Shoot That Book: Nine Coaches Waiting

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

I read Nine Coaches Waiting along with Holly and we both really enjoyed it – watch out for our Retro Friday reviews tomorrow. It’s the first Mary Stewart novel that I read but most definitely won’t be the last. Since I think the edition that I got has a pretty cover, I thought I’d take some pictures of the details and feature it today.

Hello, girl in a retro dress! I think her dress is cute, plus it has pockets. I love dresses with pockets. Although it looks like she’s missing her right hand in the picture (hmm reminds me of a certain favorite character). I like the Eiffel Tower detail as well even though the novel is only partially set in Paris. I think the purple background is also cute. Here’s a shot of the cover as a whole:

Don’t you think it’s lovely? The rest of Mary Stewart’s novels are just as pretty as this one, can’t wait to get copies of some of them. What about the rest of you, any pretty book purchases lately?

14 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Nine Coaches Waiting

    • She’s a new discovery for me! I know she’s an old favorite for so many though. Hope you get to reread some of her books soon. What’s your favorite Mary Stewart?

    • LOL, poor Lisa! I’m sorry you don’t get to see pretty covers more often. I’m usually not picky when it comes to covers but I do tend to pay more attention to the nice ones.

  1. Um, this is a GORGEOUS idea. You should consider setting up a shop for it. Book covers… come to “life” (aka 3D)… I would totally pay for a picture of a favorite book cover with some depth and texture. πŸ™‚

    • Aww Steph, thank you for the lovely comment! I love that I’m not the only one who enjoys my Shoot That Book feature. What are some of your favorite book covers? Would be happy to take pictures for you if I have copies of those books. πŸ˜›

  2. Lol, always trying to relate things back to your favorite thief. πŸ˜› Such a cute cover. *waving* I need a fun feature like this. I’ve been boring everyone with mainly reviews lately.

    • LOL I couldn’t help but mention it, sorry. Hey, you’re not boring anyone with your reviews. I think they’re great. πŸ™‚ Hmm maybe you can post your craft projects on the blog? I’m planning to start another regular feature this year, maybe after the Queen’s Thief Week.

  3. A very pretty and charming cover, and I like the way you’ve brought it to life. I’ll pop back in tomorrow to see the book review and see if it’s as good as it looks!

  4. just found you from janicu’s place and oh my gosh i cant stop taking pictures of books either. my iphone and twitter streams are full of book covers, illustrations, step-backs, spines, stacks, etc. love your “Shoot That Book”!

    • Yay, thanks for dropping by and I’m glad Janice’s blog brought you here. I seriously can’t stop taking pictures of books – it’s funny. My point and shoot camera is filled with book pictures. I don’t even take it with me when I go out with friends anymore, I just use it for blog stuff.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

