TV Show to Love: Downton Abbey

I wanted to talk about what has been keeping me busy the past couple of days. I wasn’t able to read much this weekend because I started watching the first season of Downton Abbey. Yes, I know everyone and their lola (grandmother) has been raving about this series. I finally gave in when even my real life friends encouraged me to watch the show. One of them told me, “You’re going to love it.” And I did. I like so many things about it – how it focuses not just on the upper-class family members but on the servants as well, how distinct the personalities of all the characters are, the clothes, the way they talk, the setting. Some of my favorite characters are the Earl and the Countess of Grantham, Lady Sybil, Anna and Mr. Bates.

The series reminded me a bit of one of my favorite books – A Countess Below Stairs by Eva Ibbotson – because of the complex hierarchy of English servants and how they relate to the family they serve. Oh and look at this article, discussing how publishers are riding the Downton Abbey wave. Looks like fans of the show are bookish types? πŸ˜› Have you watched the show? What do you think of it and who are some of your favorite characters?

17 thoughts on “TV Show to Love: Downton Abbey

  1. 1) What Angie said.

    2) I was late to the party too, I just watched Season 1 marathon method over the holidays and am madly in love. It’s become one of those shows in season 2 that just sits in my DVR not because I don’t watch to watch it, but because I know once I do there will be less left and that makes me sad.

    3) Lady Mary is a bit of a trollop. That is all.

    • 1) *nods head*

      2) I know how you feel about season 2! I don’t know if I want to watch it as soon as I can or if I should wait for a bit.

      3) That Lady Mary is one wild girl.

  2. Ahhhh, I really need to catch up on this series. I watched ep 1 but didn’t really get hooked. Not like with North & South, Jane Eyre, Wives & Daughters etc (i know these aren’t a series as such, but they are period pieces I love)… I have heard endless good things about series one though.

    • mo, wasn’t really hooked by episode 1 either but kept going because so many of my friends are fans of the series. I think I started loving the series around episode 3? My friend who told me that I’ll like the series said that because I’m a fan of North and South. πŸ™‚

  3. It’s wonderful, just what you’d expect from a big expensive Brit TV drama. A little heavy on the exposition (which inspired this: http://wp.me/pDJfC-10s), but really so wonderful. I do keep hoping for Colin Firth to pop out from behind a drape or something.

    • “The beautiful and elegant but really mean daughter” LOL thanks for that link, that’s hilarious. They should totally get Colin Firth and Richard Armitage (!!!) to be guests on the show.

  4. I’m so glad you finally watched it. Now, time for you to watch Sherlock, Doctor Who, Fades, Skins, Misfits, Being Human….. er… just watch more British tv shows, okay? Their really good.

    • Already planning to watch Sherlock. πŸ˜› Not sure about the rest though. It’s hard to balance the number of books I want to read with the number of shows I want to watch.

  5. Pingback: Retro Friday: A Countess Below Stairs by Eva Ibbotson | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

