10% discount coupon?

      • I think I saw My Brother Michael there. Also Nine Coaches Waiting and Madam Will You Talk. Maybe one day I’ll try one. 🙂

        Yeah, I’m thinking about that! It’s just that I’m getting six books if ever. Haha. But yeah, maybe when the 10% discount comes around again, I’ll start collecting them. That is, if I don’t find anything to pre-order first. 😀

  2. *sigh* Just lovely details.

  3. Nice elegant covers. *nod*.

  4. These are so lovely. Thanks for taking shots of the details. I’m jealous.

    • They really are beautiful. Sigh Holly, I ended up buying two more Mary Stewarts today. I think I may have a problem. 😛 Will take pictures and post an IMM after Queen’s Thief Week.

      • 2 more? That’s awesome. It’s funny, I think we feel the same way. Even though we’ve only read Nine Coaches Waiting, we know we’ll end up reading and liking the rest of Mary Stewart’s backlist. She’s just special. 🙂 I’m excited to borrow some more titles from Angie.

      • Lol, there’s no problem. If I could buy some of those lovelies more easily, I would. 😀

      • I think Angie’s Eva Ibbotson comparison is pretty spot-on. After reading just one of her books, you want to read the rest and you’re pretty sure you’ll like them too. I’m excited to discover what will turn up as my favorite Mary Stewart. 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

