Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: First Book Purchase of the Year

24 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

I bought several books in December as Christmas gifts and I only ended up buying a book for myself on the 31st. I didn’t get any books for Christmas so I’ve been itching to buy some for the past few days. Book hungry! Good thing I met up with my friend Celina and she brought the books that I asked her to order for me – most of these are from BookCloseOuts. Here’s a shot of the books:

Sorry the flash bounced off the plastic cover of that bright yellow smiley face. Can you guess the titles of the books just by looking at those covers? Okay, let me help you out with this next shot:

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (in glorious hardcover! I missed out on the illustrations when I read the NetGalley edition)
A Field Guide to Burying Your Parents by Liza Palmer
Elfland by Freda Warrington
Slacker Girl by Alexandra Koslow
Happyface by Stephen Edmond
Leaving Unknown by Kerry Reichs

Also got these two other titles because it’s always nice to have duplicates of favorites:

Yay, I have new books! Thank you, Celina, for getting these for me. All of these are bargain copies except for A Monster Calls. It’s always nice to get affordable copies of books, right? I’m looking forward to reading these soon. Have you read any of these titles? Also, what’s your first book purchase in 2012?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

24 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: First Book Purchase of the Year

  1. Your new books look great. I’m excited to hear your thoughts on Leaving Unknown. I love this book and own the “Good luck girl” version.

  2. Yay to you getting Happyface. 🙂 Can’t wait to read what you think about that. 🙂

    • Couldn’t resist when I saw that the hardcover was available in BookCloseOuts – I like it a lot more than the paperback. I think Celina also got a copy for herself. 🙂

  3. Liking the new layout. I think that I may not have bought any books yet this year … *sadface*, but give me time.. I will. Hey, is there a plastic covering on top of these hardcovers? Curious if you protect your HCs.. I always wonder if I should be.

    • I got tired of the old one so decided to change it again. This one looks cleaner, don’t you think? I just wish I can change the background like in yours but if I did, the section with the text will be affected.

      LOL hope you can buy a new book soon! I was actually surprised I ended up ordering so many from BookCloseOuts. All of these books are covered in plastic, Celina covered them. 🙂 Most brand-new books in bookstores here are covered in plastic, which is nice because you don’t have to open them until you read them. There are also plastic sheets that you can buy to cover just the book cover (like they do for library books, sorry if that’s confusing) and I used to do that for all of my books before I read them but then I got lazy. Long comment! I could write a post about plastic covers… maybe I should one of these days.

  4. Happyface and A Monster Calls!! They have been in my “to buy” list for sooo long!

  5. You’re very welcome!:) I haven’t bought anything yet this year, but I don’t know how long that will be the case. I’m already itching to get something.:P

    • You haven’t ordered anything, even online? 😛 I was tempted to order from Book Depository but since I just got this stash from you, I might just order in February. Let me know when BookCloseOuts goes on sale again, okay? 🙂

  6. I loved the illustrations in A Monster Calls but the power is truly in the words. Proven by how much you were affected not having them.

    The first book I bought in 2012 was Winterling BUT IT STILL HASN’T SHIPPED YET. So annoyed.

    • Yep, I agree with what you said. The illustrations are just an added bonus in A Monster Calls – I plan to just browse through them to check out what I missed.

      Oh I saw that one in your list of anticipated reads. I’m sorry it hasn’t been shipped yet. Where did you order it?

  7. Oooh, I really liked A Monster Calls. I haven’t read any of the other books, though. Might have to add them to the list . . . 🙂

    • I loved A Monster Calls, it’s one of my favorite reads in 2011 so that’s why I decided to get a hardcover edition. I heard good things about all the other books, I hope I’ll enjoy reading them.

  8. Field Guide to Burying your Parents? Is that her newest? I have bumped Seeing Me Naked up the TBR, which means it may get read this month or next. 🙂 Also Elfland – curious to see what you think.

    • I think it’s been out for a while now? I checked Goodreads and it says it was released in 2010. I’ve been wanting to read Liza Palmer’s backlist ever since I finished Seeing Me Naked. Hope you get to read that one soon! Yep, real curious about Elfland as well.

  9. Enjoy your books, Chachic! I’m still purchase-free this year; I have too many books left over from 2011. 😀

    • Congrats on not buying any books this year! I have so many books left over from 2011 too and I need to work on those this year. 😛 I don’t to be buried under the giant TBR pile.

  10. Ooo, I missed seeing this one! I love your Shoot the Book features. What an amazing bunch of books you got–I’m especially glad you purchased A Monster Calls. Those illustrations are such an integral part of the story. 🙂

    • I enjoy taking pictures of books even if I’m not much of a photographer and I just use a point and shoot camera. 😛 I know, I feel bad that I missed out on the illustration in A Monster Calls but I still fell in love with the story so it’s all good.

  11. HA! I love the comment about “it’s always nice to have duplicates”.. I agree!

    Love all the purchases — I’m excited to see what you think of A FIELD GUIDE. I didn’t love it as much as her other books sadly.

    • You really can’t have enough copies of your favorite books. 😛 You can use them as lending copies or give them away as gifts to encourage other people to read them.

      Just finished Slacker Girl and it was a fun read but I didn’t love it – will try to post a review of it soon. 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

