Chachic's Book Nook

In My Mailbox: Gift Certificates Edition

22 Comments

In My Mailbox is a meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie. This meme is about books that you received or bought during the week.

I still had a couple of gift certificates left over from the holidays and I decided to use them to buy books (no surprise there):

Madam, Will You Talk? by Mary Stewart
The Moonspinners by Mary Stewart
The Ivy Tree by Mary Stewart
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I used the Sodexo gift certificates that were given by the office to buy The Fault in Our Stars by John Green from National Bookstore. I was so excited to find out that this much-anticipated novel has made it to Philippine shores! I didn’t hesitate in grabbing a copy. The signature in mine is blue, what color is in yours? Were you lucky enough to get a yeti or a hanklerfish as well?

I got several Mary Stewart recommendations in my review of Nine Coaches Waiting so I bought three of her books using the Fully Booked gift certificate that I got through the office gift exchange. Thank you, gift exchange Santa! πŸ˜€ Sigh, bookstore GCs never last long in my hands. But it makes me happy to have copies of these pretty Mary Stewart editions! I really want to collect all of the books in the entire set.

I sent off postcards today and grabbed some philatelic stamps while I was at the post office. Will be using these in the next batch of postcards that I send:

What about the rest of you, what books did you get this week?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

22 thoughts on “In My Mailbox: Gift Certificates Edition

  1. You know I have to post my December book loot soon. Haha. I have too many collected over the last month.

    On another note: ah still waiting for my copy of The Fault in Our Stars. I’m not in a huge hurry, but you know, I just want it home. Haha. And I’m hoping I get a Hanklerfish or a Yeti.

    I also received a 1000 Fully Booked GC last weekend. I have no idea what I’m going to get with that, but it’s so nice to know I have “money” exclusively for books. πŸ˜€

    • Sadly, I don’t have a December book loot. 😦 Didn’t get books for Christmas! But I’m glad I was able to buy these using GCs. Those can still count as gifts, right? πŸ™‚

      I know the feeling. Even if you’re not sure if you can read it right away, you just want it to arrive. I hope your copy gets here soon! I wanted a green signature but all of the copies in the National branch that I went to had blue.

      LOL really, no idea what to get yet? Fully Booked GCs never last long in my hands so I don’t have to worry about the expiration date. If I had more GCs, I’d grab the rest of Mary Stewart’s books. I really want My Brother Michael and This Rough Magic.

  2. I’m pouting now because I have the ebook so no cool signatures for me. Maybe I should get a physical copy just for that. I ordered Looking for Alaska this morning, the pretty HarperCollins edition that has a heart on the cover andI can’t wait to get my hands on it. Lisa says it’s rather good but she never finished it because someone’s review spoiled it for her.
    Have you started the new one yet?

    • Maja, my dear, why’d you get the ebook instead of an actual copy? Yep, I think you should grab one so you can have a signed John Green in your collection. You know I still haven’t read Looking for Alaska or Papertowns but I already have copies. I’ve just started TFiOS, didn’t get to read much during the weekend because I was watching the first season of Downton Abbey.

  3. That’s so neat that you’ve got a signed copy! I love watching the vlogbrother videos.

    My IMM is here: http://melaniesmusings.net/in-my-mailbox-january-1-15/

  4. Thanks for commenting on my post: I’m so excited for Saving June. Also The Fault in Our Stars looks really good, too! I can’t wait to get that one.

    anythingimaginableblog.blogspot.com

    • No problem, hope you enjoy reading Saving June! πŸ™‚ And hurry and grab a copy of TFiOS while first print copies are still in stores, it’s always nice to have a signed copy.

  5. Ooh, pretty! (You bought them!) I’m so disappointed those Mary Stewart editions aren’t available in the US. 😦 On a happier note I hope you and TFioS are getting along well. πŸ™‚

    • I just found out that they’re UK editions! I thought they were available there too. 😦 I was going to suggest ordering them from the Book Depository but Janice mentioned that you can’t order from the UK site when you’re based in the US.

      TFiOS and I are getting well, did you see my latest Goodreads status update? πŸ˜› I just didn’t have much time to read because I was busy watching Downton Abbey this weekend. Just two more episodes and I’ll be done with season one!

  6. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I thought everyone who bought TFioS got a fish. Need to look into this. And I see you ‘re a Downton Abbey fan. I thought season 1 was good, but season 2? Even better!!!

    • Hi Jen, not everyone got a hanklerfish or a yeti so you’re lucky! I just finished the last two episodes of Downton Abbey last night. πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to watch season two.

  7. I’m excited to read Melina Marchetta! I’m glad to hear of another endorsement of her books, everyone says such good things about them. Thanks for stopping by my blog πŸ™‚
    PS: The signature in my copy of TFiOS is blue as well!

    • I’m glad you have Melina Marchetta in your IMM, she really is an amazing author and more readers should pick up her books. πŸ˜› Oh hey, a fellow recipient of a John Green blue signature. I just finished reading it and it’s lovely.

    • The Mart Stewart UK editions? Yeah, they’re beautiful. That’s why I want to collect them! πŸ™‚ Are you planning to read Nine Coaches Waiting anytime soon?

  8. I’m definitely picking up a Mary Stewart book the next time I’m in Manila! πŸ˜› Thanks to your posts, Chachic, I’m getting a fair idea of where to start.

    • Oh Chris, I have a feeling you’ll like Mary Stewart since you love Deanna Raybourn. πŸ™‚ I’m also looking to get My Brother Michael and This Rough Magic. These beautiful UK editions are available in Fully Booked.

  9. Pingback: Shoot That Book: Mary Stewart Lovelies | Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Hello Chachic! I haven’t commented on your blog before, as I’ve just been made aware of it through Sounis and your Queen’s Thief Week! (Very exciting! Thank you!).

    I hope when you’re done reading Mary Stewart’s wonderful romantic suspense novels, you’ll read her Merlin trilogy: The Hollow Hills, The Crystal Cave, and The Last Enchantment. In my opinion, the trilogy is Mary Stewart’s Masterpiece. I mean, I love her suspense novels, but these three books are just a work of a completely different scope. It’s, in my mind, THE definitive modern retelling of the Arthurian myths (from the point of view of Merlin… it uses the Arthurian tradition so well and is so well researched). Like Megan Whalen Turner’s books, these are fantasy (in that they contain magic), but they really feel like historical fiction, the magic is so subtle and the historical details so vivid. I would describe them as a cross between MWT and Rosemary Sutcliff.

    I hope you read the trilogy (if you haven’t already), because it is really a masterpiece. πŸ™‚

    • hazelwillow, thank you for browsing through my non-Queen’s Thief-related posts! πŸ™‚ Fret not, I’m already aware of Mary Stewart’s Merlin trilogy. A fan mentioned the books and I want to collect them as well. Unfortunately, they’re not available in local bookstores unlike her romantic suspense novels so it might take a while before I can get copies. Have you read Elizabeth Wein’s Aksumite books? I call one of the characters in that series Gen-in-Africa. Just thought I’d mention it because it’s Arthurian as well and Elizabeth Wein mentioned that her writing was inspired by Mary Stewart.

  11. Pingback: Want Books: Mary Stewart’s Books | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

